Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


October 24/09 20:23 pm - Downeast Cyclocross Day 1, Verge NECCS #7

Posted by Editoress on 10/24/09

Downeast Cyclocross Day 1, Verge NECCS #7 in New Gloucester, Maine.


The New England Championship Cyclo-cross Series made its return to New Gloucester, Maine today with the first day of the Downeast Cyclocross Weekend. Racers were greeted with a nagging, persistent rain, deep, slick mud and cold temperatures. Maureen Bruno-Roy (MM Racing p/b Seven Cycles) and Ryan Timmerman (Richard Sachs-RGM-Radix) proved to be the toughest through the storm.

A bit of chaos in the start of the elite women’s race left Mo Bruno-Roy and Amanda Carey (Kenda/ chasing from the back. Taking advantage, Natasha Elliott (Garneau/Club Chaussures/Ogilvy), Mary McConneloug (Kenda/Seven Cycles/NoTubes) and Minuteman Road Club riders Andrea Smith and Anna Barensfeld quickly formed a group and opened a gap on the rest of the field. It appeared that there would be a repeat of the first two rounds of the series in Vermont as Elliott began to ride away from the group. Right at home in the mud, Bruno-Roy fought back to reach the chase group and she, McConneloug, Smith and Carey began to put pressure on Elliott. With some aggressive riding from Bruno-Roy, Smith was dropped from the chase group shortly before they brought back Elliott. Once the catch was made, there was no stopping the mud-loving Bruno-Roy who came into the last set of sloppy off-camber turns with Carey and Elliott on her wheel. She managed to navigate the corners smoothly and put some space behind her as Carey muscled away from Elliott for second.

Unlike the women’s race, the men’s race was, in fact, a repeat of the weekend in Vermont with Ryan Timmerman powering away from the field on the first lap, creating a gap of fifteen seconds and never looking back. Behind Timmerman was a serious battle between Luke Keough (Team Champion System) and Derrick St. John (Garneau/Club Chassures/Ogilvy). Behind them was a powerful group with Adam Myerson (Cycle-Smart) and’s Garage/IF riders Jerome Townsend and Justin Lindine. With two to go, St. John had faded and it seemed that the podium would be sealed but Josh Dillon (Richard Sachs/RGM/Radix) put on a charge of epic proportions, blowing through seemingly comfortable gaps into third position on the road. As Dillon passed Lindine, there was still a minute up the road to Keough, but Dillon was seeing red and closed into within mere bike lengths at the finish with an emphatic third.

The Masters was a race among three giants in the field. Westwood Velo’s national champion Roger Aspholm and Corner Cycle’s dynamic duo, Johnny Bold and Kevin Hines took off from the gun and left the rest of the field in their wake. Knowing the Corner Cycle riders to be stronger handlers and with the course rapidly deteriorating, Aspholm put the pressure on early in the race and at one point, it looked like he may have had Bold on the verge of falling away. After his spot of bother, Bold returned with a vengeance, regaining the pair at the front and riding away from Aspholm with his teammate. The last three laps had Bold and Hines matching each other move for move, extending their lead over Aspholm. At the finish, the pair crossed the line together, hands in the air with Bold crossing first and pulling on the leader’s jersey. Aspholm maintained his third place to keep him in second in the overall standings.

The U-19 juniors race was quickly sorted out as the Joshua Lehmann show, with the Sunapee/S&W/Continental Paving racer riding away from everyone. The chase was led by Jesse Keough (Corner Cycle) and Tommy Goguen (Minuteman Road Club) with Keough dropping Goguen with two to go. When it all finished, Lehmann had over a minute on Keough with Goguen over two and a half minutes back. 


Report courtesy Jeff Bramhall, Media Coordinator, Verge New England Championship Cyclo-Cross Series



Elite Women
1 Maureen Bruno Roy (USA) MM Racing p/b Seven Cycles 0:32:50
2 Amanda Carey (USA) Kenda/ at 0:05
3 Natasha Elliott (Can) Garneau-Club Chaussures-Ogilvy 0:09
4 Mary McConneloug (USA) Kenda-Seven-Notubes 0:31
5 Andrea Smith (USA) Minuteman Road Club 2:21
6 Linnea Koons (USA) October Factory Racing 2:37
7 Anna Barensfeld (USA) Minuteman Road Club 2:46
8 Sara Bresnick-Zocchi (USA) Landrys Bicycles 3:25
9 Ann D'ambruoso (USA) Minuteman Road Club 3:29
10 Perri Mertens (USA) Embrocation Cycling Journal / Mad Alchemy 3:36
11 Emma Bast (USA) Cycle-Smart / NCC 3:54
12 Rebecca Blatt (USA) Us Army/ Central Wheel 3:54
13 Christina Tamilio (USA) Minuteman Road Club 5:07
14 Kate Harris (USA) October Factory Racing 5:22
15 Karin Holmes (USA) Sunapee S&W 5:35
16 Callie Gordon (USA) 5:54
17 Emily Curry (USA) Joe's Garage 7:05
18 Allison Snooks (USA) Minuteman Road Club 7:57
19 Natalia Gardiol (USA) Cambridge Bicycle / Igleheart Frames 9:22
Elite/U23 Men
1 Dan Timmerman (USA) Richard Sachs - Rgm Watches - Radix 0:55:36
2 Luke Keough (USA) Team Champion System at 0:12
3 Josh Dillon (USA) Richard Sachs - Rgm Watches - Radix 0:12
4 Justin Lindine (USA) Bikereg.Com / Joe's Garage / If 1:10
5 Derrick St John (Can) Garneau-Club Chaussures-Ogilvy 1:28
6 Adam Myerson (USA) Cycle-Smart 2:19
7 Jerome Townsend (USA) Bikereg.Com / Joe's Garage / If 2:49
8 Jake Keough (USA) Team Champion System 3:01
9 Gavin Mannion (USA) Hot Tubes Junior Development Team 3:32
10 Ian Brown (USA) River City/ 3:32
11 Kirt Fitzpatrick (USA) Sexual Camel 3:59
12 Todd Wheelden (USA) Kona/Oa/Cyclemania 5:06
13 Shaun Adamson (Can) Juventus 5:43
14 Michael Broderick (USA) Kenda-Seven-Notubes 5:51
15 Rickey Visinski (USA) Echappe Equipment Elite Team 6:01
16 Nathaniel Ward (USA) Bikereg.Com / Joe's Garage / If 6:34
17 Davy Yeater (USA) River City Bicycles 7:06
18 John Burns (USA) 7:37
19 David Wilcox (USA) Geekhouse Bikes / Boston Rock Gym 7:37
20 Michael Jenks (USA) Highland Park Hermes p/b Kim's Bike Shop 7:50
21 Pete Smith (USA) Embrocation Cycling Journal / Mad Alchemy 8:11
22 Zach Adams (USA) C3-Athletes Serving Athletes 8:31
23 Nick Keough (USA) Team Champion System 8:51
24 Greg Whitney (USA) Back Bay Bicycles / Espresso Royale Caffe 8:43
25 Adam Sullivan (USA) Cycle-Smart / NCC 8:43
26 Matthew Green (USA) Spooky Bikes 9:41
27 Kevin Sweeney (USA) International Bicycle Center 10:15
28 Pierre Vanden Borre (USA) Embrocation Cycling Journal / Mad Alchemy 10:38
29 Corey Piscopo (USA) Moots 11:55
30 Kevin Wolfson (USA) If/Lionette's Cycling Team lapped
31 Cort Cramer (USA) Svelte Cycles lapped
32 Michael Rea (USA) American Flatbread Cycling p/b Gmbc lapped
33 Ryan Kelly (USA) Noreast Cycling lapped
34 James Newton (USA) Minuteman Road Club lapped
35 Greg Montello (USA) If/Lionette's Cycling Team lapped
36 Tom Gosselin (USA) Peak Performance Multisport lapped

Full results for all categories


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.