Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


October 28/12 11:45 am - Cycling Canada AGM - Report, Elections & Awards

Posted by Editor on 10/28/12

Cycling Canada (previously the Canadian Cycling Association) held their Annual General Meeting on Sunday in Toronto. This year did not see much in the way of structural changes, and there were no By-law changes for this year. The organization continues to work on strategic plan for next quadrennial. For 2013, a proposal has been made to hold the AGM in St Georges de Beauce, site of the Tour de Beauce, as well in St John's, Newfoundland. Normally, Ottawa would be the location after having held it outside of the Cycling Canada headquarters city the previous year. Both venues will be investigated.

Cycling Canada has recognized that doping is a global issue, but it affects locally in Canada as well. Cycling Canada will issue a statement in the next week, including determining how to deal with Michael Barry's Nationals results. There is also an intention to expand the Race Clean program.

Financially, the organization has gone from a $3.2 million organization to almost $5.7 million over past quadrennial cycle. There have been surpluses for five consecutive years. Revenue diversification is a priority, working on fundraising and donations. Full audited financial statements Here.

In terms of event development, the Tour of Alberta and Tour de Delta will be getting UCI status, and facilities are being developed: BMX Supercross track in Abbotsford (BC) and Velodrome in Milton (ON).

The focus of the High Performance program is switching more to Talent ID and Development, as Cycling Canada builds towards 2016 and 2020. The Sport Canada ranking after 2012 for funding has a number of components. Cycling has weaknesses in participation of women outside of athletes - cycling is weak in coach/adminstration, but officiating strong. The participation of provinces and territories in national championships is also weak. Provinces in their meetings feel that there should be strengthened emphasis on development - entry categories, non-championship/non-international events. Too much emphasis on High Performance at Cycling Canada level, although recognition that this is where source of funding comes from.

However, cycling has increased ranking considerably in High Performance. Cycling is the sport that hosts most international events.

So, overall, Cycling should move higher in rankings, meaning sustained and increased funding.

Full Cycling Canada AGM report Here

Elections were also held. Nominees acclaimed unless otherwise stated.

Board of Directors - Director at Large

Bill Kinash - 2 year term
Stephane Lebeau - 1 year term
Kevin Baldwin - 2 year term
Hannah Parish - 2 year term

Athletes' Rep - Marie-Claude Molnar

High Performance Committee Chair - Guy Vincent (2 years)

Events Committee Chair - Kevin MacCuish defeats Andrew Paradowski (2 years)

High Performance Development Team Rep - Andrew Iler (2 years)

Events Committee Road & Track Rep - Andrew Paradowski defeats Remi Berube (2 years)

Officials Committee Road & Track Rep - Wayne Pomario (2 years)

Officials Committee BMX Rep - Jason Howard (2 years)

Cycling Canada presented their awards and recognition of members of the Canadian cycling community at the Cycling Celebration and Annual General Meeting over the weekend of October 26-28.

Event/Organizer of the Year:

Road - Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec, QC

Mountain Bike - Championnats Canadiens Marathon, Saint-Raymond, QC

Track - Championnat Canadien - Dieppe, NB

BMX - Coupe Canada, Saint-Augustin, Québec

Paracycling- Coupe du Monde UCI - Baie Comeau, QC

Cyclocross - Canadian Championships, Toronto, ON

National Commissaire of the Year - Steve Head, Toronto, ON

International Commissaire of the Year - Wayne Pomario, BC

Torchy Peden Award - Atlantic Region (Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island,

Russ Copeland Award - Joakim Albert

President's Trophy - Ryder Hesjedal

Builder of the Year - Martin Demers (St Felicien, QC)

Service Pins:

5 years:
Adam Muys - BC
Kelly Murray - NB
Susan Richards - YK

10 Years
Kevin MacCuish - BC
John Tolkamp - BC

20 years:
Bill Kinash - SK

25 years:
Louise Lalonde - QC

Coaches Recognition Award:

BMX - Adam Muys
CLX - Adam Morka
Road - Rick Lee
Track - Rob Good

Special Athlete Presentations:

- UCI World Championship, Leogang, Austria World Champion Jr Women's DH - Holly Feniak, BC
- UCI World Championship, Leogang, Austria Silver Medal Elite Men's DH - Steve Smith, BC
- UCI Track World Championships, Silver Medal, Zach Bell
- UCI Track World Championships, Bronze Medal, Gilliam Carleton
- UCI Track World Championships, Bronze Medal, Jasmin Glaesser
- UCI Track World Championships, Bronze Medal, Tara Whitten
- Paralympic Games, Road Race, Gold Medal, Robbi Weldon
- Paralympic Games, Road Race, Gold Medal, Lyne Bessette
- Paralympic Games, Time Trial, Bronze Medal, Marie-Claude Molnar


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.