Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


March 29/09 6:48 am - Track World Championships: Day 5 updates

Posted by Editoress on 03/29/09



Men's Sprint Final

Bauge wins the 3rd race to win the gold medal




Zach Bell places 4 in the Kilo (final event in the Men's Omnium) and takes the silver medal in the overall.

1 Leigh Howard    (Aus)

2 Zach Bell    (Can)

3 Tim Veldt    (Ned)




Men's Sprint Final


After 2 races in the Gold medal final Awang and Bauge are tied at one win apiece.


Kevin Sireau (France) won the bronze medal in 2 straight




Women's Points Race

1 Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) 18pts
2 Yumari Gonzalez Valdieso (Cub) 15pts
3 Lizzie Armitstead (GBr) 13pts
4 Cui Wang (Chn) 12pts


10 Tara Whitten (Can) 3pts



Women's Keirin Final

1 Shuang Guo (Chn)
2 Clara Sanchez (Fra)
3 Willy Kanis (Ned)
4 Elisa Frisoni (Ita)
5 Anna Meares (Aus)
6 Sandie Clair (Fra)



Men's Omnium.  Bell 4th in Points race.  With 1 more event to go still sitting 2nd overall behind Howard by 1 pt.


8:35 am

Men's Sprint semi-finals
Azizulhasni Awang (Mas) defeats Shane Perkins (Aus) 2-0
Gregory Bauge (Fra) defeats Kevin Sireau (Fra) 2-0

It will be Awang vs Bauge in the gold medal final



Women's Keirin - Round 2

Guo, Meares, Frisoni, Sanchez, Kanis, Claire move forwadr to the 1-6 final, the remainder will ride in the 7-12 final




Men's Omnium

Zach Bell is competing in the omnium and is sitting 2nd after 3 of 5 events.  Zach was 3rd in 200m, 4th in Scratch and 6th in the Pursuit.  Bartko (Ger) is first with 12 pts, Bell 13 pts and Howard (Aus) 3rd with 14 pts.


Women's Keirin

Monique Sullivan has been eliminated from the Keirin after she finished 7th in her heat in the opening Round and moved to the Repechage where she finished 3rd.  She needed to finish in the top 2 in her heat to move to the 2nd Round.


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.