Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


September 21/10 9:49 am - Starcrossed: Sims 2nd, Dyck 4th, Elliot 5th

Posted by Editoress on 09/21/10

Starcrossed, September 18th in Redmond, WA

French Invasion at StarCrossed
With the start of the UCI Cyclocross calendar already in full swing, the 2nd weekend of UCI racing in the US saw top European riders Francis Mourey (FDJ) and Christian Heule make the nine hour flight to Seattle for the start of the North American Cyclocross Trophy Series. (NACT) Mourey quickly made his way to the front of the race at the start, taking with him Ryan Iddings (Redline) and Jonathan Page (Planet Bike). Absent from the initial selection were names like Ryan Trebon (Kona) and Barry Wicks. (Kona). Mourey showed great form through all sections of the 2.8km course, under pouring rain and stadium-lit lights. After lap two, Mourey still had every bit of a 30 second gap on chasing riders, but an extremely motivated Trebon continued to lead the chase.

Just after lap three, Trebon made contact with Mourey, and the pair continued to ride together for the remainder of the race. Trebon continued to take position number one, with Mourey patiently sitting on Trebon’s wheel, watching every move the Kona rider made under muddy and wet conditions. As the riders headed into the bell lap, it was evident Trebon and Mourey would wait to sort out the race in the final 200 meters. With no help from Mourey, Trebon lead out the sprint only to be overtaken by Mourey in the last 100 meters. Heule finished 3rd with Adam Craig (Rabobank-Giant) and Jonathan Page (Planet Bike)

Katerina Nash solos to victory at StarCrossed
The Shimano Women’s Elite race began under the lights, with the skies opening up and consistent rain falling throughout the night at StarCrossed, the 1st round of the North American Cyclocross Trophy Series. (NACT)

Katerina Nash (Luna) wasted no time making her way to the front of the race, after Sue Butler (Hudz-Subaru) got the hole shot. A small trio of riders formed at the beginning of lap one including Nash, Butler, and back-to-cyclocross racing Wendy Simms (Kona). For a brief moment, all three riders looked motivated to work together, but Nash quickly made her mark, and ditched Simms and Butler through the Bob’s Red Mill Gauntet course feature, which transitioned from King County’s Marymoor velodrome to grass infield. In the end, it was Nash soloing to victory with Simms holding second, and Butler 3rd. Canadian rider Mycal Dyck held 4th place and Natasha Elliot rounded out the top-5.

Courtesy organizer


Women, 16.2 km (6 laps)
1 Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team 0:41:24
2 Wendy Simms (Can) Kona 0:41:43
3 Susan Butler (USA) Hudz-Subaru 0:42:02
4 Mical Dyck (Can) Trek Canada / Terrascape Racing 0:42:12
5 Natasha Elliott (Can) Garneau-Club Chaussures- Ogilvy 0:42:23
6 Devon Haskell (USA) Bike Station Aptos 0:42:55
7 Wendy Williams (USA) River City Bicycles 0:43:06
8 Kari Studley (USA) Redline 0:43:16
9 Alice Pennington (USA) Team S&M 0:43:22
10 Barbara Howe (USA) Ibis And The Danger Twins 0:43:37
11 Sarah Maile (USA) Ventana Mountain Bikes 0:43:40
12 Kathy Sherwin (USA) Hudz-Subaru 0:43:44
13 Jessica Cutler (USA) Cucina Fresca 0:43:51
14 Kelly Benjamin (USA) KCCX 0:44:38
15 Serena Bishop (USA) Sunnyside Sports 0:44:39
16 Jennifer Gaertner (USA) Riverstone Cda 0:44:54
17 Tina Brubaker (USA) Veloforma 0:45:25
18 Kristin Markham (USA) Olympia Orthopaedics Associates 0:46:04
19 Joele Guynup (USA) Island Racing Club/Everti Bicycle 0:46:30
20 Linda Sone (USA) Planet Bike 0:46:32
21 Brandee Era-Miller (USA) Olympia Orthopaedic Associates 0:47:38
22 Kelly Jones (Can) North Shore Sports Medicine 0:47:40
23 Elizabeth Allbut (USA) Team Beer +2 Laps
24 Karen Oppenheimer (USA) Bend Memorial Clinic/Total Care +3 Laps
25 Angela Mysliwiec (USA) Old Town Bicycles +3 Laps
DNS Sarah Jordan (USA) Bay 101 / Hrs / Rock Lobster
DNS Ali Ritter (USA) Hagens Berman
Men, 27 km (10 laps)
1 Francis Mourey (Fra) Francaise Des Jeux 1:00:15
2 Ryan Trebon (USA) Kona 1:00:17
3 Christian Heule (Sui) Vc Gippingen 1:00:58
4 Adam Craig (USA) Giant 1:01:06
5 Jonathan Page (USA) Planet Bike 1:01:13
6 Barry Wicks (USA) Kona 1:01:16
7 Derrick St John (Can) Garneau-Club Chaussures- Ogilvy 1:01:48
8 Nicholas Weighall (USA) California Giant/Specialized 1:02:13
9 Jake Wells (USA) Hudz-Subaru 1:02:25
10 Craig Richey (Can) P/B Blue 1:03:03
11 Carl Decker (USA) Giant 1:03:14
12 Troy Wells (USA) Cliff Bar 1:03:17
13 Aaron Schooler (Can) Team H&R Block 1:03:18
14 Sean Babcock (USA) Kona 1:03:20
15 Tyler Trace (Can) Trek Red Truck 1:03:35
16 Steve Fisher (USA) Rad Racing / Hagens Berman Llp 1:03:56
17 Frank Spiteri (USA) Peninsula Velo/Pomodoro 1:03:58
18 Molly Cameron (USA) Castelli Usa 1:03:59
19 Tim Van Nuffel (Bel) Van Goethem-Prorace 1:03:59
20 Jonathan Baker (USA) Hudz-Subaru 1:04:01
21 Spencer Paxson (USA) Team S&M Young Guns 1:04:21
22 Adam Mcgrath (USA) Feedback Sports/Van Dessel 1:04:26
23 Geoff Kabush (Can) Maxxis-Rocky Mountain 1:05:15
24 Michael Gallagher (USA) P/B Blue 1:05:19
25 Davy Yeater (USA) River City Bicycles 1:05:42
26 Nicholas Berry (Can) Mighty Riders 1:05:50
27 Aaron Tuckerman (NZl) Corsa Concepts 1:06:02
28 Nathan Bannerman (USA) P/B Blue 1:06:20
29 Kevin Noiles (Can) La Bicicletta Pro Shop +1 Laps
30 Kyle Mcgilvray (USA) Old Town Bicycle +2 Laps
31 Eric Emsky (USA) Blue Competition Cycles +2 Laps
32 Aaron Bradford (USA) +3 Laps
33 John Bailey (USA) Bailey Bikes +3 Laps
34 John-Christian Flack (USA) Olympia Orthopaedic Associates +4 Laps
35 Phil Grove (USA) Hammer Nutrition +4 Laps
36 Michael Benno (USA) Veloce Racing +4 Laps
37 Ryan Weaver (USA) River City Bicycles +4 Laps
38 Alex Work (USA) Bay 101/Hrs/Rock Lobster +4 Laps
39 Matthew Fox (USA) Sunnyside Sports +4 Laps
40 Steven Hunter (USA) Embrocation Cycling Journal +4 Laps
41 Brue Syvertsen (USA) Murder +4 Laps
42 Landon Erickson (USA) Stanley +5 Laps
43 John Behrens (USA) Bailey Bikes +5 Laps
44 Ben Rathkamp (USA) Fanatik +5 Laps
45 Jesse Doll (USA) +5 Laps
46 Darren Marino (USA) Unattached +5 Laps
47 Eric Colton (USA) The Team +5 Laps
48 Gregory Osborn (USA) La Velocity +6 Laps
49 Michael Pease (USA) Collision One/Bicycle Centers +6 Laps
50 Andy Bestwick (USA) Allegiant Airlines/Pain Md'S +6 Laps
51 Kamden Reedy (USA) Web-Op +6 Laps
52 Derek Yarra (USA) Box Dog Bikes +6 Laps
53 Alan Adams (USA) Hagens-Berman Cycling +7 Laps
54 Jeff Anderson (USA) Team Stanley +7 Laps
DNF Ryan Iddings (USA) Redline
DNF Drew MacKenzie (Can) Island Racing Club
DNF Scott Chapin (USA) Bay101/Hrs/Rocklobster
DNF Ben Chaddock (Can) Rubicon-Orbea
DNF Sean Worsech (USA) Rad Racing / Hagens Berman Llp
DNF Benjamin Kubas (USA) Tai Cycling Team/Genr8/Smith Optics
DNS Chris Sheppard (Can) Rocky Mountain/Shimano/Giro
DNS Ben Thompson (USA) Ind
DNS Chris Mcgovern (USA) Calnorte/Cycleution
DNS Sloane Anderson (USA) Proair/Hfa
DNS Ryan Miller (USA Pacific Power - Blue Sky


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.