Canadian Cyclist


August 29/05 2:25 am - Ontario MTB Cup #6, BC MTB Cup Final

Posted by Editoress on 08/29/05

Plastiglas Ontario Cup #6 Hardwood Hills, August 28
Courtesy Chico Racing

It was a great day of racing at Hardwood Hills for the Plastiglas Ontario Cup #6 at Hardwood Hills. A special thanks to Hardwood Hills, volunteers, staff, sponsors and participants for making this event possible. With some much needed rain the night before the event the course conditions were near perfect.

Top 5 in the Elite Men's and Women's categories.

Senior Elite Men

1. Mike Garrigan (Team Hardwood)
2. Adam Morka (Team Hardwood)
3. Eric Batty (3Rox Racing)
4. Erich Baumhard
5. Ben Dawson (Impala Bicycles)

Senior Elite Women

1. Amanda Sin (Bay Cycle)
2. Stephanie Martinek (Arrow Racing)
3. Catherine Vipond (
4. Heather Morrissey (Bay Cycle)
5. Sue Trimble (

Full results available later today at

BC Cup Finals Mt Washington, Aug 27/28th
Bob Stanhope, On The Edge Race Club

OTE The Team To Beat.

On The Edge Race Club were tearing it up at the B C Cup Finals Last weekend Aug 28/29 at Mt. Washington. The Coast was well represented with over 40 people including 19 racers at the event.

The pilgrimage started Fri. morning as racers and crew were on the 1st boat to Powell River. A short trip across the creek and we were on the mountain with lots of time to pre ride the technical, steep course. Early to bed and early to rise the U15 and sport riders were on the course at 9 am Sat.

OTE U15 ladies were the team to beat as Julie Wildeman, Jenna Phelps and Sarah Fedor took the top 3 finishes. These young ladies are enjoying their 1st year of competitive cycling under the tutelage of Loraine Proctor [On The Edge Bike Shop] and Susan Servo-Sept [Elphi High School Team]

With a year or more ahead of them racing U15, OTE young guns Matt Brown, Sebastian Sleep and Nick Pike left there mark. Although no podium finishes they rode hard and finished exhausted. You can't ask for more than that.

U17/SR Sport men/women had a great showing. On the podium was Colwyn Sleep, 1st, Christine Lynch 2nd and Lexy Wishlow 2nd. Although not on the podium, Jessie Horn and James Law rode Valiantly.

The Expert/Pro were on Course at 11 am as racer battled for points to wrap up their overall position for the series.

Matt Cottrell's hard earned 6th place elite left him ecstatic.

Chris Bates and Brett Wildeman ,original members of the team 5 years ago rode their last competitive race at the finals. They went out in style as Chris secured a place on the podium and Brett took 3rd place overall for the series. These 2 racers played a big part in the teams development over the year's and we wish them luck at U Vic this fall.

U17/Junior Experts Sean Stanhope and Katherine Short continued to represent. Katherine's 1st place finish saw her crowned 1st overall for the series. Sean rode aggressively placing 2nd in the race and series. Sean and Katherine are looking forward to next season attending Nationals, Canada Cup races, BC Summer games and maybe even a few international events.

The Downhill crowd woke to cold and torrential rain on Sun Morning. Although the course was treacherous racers Curtis Robinson, Dylan Dunkerton and Riley Percheson survived. Curis was on the podium in 2nd. Riley 5th and Dylan 21st after a tough go.

Our Downhill dive Micayla Gatto was unable to attend. A Legitimate excuse as she is in Italy for the World Championships.

All in all a great season capped off by a great weekend. OTE may represent a small community but we are a huge presence. Ambassadors for the coast our friendliness, sportsmanship and hospitality have put the Sunshine Coast on the cycling map.

What's up next year, who knows but it will be fun, challenging and exciting so stay tuned as we watch these young athletes grow and develop.

If you are interested in competitive cycling, volunteering or sponsoring the team check us out at or leave a message @ 604 885 4888


Cross Country

U15 Women
Julie Wildeman 1st [OTE]
Jenna Phelps 2nd [OTE]
Sarah Fedor 3rd [OTE]

U15 Men
Matt Brown 5th [OTE]
Sebastian Sleep 8th [OTE]
Nick Pike 11th [OTE]

U17 Sport Men
Jessie Horn 4th [OTE]
James Law 6th [OTE]

U17 Sport Women
Christine Lynch 2nd [OTE]

Jr Sport Men
Colwyn Sleep 1st [Spin]

Sr Sport Women
Lexy Wishlow 2nd [OTE]

Jr Expert Women
Katherine Short 1st [OTE]

U 17 Expert Men
Sean Stanhope 2nd [OTE]

Jr. Expert Men
Chris Bates 3rd [OTE]
Brett Wildeman 6th [OTE]

Elite Men
Matt Cottrell 6th [OTE]

Down Hill

U 17 Expert Men
Curtis Robinson 2nd [OTE]

U 17 Sport men
Dylan Dunkerton 21st [Spin]

U19 Expert Men
Riley Percheson 5th


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2018 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.