Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


February 25/12 22:25 pm - Omloop Het Nieuwsblad results and report

Posted by Editoress on 02/25/12

Loes Gunnewijk won the women's European season opener as she beat Ellen Van Dijk (Specialized-lululemon) in a two-up sprint. The Omloop Het Nieuwsblad victory continues GreenEDGE-AIS' winning streak. The women's team has won every stage race, omnium and one day race they have contested in their maiden season.

"It's really special for me to take my first win and for us to win the first European race of the season to continue our winning streak," said Gunnewijk. "We have a really good spirit and work ethic in the team. Everyone wants to work for the leader in any given race. We're happy to race as a team, and this is obvious in our results."

GreenEDGE-AIS had a straightforward plan for the day.

"We decided that I should be kept safe in the final," explained Gunnewijk. "The ideal situation would give me one or two teammates in a front group so that we could play with several options. We succeeded pretty well in following this plan."

A large, nervous field rode together for the first 50 kilometres. They covered two of the seven climbs on course without any major attacks.

"We wanted to ride easy and stay safe in the first half of the race," Gunnewijk noted. "Other teams seemed to have this idea, too."

A group of 12 formed on the Côte de Trieu, the day's third climb, and GreenEDGE-AIS put three riders in the move. Tiffany Cromwell and Amanda Spratt joined Gunnewijk up the road.

"We were the only team to have three in the breakaway," said Gunnewijk. "We worked well together in the break. It was a hard day."

Gunnewijk launched her winning move on the second to last cobbled section.

"Twenty kilometres before the finish, I attacked on the cobblestones, and I immediately got a gap," Gunnewijk explained. "I rode alone for five kilometres, and then Ellen came up to me. We shared the work until the finish and I beat her in a sprint to the line."

Report courtesy Greenedge-AIS


After 117 km
1 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) GreenEdge-AIS 3:17:14
2 Eleonora Van Dijk (Ned) Team Specialized-lululemon at s.t.
3 Trixi Worrack (Ger) Team Specialized-lululemon 1:10
4 Martine Bras (Ned) Dolmans-Boels Cyclingteam
5 Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team
6 Noemi Cantele (Ita) Be Pink
7 Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Hitec Products-Mistral Home Cycling Team
8 Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) GreenEdge-AIS
9 Amanda Spratt (Aus) GreenEdge-AIS
10 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) AA Cycling Team all s.t.
11 Lise Nöstvold (Nor) Hitec Products-Mistral Home Cycling Team 1:19
12 Chloe Hosking (Aus) Team Specialized-lululemon 1:33
13 Latoya Brulee (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Ridley 2012
14 Christine Majerus (Lux) Team GSD Gestion
15 Roxane Knetemann (Ned) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team
16 Ludivine Henrion (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies
17 Sarah Düster (Ger) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team
18 Romy Kasper (Ger) Rusvelo
19 Thalita De Jong (Ned) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team
20 Sara Mustonen (Swe) Hitec Products-Mistral Home Cycling Team
21 Maaike Polspoel (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Ridley 2012
22 Irene Van Den Broek (Ned) Dolmans-Boels Cyclingteam
23 Madeleine Olsson (Swe) AA Cycling Team
24 Jessie Daams (Bel) AA Cycling Team
25 Ann-Sophie Duyck (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies
26 Iris Slappendel (Ned) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team
27 Alexis Rhodes (Aus) GreenEdge-AIS
28 Chantal Blaak (Ned) AA Cycling Team
29 Fröydis Waerstad (Nor) Hitec Products-Mistral Home Cycling Team
30 Carlee Taylor (Aus) Vienne Futuroscope all s.t.
31 Regina Bruins (Ned) Skil 1T4I 4:46
32 Lucy Martin (GBr) AA Cycling Team 7:17
33 Katie Colclough (GBr) Team Specialized-lululemon
34 Kaat Hannes (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies
35 Jolien d'Hoore (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Ridley 2012
36 Marlen Jöhrend (Ger) Abus Nutrixxion all s.t.
OTL Anne Arnouts (Bel) Kleo Ladies Team 10:01
OTL Emma Silversides (GBr) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team
OTL Kelly Druyts (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Ridley 2012
OTL Rochelle Gilmore (Aus) Faren Honda Team
OTL Daniela Gass (Ger) Abus Nutrixxion
OTL Evelyn Arys (Bel) Kleo Ladies Team
OTL Annelies Dom (Bel) Wielerclub Steeds Vooraan V.Z.W.
OTL Laura Van Der Kamp (Ned) Dolmans-Boels Cyclingteam
OTL Mascha Pijnenborg (Ned) Dolmans-Boels Cyclingteam
OTL Alena Amialiusik (Blr) Be Pink
OTL Kimberly Buyl (Bel) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team
OTL Birgit Lavrijssen (Ned) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team
OTL Lauren Kitchen (Aus) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team
OTL Petra Dijkman (Ned) Kleo Ladies Team
OTL Isabelle Söderberg (Swe) AA Cycling Team
OTL Geerike Schreurs (Ned) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team
OTL Inge Roggeman (Bel) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team
OTL Sofie De Vuyst (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies
OTL Marieke Van Wanroij (Ned) AA Cycling Team
OTL Willeke Knol (Ned) Van Arckel
OTL Fiona Dutriaux (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope
OTL Belinda Goss (Aus) Abus Nutrixxion
OTL Marijn De Vries (Ned) AA Cycling Team
OTL Andrea Graus (Aut) Vienne Futuroscope
OTL Yulia Blindyuk (Rus) Faren Honda Team
OTL Elena Utrobina (Rus) Faren Honda Team
OTL Karol-Ann Canuel (Can) Vienne Futuroscope


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.