Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


July 18/10 12:37 pm - Ottawa Bicycle Club Grand Prix

Posted by Editoress on 07/18/10

The 13th edition of the Ottawa Bicycle Club's Grand Prix ran under perfect conditions Saturday morning on the 21 km loop of the Gatineau Park (compared to the downpour of 2009!). Great racing was seen with approximately 625 racers in 15 categories.

The Senior 1-2 Men's race was an aggressive battle with the presence of a constant breakaway for the first 5 of 6 laps. With 2 km to go the peleton was intact and waiting for the bunch sprint. Seeing the opportunity, Ottawa's Matteo Dal-Cin (Rocky Mountain) blasted off of the front of the pack with 700 metres to go and held them off for the win. Vincent Quiron (Gaspesien) and Derrick St John (Garneau) rounded out the podium.

In the Senior 1-2 woman's race, the break was established in the second accent of the Fortune Parkway. 2009's winner, Ottawa's Sue Schlatter (Stevens) and Veronique Fortin (Rocky Mountain) worked well together to build and hold a sizeable lead on the peleton. With 200 metres to go, the result could have gone either way, but Schlatter used her experience to time her final burst just right. Michelle Paiement (Stevens) lead the pack in for third

The Junior Men's race had an international flair again this year as the New Zealand national team stopped in on their way to the Tour d'Abitibi next week. On the last lap, Jean-Samuel Dehaies (Rocky Mountain) was able to roll off of the front for the solo win. Nick Sutton (Team New Zeland) and Emile Jean (VeloSelect-Prud'Homme-Glasshield) were at the front of the field sprint for second and third.

The Ottawa Bicycle Club wishes to thank its partners in presenting the Grand Prix:
* Myers Motors
* SoS Power Sales
* Quality Inn and Suites Ottawa
* National Capital Commission - Gatineau Park
* The over 80 volunteers who come out year after year.

Courtesy Peter Tregunno, Racing Events Director and Grand Prix Organizer, Ottawa Bicycle Club


Senior 1/2 Men (126 km)
1 Matteo Dal-Cin (Rocky Mountain - CIBC Wood Gundy) 3:09:52
2 Vincent Quirion (Gaspesien) at 0:02
3 Derrick St John (Garneau Club Chaussures)
4 Benjamin Martel (Team Spirit - Cannondale)
5 Jean Sebastian Perron (Garneau Club Chaussures)
6 Guillaume Boivin (Spidertech powered by Planet Energy)
7 Pierrick Naud (Rocky Mountain - CIBC Wood Gundy)
8 Peter Morse (JetFuel Coffee)
9 Vincent Levesque (VCM cycle Regis)
10 Jean-Michel Lachance (Nativo-PG) all s.t.
Senior 1/2 Women (63 km)
1 Sue Schlatter (Stevens p/b The Cyclery) 1:46:04
2 Veronique Fortin (Rocky Mountain - CIBC Wood Gundy) at s.t.
3 Michelle Paiement (Stevens p/b The Cyclery) 3:30
4 Rachel O'Reilly (Stevens p/b The Cyclery) s.t.
5 Suzie Brown (PK Express/HNZ Strategy ) both .t.
6 Sophie Matte (Stevens p/b The Cyclery) 4:40
7 Melissa Bunn (Stevens p/b The Cyclery) 5:01
8 Cynthia Wilson (Ride with Rendall) 5:35
9 Christiane Knobbe (7thgroove/RE:Form Body Clinic) 6:03
10 Michelle Gauthier (7thgroove/RE:Form Body Clinic) 6:03
Junior Men (84 km)
1 Jean -Samuel Dehaies (Rocky Mountain - CIBC Wood Gundy) 2:09:38
2 Nick Sutton (New Zealand) at 0:26
3 Emile Jean (VeloSelect-Prud'Homme-Glasshield)
4 Dion Smith (New Zealand)
5 Scott Creighton (New Zealand) all s.t.


Full results for all categories are at the OBC website


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.