Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


April 16/10 11:41 am - Sea Otter: SRAM Criterium results

Posted by Editoress on 04/16/10

Official results from the SRAM Criterium on the Laguna Seca Raceway on April 15th


Women's race report

It’s not often that you hear Miller and criterium in the same sentence without it involving Brooke. But with Brooke off racing the classics with Team TIBCO/To the Top’s European squad, it was left to Amanda and Meredith to take care of business in the opening day criterium at the Sea Otter Classic powered by SRAM. Which they did quite well, taking the top two spots on the podium.

“Since we don’t have a pure sprinter with us here,” Amanda Miller explained, “our plan was to use our numbers to attack at break up the field.”

All six riders – Rebecca Much, Jerika Hutchinson, Kristen LaSasso and Alison Starnes are also part of the squad – executed that plan exceptionally well. Meredith Miller was a prime animator, helping establish a three-rider break along with Alison Testroete (Vera Bradley) and Team TIBCO alum Rushlee Buchanan (Colavita-Baci) the got off the front barely 20 minutes into the race.

Amanda Miller was working in a group of seven behind the front group when she attacked and successfully bridged solo to the front group. With both Millers in the now group of four, they played their numbers well.

Meredith started the attacking, which Testroete covered, but the effort led the Vera Bradley rider to get dropped. Meredith attacked again and Buchanan covered it, but Amanda Miller countered and got away solo and stayed out on her own to take the win.

Nearing the end of the race, a second Colavita rider was coming up to Meredith Miller and Buchanan. Not liking the potential odds, Meredith attacked and shed Buchanan to arrive solo for second place.

“It was a good race for the team, and a great way to start Sea Otter in front of so many of our sponsors,” Amanda Miller said.


Courtesy Team TIBCO


1/2 Women (50 min)
1 Amanda Miller (USA) Team TIBCO 46:52
2 Meredith Miller (USA) TIBCO at 0:22
3 Modesta Vzesniauskaite (Ltu) Colavita/Baci p/b Cooking Light 0:32
4 Rushlee Buchanan (NZl) Colavita/Baci p/b Cooking Light 0:34
5 Melissa Sanborn (USA) 0:42
6 Alison Testroete (Can) Team Vera Bradley Foundation*
7 Liza Rachetto (USA) Ind
8 Olivia Dillon (USA) Peanut Butter & Co TWENTY12 all s.t.
9 Lauren Hall (USA) Team Vera Bradley Foundation 1:12
10 Alison Powers (USA) Team Vera Bradley Foundation 1:53
11 Coryn Rivera (USA) Peanut Butter & Co. TWENTY12 1:54
12 Kelly Benjamin (USA) Colavita/Baci p/b Cooking Light same time
13 Carmen Small (USA) Colavita/Baci p/b Cooking Light both s.t.
14 Jazzy Hurikino (Aus) Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling Team 1:57
15 Courtney O'donnell (USA) Herbalife LaGrange 1:58
16 Beatrice Rodriguez (USA) Southern California Velo 2:00
17 Alison Testroete (Can) Team Vera Bradley Foundation 2:04
18 Kathryn Donovan (USA) Southern California Velo 2:05
19 Melinda Weiner (USA) Herbalife LaGrange same time
20 Angela Mcclure (Ays) Webcor/Alto Velo both s.t.
21 Kristen Lasasso (USA) Team TIBCO 2:09
22 Rebecca Much (USA) Team TIBCO 2:16
23 Megan Hottman (USA) 3:11
24 Julia Lafranchise (USA) NOW MS-Society
25 Lauren Liscinski (USA) NOW-MS Society
26 Jenna Kowalski (USA) NOW-MS Society
27 Vanessa Drigo (USA) Touchstone Climbing
28 Danielle Haulman (USA) UC Davis
29 Jerika Hutchinson (USA) TIBCO
1/2 Men (60 min)
1 Jeremy Vennell (NZl) BISSELL 57:35
2 Andy Jacques Maynes (USA) BISSELL at 0:03
3 Paul Mach (USA) BISSELL
4 Ben Jacques Maynes (USA) BISSELL both s.t.
5 Rob Britton (Can) BISSELL 2:11
6 Cody O'Reilly (USA) BISSELL 2:34
7 Philip Mooney (USA) Yahoo! Cycling Team
8 Daniel Holloway (USA) BISSELL both s.t.
9 Tim Farnham (USA)Ind 2:35
10 Patrick Drapac (Aus) Drapac Porsche Cycling
11 Kyle Wamsley (USA) BISSELL
12 Jacob Rathe (USA) Jelly Belly Cycling p/b Kenda
13 Shane Kline (USA) BISSELL
14 Jacob Duehring (USA) DNA
15 Evan Huffman (USA) Yahoo! Cycling Team
16 Waylon Smith (GBr) SOCALCYCLING.COM
17 Craig Streit (USA) Carlos O'Brien's Racing
18 Stephen Leece (USA) NOW MS-Society
19 Adam Carr (USA) Adageo Energy Pro Cycling
20 Phillip Snodgrass (USA) Wells Fargo Racing
21 Tyler Dibble (USA) Yahoo! Cycling Team
22 Andrew Chocha (USA) US Mlitary Team
23 Vincent Owens (USA) Yahoo! Cycling Team
24 Adam Switters (USA) Yahoo! Cycling Team
25 Jonathan Mccarty (USA) Yahoo! Cycling Team


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.