Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


January 3/11 10:39 am - Rosser wins Roger Sumner Award

Posted by Editor on 01/3/11

In addition to our annual CC Awards, Canadian Cyclist is pleased to announce 2010 winner of the Roger Sumner Award for the Best Newcomer.  The Roger Sumner Award is named after Dr Roger Sumner, who passed away in December of 2000 after being struck by a car while riding his bike.  This award is only presented if we feel that there has been a suitable break-through performance by a Canadian rider.

Roger Sumner was highly involved in the development of cycling in Canada. He was a founding member of the first B.C. Bicycling Association, now known as Cycling B.C. He worked as a dedicated volunteer for many years, sitting on the Boards of the Provincial and the National Associations. He also contributed to many committees through the years, and realized one of his long time dreams when he became a national champion (Masters Road) in 1996.

An admired coach and respected competitor, Roger participated in numerous competitions as a true ambassador to cycling.  Roger was particularly involved in encouraging the development of new riders.  He was a mentor for many great Canadian cyclists, including Jocelyn Lovell, Alex Stieda, Sara Neil, Ron Hayman and Brian Walton.

For 2010, Canadian Cyclist has awarded the Roger Sumner Award to Lauren Rosser of Squamish, BC.  Rosser became Canada's first Downhill world champion in nearly two decades, following in the footsteps of Cindy Devine, when she won the Junior Women's Downhill title at the Mountain Bike World Championships in Mont Ste Anne, Quebec.

Congratulations to Lauren Rosser!


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.