Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


March 28/09 9:25 am - Track World Championships: Updates

Posted by Editoress on 03/28/09

Some brief results from today's racing in Pruszkow, Poland.


4:10pm - Silver medal for Whitten in Omnium

3:55 pm - 2nd ride in the Women's Sprint Final

For Gold: Pendelton and Kanis tied forcing a decider

For Bronze: Krupeckaite takes the bronze medal, winning both rides against Olga Panarina.

3:35 pm - Men's Madison Final

1 Denmark 22pts
2 Australia 2
3 Czech Republic 0
at  1 lap
4 Belgium 17
5 Germany 15
6 Great Britain 13

3:10pm - In the Women's Sprint Finals

Gold/Silver medal Final  1st ride
Victoria Pendleton (GB) leads Willy Kanis (Ned) 1-0

Bronze medal Final -1st ride
Simona Krupeckaite (Ltu) leads Olga Panarina (Blr) 1-0

2:30 pm -  Whitten 11th in pts race.  Now tied for overall with Tomic (both have 19 pts)  3rd is Frisoni with 20 pts

2:20 pm

Men's sprint - Quarter-finals
Azizulhasni Awang (Mas) defeats Ross Edgar (GBr) 2-1
Gregory Bauge (Fra) defeats Jason Kenny (GBr) 2-0
Kevin Sireau (Fra) defeats Matt Crampton (GBr) 2-0
Shane Perkins (Aus) defeats Mickael Bourgain (Fra) 2-0

10:56am - Whitten 2nd in Pursuit, and is still leading with 8 pts.  2nd is Kalitovska (Ukr) with 14 pts.  Hijgenaar is 3rd with 17 pts, Sereikaite (Ltu) and Tomic (Aus) are tied for 4th  with 18 pts

9:32 am - Whitten wins the 2nd event (Scratch Race) and moves into 1st spot overall.

Whitten now 1st with  6 pts, Frisoni 2nd with 9pts . The next event is the 2000m Pursuit.


Zach Bell will compete in the Men's Omnium tomorrow

Men's Sprint, 200 m qualifying.

1 Grégory Bauge (Fra) 9.930

Travis Smith rode a 10.603 finishing 30th and will not qualify to move on

In the Women's Omnium, Yvonne Hijgenaar (Ned)  won the first event (Sprint 200m t.t.) and took the lead and Tara Whitten (Can) was 5th.


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.