Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


September 26/09 19:32 pm - USGP of Cyclocross Planet Bike Cup - Day 1 report and results

Posted by Editoress on 09/26/09

USGP of Cyclocross Planet Bike Cup - Day 1

Sun Prairie, WI  USA

The USGP of Cyclocross raced in Sun Prairie, WI today under beautiful sunny skies and warm weather.  The racing for the inaugural USGP Planet Bike Cup was fast and aggressive from the gun.

The talent in Elite Women's field was the deepest and most competitive to date and marked Alison Sydor's stunning return to cyclocross.  Sydor was named the SRAM Most Aggressive Rider while Planet Bike's Katie Compton powered off the front of the field to take the win ahead of the LUNA duo of Katerina Nash and Georgia Gould.

In the Elite Men's race, the leaders traded body blows throughout the entire race. With no clear winner until the last lap the crowd was in suspense until Cannondale / rider Jeremy Power's hard attack finally stuck.  Powers soloed in ahead of three-time World Champion Erwin Vervecken and a charging Jonathan Page.  Page, who had an untimely mechanical, rode himself back on to the Podium and into the winner's seat for the SRAM Most Aggressive Rider Competition.


Elite Women
1 Katherine Compton (USA) Planet Bike
2 Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team
3 Georgia Gould (USA) LUNA Pro Team
4 Amy Dombroski (USA) Richard Sachs-RGM
5 Alison Sydor (Can) Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain
6 Susan Butler (USA)
7 Deidre Winfield (USA) C3 - Athletes Serving Athletes
8 Alison Dunlap (USA) LUNA Pro Team
9 Devon Haskell (USA) BH USA
10 Kristin Wentworth (USA) Planet Bike
11 Kari Studley (USA) Velo Bella
12 Linda Sone (USA) Planet Bike
13 Kaitlin Antonneau (USA) Planet Bike
14 Kimberly Flynn (USA) Vantaggio/Specialized
15 AnnaJean Dallaire (USA) Cannondale Factory Racing
16 Nicole Borem (USA) DRT Consulting
17 Robin Williams (USA) Mercy-Specialized
18 Anne Schwartz (USA) Flying Rhino Cycling Club
19 Holly Klug (USA) Courage
20 Sarah Kerlin (USA) Velo Bella
21 Erin Playman (USA) gentle lovers
22 Marne Smiley (USA) Scott
23 Ashley James (USA) Team Kenda
24 Corey Coogan (USA) Ridley Factory Team
25 Rebecca Cleveland (USA) The Bike Hub
26 Kathryn Steudel (USA) Team Pegasus
27 Therese Meek (USA)
28 Patricia Kaufmann (USA) Planet Bike
29 Sarah Lukas (USA) Gear Grinder/Hyundai
30 Whitney Kroll (USA) Cane Creek
DNS Kelli Emmett (USA) Giant Bicycles
DNS June Upshaw (USA) Verdigris Cycling


Elite Men
1 Jeremy Powers (USA) Cannondale /
2 Erwin Vervecken (Bel) Team Revor-Baboco-Champion Systems
3 Jonathan Page (USA) Planet Bike
4 Ryan Trebon (USA) KONA
5 Geoff Kabush (Can) Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain
6 Christopher Jones (USA) Team Champion System
7 Jamey Driscoll (USA) Cannondale /
8 Jesse Anthony (USA) Team Jamis Bikes
9 Andy Jacques- (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling
10 Tim Van Nuffel (Bel) Rendement-Hypo Cycling
11 Mark Lalonde (USA) Planet Bike
12 Ryan Knapp (USA) BikeReg.Com
13 Brian Matter (USA) Team Geargrinder
14 Troy Wells (USA) Team Clif Bar
15 Tristan Schouten (USA) Planet Bike
16 Barry Wicks (USA) Kona
17 Chance Noble (USA) California Giant-Specialized
18 Mike Sherer (USA) Alderfer Bergen
19 Molly Cameron (USA) Portland Bicycle Studio
20 Joseph Schmalz (USA) KCCX/Verge
21 Justin Robinson (USA) California Giant Berry
22 James Lalonde (USA) Planet Bike
23 Travis Woodruff (USA) Pioneer Racing
24 Will Black (USA) Moots
25 Scott Mclaughlin (USA) SRAM Factory
26 Dave Hackworthy (USA) Bianchi/Grand Performance
27 Mitchell Kersting (USA) Rapid Transit Racing
28 Shannon Skerritt (USA) Vanilla Bicycles
29 Kevin Hulick (USA) The Vanilla Workshop -
30 Adam Mcgrath (USA) Thule/Van Dessel
31 Jordan Roessingh (USA) ISCorp Cycling Team/Nova
32 Nicholas Weighall (USA) Rad Racing NW
33 Pat Lemieux (USA) Texas Roadhouse Cycling
34 Jason Siegle (USA) Bear Valley Bikes
35 Bjorn Selander (USA) Ridley Factory Team
36 Kyle Fry (Can) MCOR
37 Jesse Rients (USA) Nature Valley/Penn Cycle
38 Bryan Fawley (USA) Park Place Dealerships
39 Kevin Klug (USA) Courage Cycles Inc
40 Michael Kennedy (USA) Barbasol/ Rapid Transit
41 Robert Kendall (USA) Barbasol
42 Andrew Reardon (USA) Starbrite Carwash / MOAB
43 Lyle Hanson (USA) Great Dane Velo Club
44 Luca Lenzi (USA) The Pony Shop
45 Jack Hinkens (USA) Ridley team
46 Matthew Allen (USA) behind bars/ lgr
47 Jason Lowetz (USA) Team Bearclaw
48 Spencer Haugh (USA) Behind Bars/LGR
49 Logan Vonbokel (USA) Mesa Cycles Racing Team
50 William Street (USA) Sisu Custom Cycles
51 James Holmes (USA) Unattached
DNF Christian Heule (Sui) Rendementhypo Cycling
DNS Timothy Johnson (USA) Cannondale /
DNS Nicholas Keough (USA) Team Champion System

U23 Men
1. Chance Noble - California Giant /Specialized
2. Joseph Schmalz - KCCX / VERGE
3. David Hackworthy - Bianchi / Grand Performance
4. Adam McGrath - THULE/Van Dessel
5. Kyle Fry - MCOR
6. Luca Lenzi - The Pony Shop
7. Jack Hinkins - Ridley Team
8. Logan Van Bokel - Mesa Cycles Racing Team

USGP Juniors 17/18
1. Cody Kaiser - California Giant /Specialized
2. Yannick Eckmann - SV Kirchzarten
3. Robin Eckmann - SW Kirchzarten
4. Thomson Remo - Baraboo Sharks
5. William Bain - BikeClicks/Team Louisville

Masters 35+
1. Ali Goulet - Church of the Big Ring
2. Michael Wissink - Specialized
3. Jeff Weinert - Wolverine Sports Club
4. Richard Feldman - Durance-Colnago
5. Brian Conant - The Pony Shop
6. Jerry Long -
7. Raif Warmuth - Westwood Velo
8. Andrew Messer - DRT Racing
9. Jonathan Card - Saturn of Toledo
10. Tim Butler - River City Bicycles

Masters 45+
1. Michael McShane - Calistoga
2. Christian Zauner - Verdigris
3. Wayne Simon - Verdigris
4. Troy Krause - Lincoln Industries-Highgear
5. Bob Bergman
6. Jeff Appletans - Mambo Kings Racing
7. Gregory Ferguson - MadCity Velo Club
8. Paul McKinney - Curt Goodrich Racing Team
9. Scott Arrigoni - Verdigris
10. Mark Wolowiec - Flying Rhino Cycling Club


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.