Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


February 9/13 10:24 am - Pan Am Track Champs: Day 3 results

Posted by Editoress on 02/9/13

Stéphane Cossette of Chicoutimi, QC just missed out on a second medal for Canada on the third day of competition at the 2013 UCI Pan Am track championships, Friday.

Cossette posted an impressive time of 1 minute, 1.882 seconds in the men’s Kilometre time trial, an endurance event, and was still sitting in third place with just one competitor left to race.

But Fabian Hernando Puerta of Colombia posted a new Pan American record time of 1:00.349 to win gold, relegating Cossette to fourth.

“Stéphane’s performance is a good reflection of the level of our up-and-coming Canadian sprinters,” said project head coach Vincent Jourdain. “This event isn’t Stéphane’s specialty yet he was a podium contender. It bodes well for the future.”

Also racing Friday was Candice Vermeulen in the women’s Scratch Race. Vermeulen was well placed in the group racing for silver when she crashed after making contact with one of her competitors, putting her out of contention.

Two big days of competition remain over the weekend, with Canadians racing in the men’s sprint, the men’s and women’s omnium and the women’s points race.


Results from the 3rd day of racing (February 8th) in Mexico City


Day 1

Day 2


Men Kilo
1 Fabián Hernando Puerta (Colombia) 1:00.349
2 Ángel Pulgar (Venezuela) 1:00.630
3 Anderson Parra (Colombia) 1:00.839
4 Stéphane Cossette (Canada) 1:01.882
5 Roberto Serrano (Mexico) 1:02.014
6 Yhonny Araujo (Venezuela) 1:02.160
7 Jonathan Matías Gatto (Argentina) 1:02.354
8 Caio Moretto (Brazil) 1:02.388
9 Carlos Arturo Carrasco (Mexico) 1:02.634
10 Claudio Fabián Joly (Argentina) 1:03.665
11 Kacio Fonseca Da Silva (Brazil) 1:03.991
12 Luis Alberto Montoya (Cuba) 1:04.344
13 Rene Magaña (El Salvador) 1:06.860
14 Javier Alvarado (Costa Rica) 1:07.877
15 Marvin Quesada (Costa Rica) 1:08.326
16 Jeison Felipe Pastrian (Chile) 1:09.179
17 Luis Hernan Velásquez (Chile) 1:11.029
DNS Kwesi Browne (Trinidad and Tobago)
DNS Scott Mulder (Canada)
DNS Jonatan Ogando (Dominican Republic)
DNS Alberto Rafael Ramos (Dominican Republic)
Women Scratch
1 Elizabeth Newell (United States of America)
2 Jannie Milena (Colombia)
3 Yudelmis Domínguez (Cuba)
4 Jennifer Cesar (Venezuela)
5 Angie Sabrina González (Venezuela)
6 Arlenis Sierra (Cuba)
7 Ana Teresa Casas (Mexico)
8 Cristina Greve (Argentina)
9 Laura Camila (Colombia)
10 Marcela Rubiano (Costa Rica)
11 Emelyn L Galicia (Guatemala))
12 Ana María Hernández (Mexico)
13 Alejandra Feszczuk (Argentina)
14 Lauren Tamayo (United States of America)
DNF Carolina Andrea Oyarzo (Chile)
DNF Cassandra Rodríguez (Costa Rica)
DNF Paula Lucrecia Guillén (Guatemala))
DNF Candice Vermeulen (Canada)
DNS Kirsti Lay (Canada)


Men Team Pursuit
1 Argentina (Walter Fernando Pérez/Maximiliano Ari Richeze/Mauro Abel Richeze/Eduardo Sepúlveda) 4:02.996
2 Colombia (Fernando Gaviria/Jhonatan Restrepo/Jordan Parra/Juan Sebastián) 4:05.416
3 México (José Alfredo Aguirre/Edibaldo Maldonado/Ramón Aguirre/Diego Jonathan Yépez) 4:09.351
4 Venezuela (Manuel Briceño/Isaac Yaguaro/Richard Ochoa/José Antonio Ramos) 4:10.179
5 Brazil (Gideoni Redrigues/Armando Reis Dacosta/Thiago Duarte/Robson Ribeiro) 4:14.449
6 Guatemala (Julio Padilla/Manuel Oseas Rodas/Christian Amilc Quicibal/Romeo Daniel Quicibal) 4:14.795
7 Chile (Jorge Luis Contreras/Enzo Bruno Cesario Farías/Pablo Jacob Seisdedos/Pablo Matías Reyes) 4:15.276
8 Cuba (Jan Carlos Arias/Ramón Luis Martin/Pedro Sibila/Alejandro Díaz) 4:16.190


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.