Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


November 17/10 6:57 am - Saputo Burnaby 4 Day to Feature World Champions

Posted by Editor on 11/17/10

All eyes will be on the Burnaby Velodrome from December 27-30 at the Saputo Burnaby 4 Day, as American World Champions Taylor Phinney and Sarah Hammer, plus five time Grand Tour stage winner Tyler Farrar, will do battle with Canadian Champions and Olympians Zach Bell, Svein Tuft and double World Champion and four time Commonwealth Games medalist Tara Whitten.

From Monday, December 27th, to Thursday, December 30th, the Harry Jerome Sport Centre in Burnaby will again be the centre of attention for all track cycling lovers. The fourth annual international race at Burnaby will feature not only the world's finest track cyclists, but also the traditional mix of sprint races, amateur races, courier challenges, music, food and refreshments. The event will take on added importance as it is now on the UCI calendar and will enable riders to garner UCI points towards World Championship and ultimately Olympic qualification.

Each night the top riders in the Pro/Elite category will compete in three to five races, totaling over 200 kilometres for the four days, while vying for $10,000 in prize money. The local returning Men's Champions Bell and Tuft for the Elite Madison will face a field featuring Taylor Phinney, Tyler Farrar, past Olympians, the current US National Madison Champions, past World Cup winners, and UIV Madison winners.

The women's field is no less impressive, with Canada's double world champion Tara Whitten lined up against U.S. double world champion Sarah Hammer, as well as Whitten's World Cup winning team pursuit team mates Steph Roorda and Laura Brown. Also on the start line will be Swiss national champion Pascale Schnider, former world keirin champion Jennie Reid, U.S. national champion Cari Higgins and New Zealand sprint ace Jo Keisanowski.

Racing commences at 6:30 pm each night from the 27th to the 29th, and 9 am on Thursday the 30th. For more details and a full schedule of all the races please visit

Provisional Start List for Men:

Svein Tuft/Zach Bell
Tyler Farrar/Taylor Phinney
Jason Allan/Jame Carney
Colby Pearce/Daniel Holloway
Ian Moir/Danny Heeley
Jackie Simes/Bobby Lea
Cam MacKinnon/Jacob Schwingboth
Adrian Hegyvary/Iggy Silva III
Cody Campbell/Mark MacDonald
Roberto and Luca Salvadeo
Kit Karzen/Colt Peterson
Alex Cataford/Jesse Marans

Provisional Start List for Women:

Tara Whitten
Sarah Hammer
Cari Higgins
Joanne Keisanowski
Jennie Reid
Steph Roorda
Laura Brown
Pascale Schnider
Jasmin Glaesser
Megan Hottman
Jenny Lehmann
Claire Cameron
Jean-Ann Berkenpas
Sarah Coney


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.