Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


January 18/11 19:49 pm - CCA Announces 2010 Awards Recipients

Posted by Editor on 01/18/11

The Canadian Cycling Association (CCA) is pleased to unveil its 2010 Award recipients, rewarding outstanding dedication and commitment from the members of the Canadian cycling community.

"These awards recognize the talented and dedicated cycling community we have in Canada. The contributions of event organizers, coaches and officials along with the commitment of our many volunteers and our membership is what strengthens cycling in Canada," said Greg Mathieu, chief executive officer and secretary general of the Canadian Cycling Association. "It is always a difficult task to select a few individuals and events from such a large pool of qualified and deserving candidates. These people and organisations have all contributed to the excellent year Canadian cycling enjoyed in 2010."

Recipients were honoured in various categories:

• Organizer of the Year, for each cycling sport
• Official of the Year
• Provincial Organization of the Year (Torchy Peden trophy)
• Builder of the Year
• Best Junior Cyclist of the Year (Russ Copeland award)
• President's Trophy

CCA Organizer of the Year

Road: Grand Prix ProTour Québec, QC - Serge Arsenault

Mountain Bike: UCI Mountain Bike & Trials World Championships, Mont-Sainte-Anne, QC -Gestev Inc.

Track: National Championships, Bromont, QC - Sylvain Richard

BMX: National Championships, Airdrie, AB - Airdrie BMX

Para-cycling: UCI Para-Cycling Road World Championships, Baie Comeau, QC - Paramanic International

Cyclocross: Jim Horner Cyclo Cross Grand Prix, AB - Juventus Cyclocross

Official of the Year

The Official of the Year is awarded to Kevin MacCuish of British Columbia, for his contributions as an international MTB and BMX Commissaire.

Torchy Peden Trophy

The Torchy Peden Trophy recognizes the province which demonstrated overall success in membership, efficiency of operation and administration, and is awarded in 2010 to the Province of Québec.

Russ Copeland Award (Top Junior rider)

Awarded to World Junior Downhill Champion Lauren Rosser for her gold medal performance at Mont-Ste-Anne this past August, along with BMX rider Tory Nyhaug for his performances in the Elite category in Super Cross international events while still a Junior.

President's Trophy

Alberta's Tara Whitten is rewarded for her World Champion performances in both the Omnium and Points Race at the 2010 UCI Track World Championships, held in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Builder of the Year

Luc Arseneau (Dieppe, New Brunswick) completed his term as Chair of the CCA's High Performance Committee in 2010. He continued the development of riders from Atlantic Canada at the Dieppe, NB Training Centre and also served as a member of the Board of Coaches of Canada. Luc is also a lead contributor to the CCA's Long Term Athlete Development initiatives.

CCA Service Pin

5 years: Luc Arseneau - NB

Athlete Recognition for 2010

UCI Track World Championships

Tara Whitten: Gold Medal - Omnium, Gold Medal - Points Race

UCI Paracycling Road World Championships

Robbie Weldon / Lyne Bessette: Gold Medal - Tandem Road Race; Silver Medal - Tandem Time Trial

Geneviève Oullet / Emilie Roy: Bronze Medal - Tandem Road Race, Bronze Medal - Tandem Time Trial

Marie-Claude Molnar: Silver Medal - Road Race (C4), Bronze Medal - Individual Time Trial (C4)

Robert Labbé: Bronze Medal - Individual Time Trial (H1)

Mark Ledo: Bronze Medal - Road Race (H3)

UCI Road World Championships

Guillaume Boivin: Bronze Medal - U23 Road Race

UCI Mountain Bike World Championships

Lauren Rosser: Gold Medal - Junior Downhill

Steve Smith: Silver Medal - Elite Downhill

UCI Mountain Bike World Cup Overall

Catharine Pendrel: 1st Overall - Cross Country


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.