Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


January 12/11 18:37 pm - CCA Announces 6 Rider Squad for Cyclo-cross Worlds

Posted by Editoress on 01/12/11

The Canadian Cycling Association (CCA) is pleased to announce the six cyclists who will be representing Canada at the 2011 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships, held January 29-30 in St. Wendel, Germany.

Canada's team at the UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships has two riders with previous participation at the event. Both Derrick St-John and Natasha Elliott of St. Andrews, Ontario, engaged to each other, participated at the 2009 UCI World Championships held in Hoogerheide, Netherlands. St-John finished 54th in the men's elite race, while Elliott finished 21st in the women's elite race.

The cycling couple is optimistic about their performances at the event: "We are excited to be able to race the World Championships in Germany. We think it will definitely be a challenging course regardless of the weather conditions."

These Championships will be the first experience for Craig Richey of Smithers, BC, who is entered in the Men's Elite category.

"From the video I have seen, the course is very hilly and looks like it will suit my strengths. It should be a good one for me," said Richey, who is currently ranked 83rd in the UCI World Cup standings.

In the Men's Junior category, Canada will have three riders expected to take the start: Benjamin Perry of St. Catharines, Ontario; Karl Hoppner of Carp, Ontario; and Yohan Patry of St-Jérome, Québec. None of the junior riders have previously participated at UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships.

Canada's top ranked rider in the World Cup standings is Mike Garrigan, in 70th place. Garrigan will not participate at the World championships in Germany.

Please make a donation to help support the team and alleviate some of the financial burden on the athletes. Donations forms are available or e-mail Matthew Knight at for more information. Tax receipts are issued for Donations of $25 or more. All proceeds go directly towards covering the athletes' expenses.

Elite Women
Natasha Elliott (St. Andrews, ON)

Elite Men
Derrick St-John (St. Andrews, ON)
Craig Richey (Smithers, BC)

Junior Men
Benjamin Perry (St. Catharines, ON)
Karl Hoppner (Carp, ON)
Yohan Patry(St-Jérome, QC)

Support Staff
Matthew Knight (Ottawa, ON) - Team Manager
Alex Sanna (Waterloo, ON) - Soigneur and Mechanic


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.