Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


September 29/09 5:44 am - USGP of Cyclocross Planet Bike Cup - Day 2 report and results

Posted by Editoress on 09/29/09

USGP of Cyclocross Planet Bike Cup - Day 2

Sun Prairie, WI  USA

Day Two of the USGP Planet Bike Cup is in the books and it proved to be no less exciting than Day One.

In the Elite Men's race Planet Bike's Jonathan Page, riding in his sponsor's home race, attacked early bringing Geoff Kabush with him.  The two opened an early lead on three-time World Champion Erwin Vervecken.   Kona rider Ryan Trebon bridged across to Vervecken and the two were able to bring back the strong and aggressive Page.  As Kabush faded back to fourth, the trio of Vervecken, Page and Trebon surged away from the rest of the chasing field.  As Page and Trebon alternated attacks Vervecken would fall behind by several bike lengths before chasing back to the two leaders.  For the last three laps of the race the three rode together until Vervecken attacked going into the pine groves on the final lap.  Jonathan Page suffered an untimely mechanical at the critical juncture which saw Vervecken power away from a chasing Trebon and solo in for his first major win of the season.  Vervecken's win also saw him take the USGP Series Leader's jersey off the shoulders of yesterday's winner Jeremy Powers. Planet Bike's own Tristan Schouten claimed the SRAM Most Aggressive Rider prize for his impressive ride up through the field despite terrible start position.

In the Elite Women's race Planet Bike's Katie Compton once again put on an amazing display of power to claim her second victory in as many days.  LUNA's Katerina Nash rode a bold race - attacking Compton and briefly taking the lead before Compton chased her down and powered away to a solo win of her own.  A charging Nash finished second and LUNA teammate Georgia Gould came in third.

LUNA's recently un-retired champion Alison Dunlap claimed the SRAM Most Aggressive Rider prize

Elite Women
1 Katherine Compton (USA) Planet Bike
2 Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team
3 Georgia Gould (USA) LUNA Pro Team
4 Susan Butler (USA)
5 Alison Sydor (Can) Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain
6 Alison Dunlap (USA) LUNA Pro Team
7 Amy Dombroski (USA) Richard Sachs-RGM
8 Deidre Winfield (USA) C3 - Athletes Serving Athletes
9 Kristin Wentworth (USA) Planet Bike
10 Devon Haskell (USA) Velo Belo
11 Linda Sone (USA) Planet Bike
12 Kimberly Flynn (USA) Vantaggio/Specialized
13 Kari Studley (USA) Velo Bella
14 Kaitlin Antonneau (USA) Planet Bike
15 AnnaJean Dallaire (USA) Cannondale Factory Racing
16 Anne Schwartz (USA) Flying Rhino Cycling Club
17 Holly Klug (USA) Courage
18 Erin Playman (USA) gentle lovers
19 Robin Williams (USA) Mercy-Specialized
20 Sarah Kerlin (USA) HRS /Rock Lobster
21 Marne Smiley (USA) Scott
22 Corey Coogan (USA) Ridley Factory Team
23 Nicole Borem (USA) DRT Consulting
24 Therese Meek (USA)
25 Patricia Kaufmann (USA) Planet Bike
26 Kathryn Steudel (USA) Team Pegasus
27 Whitney Kroll (USA) Cane Creek
28 Ashley James (USA) Team Kenda
DNS Kelli Emmett (USA) Giant Bicycles
DNS DNF Rebecca Cleveland (USA) The Bike Hub
DNS June Upshaw (USA) Verdigris Cycling
DNS Sarah Lukas (USA) Gear Grinder/Hyundai

Elite Men
1 Erwin Vervecken (Bel) Team Revor-Baboco-
2 Ryan Trebon (USA) KONA
3 Jonathan Page (USA) Planet Bike
4 Geoff Kabush (Can) Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain
5 Christian Heule (Sui) Rendementhypo Cycling
6 Jeremy Powers (USA) Cannondale /
7 Jamey Driscoll (USA) Cannondale /
8 Tristan Schouten (USA) Planet Bike
9 Barry Wicks (USA) Kona
10 Christopher Jones (USA) Team Champion System
11 Mark Lalonde (USA) Planet Bike
12 Tim Van Nuffel (Bel) Rendement-Hypo Cycling
13 Nicholas Weighall (USA) Rad Racing NW
14 Brian Matter (USA) Team Geargrinder
15 Chance Noble (USA) California Giant-Specialized
16 Dave Hackworthy (USA) Bianchi/Grand Performance
17 Will Black (USA) Moots
18 Joseph Schmalz (USA) KCCX/Verge
19 Bryan Fawley (USA) Park Place Dealerships
20 James Lalonde (USA) Planet Bike
21 Adam Mcgrath (USA) Thule/Van Dessel
22 Adam Bergman (USA) Texas Roadhouse Cycling
23 Ryan Knapp (USA) BikeReg.Com
24 Mitchell Kersting (USA) Rapid Transit Racing
25 Shannon Skerritt (USA) Vanilla Bicycles
26 Justin Robinson (USA) California Giant Berry
27 Kevin Hulick (USA) The Vanilla Workshop -
28 Travis Woodruff (USA) Pioneer Racing
29 Jason Siegle (USA) Bear Valley Bikes
30 Jack Hinkens (USA) Ridley team
31 Jordan Roessingh (USA) ISCorp Cycling Team/Nova
32 Mark Blackwelder (USA) Gentle Lovers
33 Ben Popper (USA) HRS / Rock Lobster
34 Mike Sherer (USA) Alderfer Bergen
35 Jesse Anthony (USA) Team Jamis Bikes
36 Jason Lowetz (USA) Team Bearclaw
37 Robert Kendall (USA) Barbasol
38 Kyle Fry (Can) MCOR
39 Kevin Klug (USA) Courage Cycles Inc
40 Jesse Rients (USA) Nature Valley/Penn Cycle
41 Andrew Reardon (USA) Starbrite Carwash / MOAB
42 Logan Vonbokel (USA) Mesa Cycles Racing Team
43 Luca Lenzi (USA) The Pony Shop
44 Lyle Hanson (USA) Great Dane Velo Club
45 Pat Lemieux (USA) Texas Roadhouse Cycling
46 Zachary Edwards (USA) DRT Racing
47 Matthew Allen (USA) behind bars/ lgr
48 Spencer Haugh (USA) Behind Bars/LGR
49 William Street (USA) Sisu Custom Cycles
50 James Holmes (USA) Unattached
DNF Troy Wells (USA) Team Clif Bar
DNF Andy Jacques-Maynes (USA) Bissell Pro Cycling
DNS Bjorn Selander (USA) Ridley Factory Team
DNF Molly Cameron (USA) Portland Bicycle Studio
DNF Michael Kennedy (USA) Barbasol/ Rapid Transit
DNS Scott Mclaughlin (USA) SRAM Factory
DNS Timothy Johnson (USA) Cannondale /
DNS Nicholas Keough (USA) Team Champion System
DNS Braden Kappius (USA) Clif Bar
DNS Jesse Lalonde (USA) Planet Bike
DNS Isaac Neff (USA) Alderfer Bergen
DNS David Sachs (USA) Vision Quest

U23 Men
1 Chance Noble (California Giant /Specialized)
2 David Hackworthy (Bianchi)
3 Joseph Schmalz (KCCX / VERGE)
4 Jack Hinkins (Ridley Team)
5 Kyle Fry (MCOR)
6 Logan Van Bokel (Mesa Cycles Racing Team)
7 Luca Lenzi (The Pony Shop)
8 Zachary Edwards (DRT Racing)

USGP Juniors 17/18
1 Cody Kaiser (California Giant /Specialized)
2 Yannick Eckmann (SV Kirchzarten)
3 Robin Eckmann (SW Kirchzarten)
4 Thomson Remo (Baraboo Sharks)

Masters 35+
1 Ali Goulet (Church of the Big Ring)
2 Michael Wissink (Specialized)
3 Scott McLaughlin (SRAM Factory Team)
4 Jeff Weinert (Wolverine Sports Clun)
5 Richard Feldman (Durance- Colnago)
6 Jerry Long (
7 Jonathan Card (Saturn of Toledo)
8 Raif Warmuth (Westwood Velo)
9 Daniel Casper (GrandStay Hotels)
10 Andrew Messer (DRT Racing)

Masters 45+
1 Michael McShane (Calistoga)
2 Troy Krause (Lincoln Industries)
3 Christian Zauner (Verdigris Cycling)
4 Wayne Simon (Verdigris Cycling)
5 Paul McKinney Curt Goodrich RaciRober)
6 Robert Downs (Planet Bike)
7 Scott Arrigoni (Verdigris Cycling)
8 Jeff Appletans (Mambo Kings)
9 John Iltis  (M Duole)
10 Mark Wolowiec (Flying Rhino Cycling Club)

13 Bob Bergman

36 Rick Meloff (La Bicicletta/ J. Lindeberg)


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.