Canadian Cyclist EnergyLab 247-2 Sept23
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
WoB Sale Sale Sale Oct24
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19

Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

Spec Roubaix CC1 Sept 13

Daily News


October 27/05 10:20 am - England Announces Cycling Team for Melbourne 2006

Posted by Editoress on 10/27/05

England announces Cycling team for Melbourne 2006
Courtesy Commonwealth Games

The Commonwealth Games Council for England has announced the Cycling team that will be heading to the Melbourne 2006 Commonwealth Games.

Olympic medallist, Mr Bradley Wiggins is a favourite to win, having won gold in the Men's Individual Pursuit, silver in the Team Pursuit and bronze in Madison in Athens 2004.

Mr John Queally, who won gold at the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games in the Kilo Time Trial event, was also named for the team.

The English team will feature several promising young cyclists including Mr Ian Stannard, gold medallist in the Men's Time Trial, Ms Nikki Harris, gold medallist in the Women's Mountain Bike event, and Mr Matthew Crampton, Ms Amy Hunt and Mr Ben Swift who all competed in the 2004 Commonwealth Youth Games in Bendigo.

England won 5 silver medals and 6 bronze at the 2002 Manchester Commonwealth Games.

The England 2006 Cycling team includes:

Oli Beckingsale, Ed Clancy, Matthew Crampton, Steve Cummings, Stuart Dangerfield, Emma Davies Jones, Russell Downing, Charlotte Goldsmith, Nikki Harris, Rob Hayles, Rachel Heal, Wendy Houvenaghel, Amy Hunt, Liam Killeen, Paul Manning, Chris Newton, Victoria Pendleton, Jason Queally, Simon Richardson, Robin Sharman, Jamie Staff, Ian Stannard, Ben Swift, Andrew Tennant and Bradley Wiggins.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
EnergyLab Sept27
DOrnellas Tent Sale Oct6
The 11 Silber April 29



Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2016 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login