Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


April 5/10 18:33 pm - Grand Prix de Dottignies: report, photos, results

Posted by Editoress on 04/5/10

Kirsten Wild (NED) won the ninth edition of GP de Dottignies today ahead of Giorgia Bronzini (ITA-Gauss Rdz Ormu) and Monia Baccaille (ITA-Team Valdarno). Wild was the fastest in the bunch sprint after a race over 121 kilometres.


Photos by CJ Farquharson


“After the first 25 kilometres we started our attacks as we headed into the first cobble stone section,” said Egon van Kessel, sports director. Emma Pooley (GBR) and Kirsten Wild were both part of a four rider breakaway group that swelled to thirty women at one point. After a while some of the riders came back into the peloton, but as the race started the local laps Sharon Laws (GBR) tried to break free but was chased back. On her return Lieselot Decroix (BEL) also made a try but again the peloton brought her back in the final, 500 metres. Kirsten was perfectly positioned and won the bunch sprint.”

“Today we had good control over the peloton, and I must say it was pretty impressive what we did as a team,” said Kirsten Wild commenting on her win and the team today. “I was part of a break away group with Emma. When they finally chased us back we took control of the peloton and increasing the tempo until it was really high. Though we all tried to attack, we did not get enough space. Lieselot was the last one to try and that was perfect for us. The bunch took her back with 500 metres to go and after that our team took control again. Sharon and Sarah Düster (GER) did the lead-out for me, the speed was so high that it was just perfect.”

Report Courtesy Cervelo TestTeam


After 121.62 km
1 Kirsten Wild (Ned) Cervélo Testteam 3:13:22
2 Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Gauss RDZ Ormu
3 Monia Baccaille (Ita) Team Valdarno Umbria
4 Emma Johansson (Swe) Redsun Cycling Team
5 Martine Bras (Ned) Gauss RDZ Ormu
6 Monique Van De Ree (Ned) Leontien.Nl
7 Rochelle Gilmore (Aus) Lotto Ladies Team
8 Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Nederland Bloeit
9 Monica Holler (Swe) Fenixs-Petrogradetsixs-Petrogradets
10 Barbara Guarischi (Ita) Sc Michela Fanini Record Rox
11 Loes Markerink (Ned) Nederland Bloeit
12 Kirsty Broun (Aus) Australian National Team
13 Lucy Martin (GBr) British National Team
14 Yulia Martisova (Rus) Gauss RDZ Ormu
15 Rasa Leleivyte (Ltu) Safi-Pasta Zara Manhattan
16 Sarah Düster (Ger) Cervélo Testteam
17 Nadia Triquet-Claude (Fra) Vienne-Futuroscope
18 Sophie Creux (Fra) Esgl 93 - Gsd Gestion
19 Oxana Kozonchuk (Rus) Safi-Pasta Zara Manhattan
20 Sinead Miller (USA) Us National Team
21 Inga Cilvinaite (Ltu) Safi-Pasta Zara Manhattan
22 Giulia Lazzerini (Ita) Sc Michela Fanini Record Rox
23 Kaat Hannes (Bel) Belgian National Team
24 Martina Zwick (Ger) German National Team
25 Veronica Andreasson (Swe) Lotto Ladies Team
26 Franziska Merten (Ger) German National Team
27 Birgit Söllner (Ger) Mixed Team 2
28 Carla Swart (RSA) Mtn Cycling
29 Karin Aune (Swe) Fenixs-Petrogradetsixs-Petrogradets
30 Jessica Glasbergen (Ned) Mixed Team 1
31 Elena Kuchinskaya (Rus) Gauss RDZ Ormu
32 Marieke Van Wanroij (Ned) Nederland Bloeit
33 Lauren Kitchen (Aus) Australian National Team
34 Emilie Moberg (Nor) Team Hitec Products Uck
35 Sara Mustonen (Swe) Team Hitec Products Uck
36 Irina Molicheva (Rus) Fenixs-Petrogradetsixs-Petrogradets
37 Eline Deroover (Bel) Belgian National Team
38 Rachel Neylan (Aus) Australian National Team
39 Anne Arnouts (Bel) Redsun Cycling Team
40 Catherine Delfosse (Bel) Lotto Ladies Team
41 Lauren Tamayo (USA) Us National Team
42 Linn Torp (Nor) Fenixs-Petrogradetsixs-Petrogradets
43 Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Australian National Team
44 Vicky Whitelaw (Aus) Lotto Ladies Team
45 Marissa Van Der Merwe (RSA) Mtn Cycling
46 Olga Zabelinckaya (Rus) Mixed Team 2
47 Cecilie Sæterøy Johansen (Nor) Norwegian National Team
48 Gloria Presti (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi
49 Inge Klep (Ned) Redsun Cycling Team
50 Serena Sheridan (NZl) Racb Ladies Team
51 Denise Ramsden (Can) Canadian National Team
52 Giada Borgato (Ita) Gauss RDZ Ormu
53 Robyn De Groot (RSA) Mtn Cycling
54 Kristine Saastad (Nor) Team Hitec Products Uck
55 Baukje Doedée (Ned) Mixed Team 1
56 Patricia Schwager (Sui) Cervélo Testteam
57 Emilie Aubry (Sui) Cervélo Testteam
58 Sharon Laws (GBr) Cervélo Testteam
59 Andrea Dvorak (USA) Us National Team
60 Amber Neben (USA) Us National Team
61 Janel Holcomb (USA) Us National Team
62 Lylanie Lauwrens (RSA) Mtn Cycling
63 Trine Schmidt (Den) Mtn Cycling
64 Katie Colclough (GBr) British National Team all s.t.
65 Sarah Storey (GBr) Team Ock Ladies 0:14
66 Emma Silversides (GBr) Redsun Cycling Team 0:16
67 Ludivine Henrion (Bel) Redsun Cycling Team
68 Alona Andruk (Ukr) Safi-Pasta Zara Manhattan both s.t.
69 Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) Team Valdarno Umbria 0:25
70 Amanda Spratt (Aus) Australian National Team s.t.
71 Corine Hierckens (Bel) Fenixs-Petrogradetsixs-Petrogradets 0:40
72 Lieselot Decroix (Bel) Cervélo Testteam s.t.
73 Alexis Rhodes (Aus) Australian National Team 0:51
74 Danielle King (GBr) British National Team 1:43
75 Sofie Verdonck (Bel) Belgian National Team
76 Chantal Hoffman (Lux) De Sprinters Malderen
77 Marta Vilajosana Adreu (Esp) Team Valdarno Umbria
78 Elena Berlato (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo - Ghezzi
79 Emma Pooley (GBr) Cervélo Testteam all s.t.
80 Alessandra Borchi (Ita) Gauss RDZ Ormu 4:20
DNF Heather Logan (Can) Canadian National Team
DNFMoriah McGregor (Can) Canadian National Team
DNF Andrea Bunnin (Can) Canadian National Team
DNF Leah Kirchmann (Can) Canadian National Team
DNF Amy Herlinveaux (Can) Canadian National Team


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.