Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


April 15/09 10:43 am - Women's Prestige Cycling Series: standings

Posted by Editoress on 04/15/09

The 2009 Women's Prestige Cycling Series kicked off at the Redlands Bicycle Classic, the traditional Series opener.  Team Type 1 and Team TIBCO traded blows, each claiming the lead in two of the four competitions.

Consistency was the name of the game in the Individual classification, with Alison Powers (Team Type 1) and Katheryn Mattis (Webcor) claiming the top two spots in the prologue time trial and then holding them through the remaining three stages.  Lauren Tamayo (Team TIBCO) provided a bit of drama, moving from 8th after the prologue to 3rd after the first stage before defending that position for the rest of the race.

Individual Classification
1 Alison Powers, Team Type 1
2 Katheryn Mattis, Webcor Builders Cycling Team
3 Lauren Tamayo, Team TIBCO
4 Kristin Sanders, ValueAct Capital
5 Meredith Miller, Team TIBCO

Julie Beveridge (Team TIBCO) and Rebecca Much (Webcor) took the top two spots in the Series' Best Young Rider competition at the prologue and then defended those positions at the following three stages.  Carla Swart was third after the prologue, then fourth after the following two stages before dropping to 8th after a tough final stage.

Best Young Rider
1 Julie Beveridge, Team TIBCO
2 Rebecca Much, Webcor Builders Cycling Team
3 Tiffany Cromwell, Colavita Sutter Home
4 Lindsey Myers, Wines of Washington
5 Jacquelyn Crowell, Team Type 1

The Sprint classification was a seesaw battle between Lauren Tamayo (Team TIBCO) and former team mates Kori Seehafer (Team Type 1) and Tina Pic (Colavita).  Seehafer claimed the jersey after Stage 1.  Stage 2 saw Tamayo in the lead, followed by Pic with Seehafer dropping to third.  Seehafer came storming back in the 3rd and final stage, claiming the victory with Pic remaining in second and Tamayo dropping to 4th.

Best Sprinter
1 Kori Seehafer, Team Type 1
2 Tina Pic, Colavita Sutter Home
3 Alison  Powers, Team Type 1        
4 Lauren Tamayo, Team TIBCO         
5 Joanne Kiesanowski, Team TIBCO      

TIBCO claimed top honors in the team competition, thanks to strong performances by several riders and aided by Beveridge, whose points contribution were doubled because of the young rider bonus used in calculating Series team standings.  Webcor held on for second because they had two young riders, Much and Alexis Rhodes.  But 2nd through 4th are separated by only 36 points, leaving the team competition up for grabs at the next three Series events.

Best Team
1 Team TIBCO
2 Webcor Builders Cycling Team
3  Team Type 1
4 ValueAct Capital Cycling Team
5 Colavita Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light   

Full results can be found at

The 2009 Women's Prestige Cycling Series continues at the Joe Martin Stage Race (May 7 10), followed by the Nature Valley Grand Prix (June 10 14) before concluding at the Cascade Classic (July 22 26).

About the Women's Prestige Cycling Series
The Women's Prestige Cycling Series began in 2004 with the goal of highlighting women's racing by giving them a spotlight that they don't have to share with the men.  Organized by the Nature Valley Grand Prix, the Series grew out of meetings that began in Minnesota in 2003 at the first Women's Cycling Summit Conference hosted by that event.


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.