UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling's Ruth Winder claimed victory at Cannon Falls Road Race on Thursday. The 23-year-old outkicked Marlies Mejia (Weber Shimano) and race leader Emma White (Rally) after 64 miles of racing at stage 3 of the North Star Grand Prix.

"It was a hard day today, we were pushing for a break," Winder said. "A few of us got away for a bit but nothing was sticking. Coming into finishing circuit my teammates were throwing down some final attacks whilst I saved it for the final sprint. It was a little bit sketchy with 1/2 lap to go, when I had to unclip to keep upright. I fought to get on the end of rally train and I just timed my sprint perfectly to win by a few inches."

Winder's victory moves her up to second overall on general classification, five seconds behind White, who remains in the North Memorial yellow jersey. White also leads the Greg Lemond best young rider competition.

"The team rode perfectly to protect me from the strong winds and attacks," White said. "When we got to the finish, we performed the picture perfect lead out and I couldn't be more lucky to be part of a team who lays it all out for me. I came up a little short, but we're still pleased with the day and looking forward to the rest of the weekend."

Winder found herself in the break of the day, along with Heather Fischer, Ellen Noble, Beth Ann Norton, Kendelle Hodges, Kristi Lay and Annie Foreman-Mackay. However, the break was never allowed much of a leash with four sets of QOH and sprint points on offer, and it was all back together by the time the riders hit the finishing circuits.

Tayler Wiles remains leader of the Shimano Queen of the Hill competition and Erica Allar will continue to wear the Jack Links sprint jersey during the Uptown criterium tomorrow. Diamondback best amateur is Ariane Bonhomme and Stephanie Roorda wears the Ellen Watters most aggressive jersey.

Stage 3: Cannon Falls Road Race, 103.5 km
1 Ruth Winder (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling) 2:53:42
2 Marlies MejiasGarcia (Weber Shimano Ladies Power)
3 Emma White (Rally Cycling)
4 Kendall Ryan (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) all s.t.
5 Brianna Walle (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) 0:02
6 Irena Ossola (North Memorial Healthcare) 0:04
7 Ashlee Ankudinoff (North Memorial Healthcare)
8 Ellen Noble (Colavita/Bianchi USA)
9 Rushlee Buchanan (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling)
10 Catherine Ouellette (The Cyclery - 4iiii)
11 Carrie Cartmill (Rise Racing)
12 Erica Allar (Rally Cycling)
13 Stephanie Roorda (The Cyclery - 4iiii)
14 Emma Grant (Colavita/Bianchi USA)
15 Janelle Cole (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling)
16 Whitney Allison (Colavita/Bianchi USA)
17 Ariane Bonhomme (The Cyclery - 4iiii)
18 Lily Williams (Chicago Womens Elite Cycling)
19 Tayler Wiles (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling) all s.t.
20 Holly Edmondston (Cycling New Zealand) 0:12
21 Marie-Soleil Blais (North Memorial Healthcare) 0:14
22 Kirsti Lay (Rally Cycling) 0:18
23 Nicola Macdonald (North Memorial Healthcare) s.t.
24 Danielle Morshead (Team ERRACE) 0:20
25 Allison Beveridge (Rally Cycling) s.t.
26 Alijah Beatty (Orion Racing p/b K'ul Chocolate) 0:22
27 Elyse Fraser (Cycling New Zealand)
28 Tarah Cole (Orion Racing p/b K'ul Chocolate)
29 Jessica Mundy (Colavita/Bianchi USA)
30 Brenna Wrye-Simpson (LA Sweat)
31 Racquel Sheath (Cycling New Zealand)
32 Kinley Gibson (The Cyclery - 4iiii)
33 Sara Bergen (Rally Cycling)
34 Sara Poidevin (Rally Cycling)
35 Anna Christiansen (LA Sweat)
36 Beth Ann Orton (North Memorial Healthcare)
37 Katherine Maine (Rally Cycling)
38 Camila Valbuena (Weber Shimano Ladies Power) all s.t.
39 Rocio Parrado (Weber Shimano Ladies Power) 0:40
40 Heather Haviland (Chicago Womens Elite Cycling) 0:44
41 Kimberly Lucie (LA Sweat) s.t.
42 Diana Penuela (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling) 0:56
43 Annie Foreman-Mackey (The Cyclery - 4iiii)
44 Amber Pierce (Colavita/Bianchi USA)
45 Jennifer Tetrick (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) all s.t.
46 Aranza Villalon (Weber Shimano Ladies Power) 1:07
47 Carlyn Jackson (Orion Racing p/b K'ul Chocolate) 1:17
48 Emily Jordan (Orion Racing p/b K'ul Chocolate) s.t.
49 Jennifer Hale (North Memorial Healthcare) 1:27
50 Lindsay Myers (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) 1:33
51 Madeleine Park (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) 1:36
52 Caitlin Laroche (Rally Cycling) 1:53
53 Katharine Hall (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling) s.t.
54 Jessenia Meneses (Weber Shimano Ladies Power) 2:07
55 Heather Fischer (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) 2:19
56 Emily Houtchens (Orion Racing p/b K'ul Chocolate) 2:45
57 Kirstie James (Cycling New Zealand) 23:43
58 Bryony Botha (Cycling New Zealand)
59 Emily Flynn (The Cyclery - 4iiii)
60 Diedre Ribbens (Orion Racing p/b K'ul Chocolate)
61 Rachel Wills (Chicago Womens Elite Cycling)
62 Emma Roberts (North Memorial Healthcare)
63 Christine Thornburg (Chicago Womens Elite Cycling)
64 Jenna Stauffer (Orion Racing p/b K'ul Chocolate)
65 Kendelle Hodges (Colavita/Bianchi USA)
66 Amelie Bruneau (The Cyclery - 4iiii) all s.t.
67 Rachel McKinnon (Foxy Moxy) 39:18
68 Ayesha McGowan (JAKROO p/b Chrome Industries) 46:18
69 Maria Fadiga (Weber Shimano Ladies Power) 1:13:18
70 Lauren Wissman (Chicago Womens Elite Cycling) 1:30:56
71 Suzanne Hamilton (The Cyclery - 4iiii) 1:33:03
72 Erin Goodall (LA Sweat) 1:38:43
DNF Carol Seipp (Orion Racing p/b K'ul Chocolate)
DNF Jennifer Kosatka (Chicago Womens Elite Cycling)
DNS Ingrid Drexel Clouthier (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank)
DNS Lauretta Hanson (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling)
DNS Melanie Beale (LA Sweat)