Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


October 21/12 18:01 pm - Albion Hills Cross Report, Results & Photos (Ontario)

Posted by Editoress on 10/21/12

The fourth race of the Southern Cup Cyclocross Series took place on a beautiful fall day at Albion Hills Conservation area, just north of Bolton.  Organized by Cycle Solutions - Angry Johnny's Cycling Club and ably assisted by Superfly Racing, the 2.3 kilometre course included numerous barriers, a couple of tough climbs, Johnny's Spiral of Death and a tricky sand pit.


Photos Part 1

Photos Part 2


Senior Women
Jamie Gilgen (Kallisto/Wheels of Oakville) notched an emphatic victory over Siobhan Kelly ( Vilakonja)and Briana Ingram (CSAJ).  Although Kelly managed to hold Gilgen's wheel for the opening lap, she had to give way to the eventual winner, who steadily increased her lead to over a minute by the finish.

Senior Men  photo
Andrew Watson (Norco Factory Team) followed wheels for the first lap but hit the gas on the second, quickly opening a gap that grew as the race progressed. Chasing valiantly was the duo of Peter Mancini ( and Peter Mogg (Stevens Racing/The Cyclery), but their combined efforts proved fruitless against Watson, who is undefeated so far this 'Cross season.  Mancini was able to distance Mogg late in the race to take second.

Master 1Men
Mark Brusso (Lapdogs Cycling) led John Barnes (Trek Canada) and Steve Heck (Trek Store Cycling) for almost the entire race, before they repaid the favour by jumping him on the final lap.  Barnes comfortably took the win over Heck, with the erstwhile pace-setter Brusso rolling home in third.

Junior Men
Connor Nevin (Aquila/Racer Sportif/Mattamy Homes) took the win over William Elliot (Team BTG) with favourite Peter Disera(CSAJ) hanging on for third. A crash while attempting to bunny-hop a barrier damaged Disera's bicycle, slowing him significantly.  Without a spare machine in the pits he was forced to soldier on at a reduced pace.


Report by Emil van Djik


Brief results

Junior Men
1 Connor Nevin (Aquila/Racer Sportif)
2 William Elliott
3 Peter Disera

Elite Women
1 Jamie Gilgen
2 Siobhan Kelly
3 Briana Ingram

Master Women
1 Carolyn Haill
2 Lori Kofman
3 Natalie Mousseau

Elite Men
1 Andrew Watson (Norco Factory Team)
2 Peter Mancini  (Esteem Training.Com)
3 Peter Mogg  (Stevens Racing P/B The Cyclery)
4 Nathan Chown  (Team CF)
5 Marco Li  (Garneau-Quebecor-Norton Rose)
6 Tyson Wagler  (Scott - 3 Rox Racing)
7 James Van Toever  (Trek Store Cycling  Club)
8 Kevin Black  (Octto - Cervelo)
9 Kyle Douglas  (Scott - 3 Rox Racing)
10 Isaac Smith  (Blacksmith Cycles)

Master 1 Men
1 Jon Barnes (Trek Canada)
2 Stephen Heck (Trek Store Cycling Club)
3  Mark Brusso (Lapdogs Cycling Club)
4 Robert Sule (Chain Reaction)
5 Rober Pinet (Esteem Racing)


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.