Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


March 1/14 22:53 pm - Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Women

Posted by Editoress on 03/1/14

Amy Pieters wins Omloop Het Nieuwsblad

Amy Pieters has won the women’s Omloop Het Nieuwsblad today in Belgium, with Kirsten Wild taking a strong fifth place from the chase group behind.

Amy was part of a three rider breakaway that formed in the middle of the race. It was touch and go as to whether they would hold off a fast closing bunch but they held on and Amy proved to have the fastest legs on the line.
It is her second win of the season after her stage victory at the Ladies Tour of Qatar and with this win The Team Giant-Shimano women’s team maintain their 100% record.

After the finish, Amy said: “Four of us got away on the Paterberg and then on the Paderstraat it dropped to three. I knew they were good sprinters too but I was confident in myself and knew that if it came back together we had Kirsten behind.

“I started the sprint from the front and it really was all or nothing. What a start to the season. The team work was fantastic again today. It’s great to be part of such a good group and to have the support that we do.
“The bike was amazing today. You can really tell that Giant have spent a lot of time making it specific to women.”

Team Giant-Shimano coach, Ruud Verhagen said: “The tactics for today were for Amy to be the leader. It worked out really well and when she was in front we were in the great situation of having Kirsten Wild and Maaike Polspoel behind to keep the pressure on the other teams.

“We expected that the break would go early but we didn’t think that such a small group would make it all the way to the finish. The gap went out to 1’50≤ at which point we put some pressure on behind to make sure that we still had other cards to play. It worked out perfectly and it’s amazing that we still have a 100% win record. It’s like a dream.”
Team Giant-Shimano press release

Gent to Gent, 126.7km
1 Amy Pieters (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano 3:30:15
2 Emma Johansson (Swe) Orica - AIS
3 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team both s.t.
4 Liesbet De Vocht (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies 0:06
5 Kirsten Wild (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano
6 Sofie De Vuyst (Bel) Futurumshop.Nl - Zannata
7 Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Specialized - lululemon
8 Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) Hitec Products
9 Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team
10 Christine Majerus (Lux) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
11 Irene San Sebastian Lasa (Esp) Spain
12 Romy Kasper (Ger) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
13 Ellen Van Dijk (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
14 Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
15 Kaat Hannes (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Pro - Duo
16 Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team
17 Latoya Brulee (Bel) Futurumshop.Nl - Zannata
18 Jessie Daams (Bel) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
19 Thalita De Jong (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team
20 Trixi Worrack (Ger) Specialized - lululemon all s.t.
DNF Anika Todd (Can) TIBCO/To the Top
DNF Gabrielle Pilote-Fortin (Can) Futurumshop.Nl - Zannata


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.