Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


March 15/14 17:40 pm - Bonelli Park: US Pro XCT #2 Women's results

Posted by Editoress on 03/15/14

Katerina Nash won her second consecutive USA Cycling US Cup Pro Series race of 2014 on a warm, sunny Saturday afternoon at Bonelli Park.  The Czech rider dominated the elite women's cross country mountain bike race from start to finish.



Katerina Nash wins


Nash and her Luna Pro teammate Catharine Pendrel rode away from their competition on the first lap of the five-lap race.  Behind them, Emily Batty (Trek Factory Racing) led the chase while Daniela Campuzano Chavez Peon (Mexican National Team), Georgia Gould (Luna Pro Team), Mary McConneloug (Kenda/Stan's NoTubes), Evelyn Dong ( and Mikaela Kofman (Scott-3Rox) followed.

Near the end of lap three of the UCI category HC race, Nash rode the uphill A-line and got a gap on Pendrel, who opted for the longer, but less technically challenging B-line.  Just a few seconds was all Nash needed to make her move.  She applied pressure and quickly turned her advantage into a decisive lead.

Nash would ride the remaining laps, uneventfully, on her own at the front of the race on her way to victory.

Pendrel, once left to ride on her own, measured her effort for the duration of the race and successfully defended her second place while Batty and then Campuzano each rode solo to third and fourth places respectively.

The tightest battle was for the fifth and final podium spot.  A chase group of four women formed in the final laps, including Gould, McConneloug, Dong and Kofman.  While Gould and McConneloug faded as the race progressed, Dong and Kofman became stronger.  In the end, Dong made a last lap move to secure herself a fifth place finish.

Bonelli Park drew an impressive 41 elite women to the start line.



Women's podium


Results from today's second race of the US Pro XCT series, Bonelli Park in San Dimas, CA


Pro Women
1 Katerina Nash (Luna Pro Team) 1:19:42.9
2 Catherine Pendrel (Luna Pro Team) 1:20:07.1
3 Emily Batty (Trek Factory Racing) 1:20:36.0
4 Daniela Campuzano Chavez (Mexican National Team) 1:23:02.4
5 Evelyn Dong ( 1:24:18.4
6 Mary McConneloug (Kenda/Stans NoTubes) 1:24:32.3
7 Mikaela Kofman (Scott-3Rox Racing) 1:24:39.9
8 Georgia Gould (Luna Pro Team) 1:24:49.6
9 Monique Mata (Sho-Air/Cannondale) 1:25:05.1
10 Sandra Walter (Liv/giant) 1:26:30.5
11 Erin Huck (Tokyo Joes-Vcgraphix) 1:27:47.8
12 Rachel Lloyd (California Giant Berry) 1:27:53.1
13 Candice Neethling (Bundu Bashers) 1:28:15.8
14 Amanda Nauman (SDG/Felt) 1:29:21.4
15 Larissa Connors (Marin Bikes Factory) 1:30:02.2
16 Rose Grant (Sportsman & Ski Haus) 1:30:36.6
17 Maghalie Rochette (Luna Pro Team) 1:31:12.5
18 Amanda Sin (Scott-3Rox Racing) 1:32:24.4
19 Kate Courtney (Specialized Factory) 1:32:54.4
20 Cindy Montambault (CVM 2 Vals) 1:33:13.4
21 Nina Baum (Stans NoTubes Women) 1:33:39.0
22 Jamie Busch (Juliana/Santa Cruz B) 1:33:53.2
23 Amy Beisel (Liv/Giant-Tuffshed) 1:34:28.6
24 Erin Alders (Liv/Giant) 1:35:05.3
25 Hannah Rae Finchamp (Luna Pro Team) 1:35:46.3
26 Tonya Bray (PAA/ -1 lap
27 Erica Tingey (Team Jamis) -1 lap
28 Andreanne Pichette (OPUS-OGC) -1 lap
29 Emily Shields (BMC Project Dirt) -2 laps
30 Kaylee Blevins (Bear Development) -2 laps
31 Gabrielle April (Rocky Mountain/Pro Cycling Team) -2 laps
32 Caroline Woods (Marin Factory Team) -2 laps
33 Deyanira Guerrero (Veloz Team) -3 laps
34 Vicky Barclay (Stans NoTubes Elite) -3 laps
35 Christina Gokey-Smith (Colonels) -3 laps
36 Melissa Ross (Faster Performance C) -3 laps
37 April Morgan (Independant) -3 laps
38 Frederique Larose-Gingras (Independant) -3 laps
39 Cayley Brooks (Independant) -3 laps
DNF Lesley Paterson (Scott Bikes)  
DNF Jennifer Todd (Platinum Performance)  
DNS Karlee Gendron (Trek Canada Mountain)
DNS Annie Last (Trek Factory Racing)
DNS Shayna Powless (Bmc Project Dirt)


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.