Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


June 21/12 10:21 am - World Cup Mont-Ste-Anne Preview

Posted by Editoress on 06/21/12

The UCI Mountain Bike World Cup moves to Canada this week for the first of two rounds - both doubles (Cross-country and Downhill) - in North America, held at the legendary Mont-Ste-Anne venue east of Quebec City.  Mont-Ste-Anne - known as MSA - has been a fixture on the World Cup since it began in 1991 and, other than missing World Cups during the two years it hosted the world championships, has never missed a year.

Mont-Ste-Anne is known for tough, technical courses and, often, hot and humid conditions.  This year will be no different.  The cross-country has been revised to make it, in the words of world champion Catharine Pendrel (Luna), "One of the toughest I have done.  They've made the opening climb harder with a singletrack section and reversed the second loop, which is much more difficult."



Catharine Pendrel and Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaaat La Bresse World Cup

The Downhill has returned to its roots, losing the turns at the top that slowed the riders, to become an extremely fast drop out of the starting gate.  One of the longest runs on the circuit, this year Mont-Ste-Anne is likely to have some of the highest speeds as well.



Steve Smith at MSA in 2010

The cross-country, on Saturday, has lost a few top riders as they go into Olympic preparation, but the majority of the best riders in the world will be here.  Missing from the women's field are World Cup leader Julie Bressett (BH-SR Suntour-Peissey Vallandry), Maja Wloszczowska (CCC Polkwice) and Eva Lechner (Colnago Sudtirol).  Pendrel will be looking to add MSA to her list of wins, but she will have a very tough battle against home town favourite Mare-Helene Premont (Rocky Mountain), who has won here twice before.  Another to watch for in the women is Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaa (Multivan Merida), who won the last round in La Bresse, France.

The men's field is missing two big names - Julien Absalon (Orbea) and Jean-Christophe Peraud (AG2R La Mondiale).  However, the World Cup leader, Nino Schurter (Scott-Swisspower) is here, plus his team mate Florian Vogel.  Jose Antonio Hermida (Multivan Merida), who won the world championship title here in 2010, will also be one to watch, as will Jaroslav Kulhavy (Specialized), the 2011 World Cup champion.

Both the USA and Canada will be fielding their newly named Olympic squads - for the U.S. it will be  Lea Davison (Specialized), Georgia Gould (Luna), Todd Wells (Specialized) and Sam Schultz (Subaru-Trek).  For Canada, the riders are:  Pendrel, Emily Batty (Subaru-Trek), Geoff Kabush (Scott-3Rox) and Max Plaxton (Specialized).



Aaron Gwin is World Cup leader and winner of last 2 Wcups


For the Downhill, we can expect a full field.  Rachel Atherton (GT Factory) and world champion Emmeline Ragot (MS Mondraker) will renew their rivalry here, as Florian Pugin (Scott 11) continues to chase her first victory of the season.  In the men, as always these days, the prohibitive favourite is Aaron Gwin (Trek World Racing).  The defending World Cup champion has two wins in three races, against one for his main rival Greg Minnaar (Santa Cruz Syndicate).  Others to watch for include world champion Danny Hart (Giant) and the Canadian favourite Steve Smith (Devinci), who won a silver medal here at the world championships in 2010.

The action begins on Friday with the Downhill qualifying.


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.