Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


July 17/11 14:32 pm - MTB XC Nationals: Team Relay report, results, video and photos

Posted by Editoress on 07/17/11

For the first time since 2002, the Team Relay has returned to the Canadian Mountain Bike Nationals. It was an extremely well-received event, with 14 teams registering for the championship category, and four for the club category (the official championship is only open to provincial or CCA registered teams).



The start


From the beginning the race was a battle between Team Ontario 1 and Team B.C., with Ontario taking the title. 3 Rox Racing, anchored by World Cup pro Derek Zandstra, made a late charge to bump B.C. out of the silver medal position in the last half lap.

Evan McNeely got Ontario off to a blazing fast start, recording the fastest lap of the entire day. B.C.'s Neal Kindree came in 12 seconds behind McNeely for second spot going into the next lap, followed by Tyson Wagler for 3 Rox Racing, 36 seconds behind. After the second lap, Evan Guthrie had moved B.C. into the lead by a few seconds.





Lap three saw B.C. extend their lead, as they sent out their Junior man, Quinn Moberg, while Ontario went with their woman, Emily Batty. However, Batty's time was a respectable sixth fastest for the lap, so the Ontario anchor Adam Morka, who had finished fifth in the Elite men's XC a day earlier, started only a minute behind B.C. woman Mical Dyck. Morka passed Dyck on the main climb and cruised in for victory. [Note: see our video interview with Adam Morka below]


Team Ontario

Team Ontario


Meanwhile, 3 Rox Racing, after falling back when they sent their female rider Amanda Sin out on the second lap, was catching up. Junior Men's champion Marc-Antoine Nadon rode third, and then Zandstra rode anchor. Zandstra was up to third by the mid point of the lap, and caught Dyck on the last climb to move the team up to silver.

Race Note

- Quebec put three teams in (like Ontario), but dressed each one in provincial jerseys from a different year - 1999, 2005 and 2011.

- Xprezo Plain White T-shirts finished fourth overall and won the Club title, followed by Team Needs a Sponsor.

- The winners received a banner proclaiming their title, plus each rider received embroidered patches to put on their regular team jerseys.


Team Relay
1 Team Ontario #1 (Evan McNeely/Daniel Varga/Emily Batty/Adam Morka) 1:11:20
2 3Rox Racing #1 (Tyson Wagler/Amanda Sin/Marc-Antoine Nadon/Derek Zandstra) at 1:50
3 Team B.C. (Neil Kindree/Evan Guthrie/Quinn Moberg/Mical Dyck) 2:35
4 Norco Factory Team (Jarred Stafford/Bretton Mathews/Catherine Vipond/Andrew Watson) 3:30
5 3Rox Racing #2 (Preston Wagler/Mikaela Kofman/Corey Brioschi/Cameron Jette) 5:47
6 Rocky Mountain (Raphael Gagne/Jeremy Martin/Andreane Lanthier/Samuel Tremblay) 6:07
7 Team Ontario #2 (Davis Ross/Cayley Brooks/Mitch Bailey/Peter Glassford) 6:10
8 Quebec 2011 (Antoine Caron/Leandre Bouchard/Rebecca Barent/Alexandre Vialle) 7:02
9 Quebec 2005 (Sebastien Cadieux-Duval/Vincent Belhumeur/Andreanne Pichette/Thomas Neron) 8:10
10 Team Ontario #3 (Mike Garrigan/Steven Noble/Peter Disera/Marie Pierre Nadon) 8:56
11 Team Alberta (Peter Knight/Samuel Beaudoin/Shantel Koenig/Graham Torrie) 11:03
12 Team Manitoba #1 (Michael van den Ham/Anna Schappert/Dylan Harris/Paul Benson) 11:07
13 Team Manitoba #2 (Hewson Elliott/Jenna Leonhardt/Hana Boersma/Ari Robinson) 33:59
UNClassified Quebec 1999 (Kristina Laforge/Catherine Fleury/Valerie Meunier/Frederique Trudel)
Club XC relay  
1 Xprezo Plain White T (Matt Hadley/Felix Wilberg/Jean Ann Berkenpas/Andrew L'Esperance) 1:14:42
2 NEEDS A SPONSOR (Stephen Widmer/Sandra Walter/Lauren Rosser/Cory Wallace) at 4:02
3 CVM VAL DAVID #1 (Antoine Perrault/Cindy Montambault/Emmanuel Boily/Pierre-Louis Chamberland) 5:44
4 CVM VAL DAVID #2 (Xavier Perrault/Phil Paradis/Charles Pichault/Annick Chretien) 8:56


Related Photo Galleries

Canadian XCO Nationals July 16/11 - July 17/11, Canmore, AB

Junior Men XC
Junior Women XC
U17 Men XC
U17 Women XC
Elite Women XC
U23 Women XC
Elite Men XC
U23 Men XC
Team Relay

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.