Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


March 24/14 10:34 am - Fontana Short Track report and results

Posted by Editoress on 03/24/14

Ettinger & Nash Win Fontana Short Track

Stephen Ettinger (BMC) and Katerina Nash (Luna Pro Team) won the short track races held in Fontana, California, on Sunday afternoon at the third round of the Pro XCT series.

The Fontana short track happened one day after the Fontana round of the USA Cycling US Cup cross country series presented by Sho-Air Cycling Group.  Most of the favorites from the previous day's race stuck around to also compete in the short track.

Elite Women
Katerina Nash powered to victory in the elite women's short track, one week after winning the short track at Bonelli Park.

Some of the world's top women lined up at the start for what would be approximately a 20-minute all-out race around a short course.

Nash finished three seconds ahead of Canada's Emily Batty (Trek Factory Racing) in second and four seconds ahead of another Luna rider, Georgia Gould.  Australian national champion Rebecca Henderson gave Trek Factory Racing another podium spot by finishing fourth, while Saturday's US Cup cross-country winner Catharine Pendrel of Canada gave Luna the final place on the podium in fifth.

Elite Men
US cross country national champion Stephen Ettinger recovered from a disappointing Fontana cross country race the previous day to race to victory in the short track.  Ettinger had to abandon the cross country race due to a mechanical while he was in the three-man group leading the race.  The American beat Emil Lindgren (Giant Pro XC) of Sweden and fellow American Todd Wells (Specialized Racing).

Trek Factory Racing riders swept the final two spots with Dan McConnell in fourth and Sergio Mantecon Gutierrez in fifth.  Both riders had played an aggressive role in the previous day's racing, with McConnell winning and Gutierrez launching several attacks on each lap's climb.

In the Category 1 men's race, Canadian Felix Burke won.


Results from the Fontana CIty Short Track in Fontana California on Sunday


Pro Women
1 Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team 19:54.62
2 Emily Batty (Can) Trek Factory Racing Team 19:57.76
3 Georgia Gould (USA) Luna Pro Team 19:59.90
4 Rebecca Henderson (Aus) Trek Factory Racing Team 20:09.11
5 Catherine Pendrel (Can) Luna Pro Team 20:11.71
6 Andreanne Pichette (Can) Opus-OGC 20:13.95
7 Rose Grant (USA) Sportsman & Ski Haus 20:14.39
8 Sandra Walter (Can) LIV/giant 20:15.95
9 Evelyn Dong (USA) Backcountry.Com 20:28.98
10 Kate Courtney (USA) Specialized Factory Racing 20:40.93
11 Larissa Connors (USA) Marin Bikes Factory Team 20:51.79
12 Cheryl Sornson (USA) RDC 20:53.46
13 Cindy Montambault (Can) CVM 2 VALS
14 Teal Stetson-Lee (USA) Luna Pro Team 21:00.16
15 Nina Baum (USA) Stans NoTubes Women Elite 21:07.09
16 Emily Shields (USA) BMC Project Dirt 21:07.78
17 Erin Alders (USA) Liv/giant 21:09.63
18 Monique Mata (USA) Sho-Air/Cannondale 21:13.72
19 Christina Gokey-Smith (USA) Colonels 21:15.49
20 Vicky Barclay (USA) Stans NoTubes Elite Womens 21:19.60
21 Amanda Sin (Can) Scott-3Rox Racing 21:33.47
22 Jessica Rawlins (USA) Bicycles Plus Racing Pulled Pulled
23 Karlee Gendron (Can) Trek Canada Mountain Bike Team Pulled
24 Erica Tingey (USA) Team Jamis Pulled Pulled
DNS Shayna Powless (USA) BMC Project Dirt
DNS Sarah Kaufmann (USA) Stans NoTubes Womens Elite
DNS Amy Beisel (USA) Liv/Giant-Tuffshed
DNS Vanessa Humic (USA) Kenda/PMBC
Pro Men
1 Stephen Ettinger (USA) BMC Mountain Bike Racing Team
2 Emil Lindgren (Swe) Giant Pro XC Team
3 Todd Wells (USA) Specialized Factory Racing
4 Daniel McConnell (Aus) Trek Factory Racing Team
5 Sergio Mantecon Gutierrez (Esp) Trek Factory Racing Team
6 Geoff Kabush (Can) Scott 3Rox Racing
7 Carl Decker (USA) Giant Factory Team
8 Jeremy Martin (Can) Rocky Mountain Factory
9 Russell Finsterwald (USA) SRAM/Troy Lee Designs Race Team
10 Derek Zandstra (Can) Scott 3Rox Racing
11 Troy Wells (USA) Team Clif Bar
12 Kerry Werner (USA) BMC Project Dirt
13 Mitchell Hoke (USA) The Pros Closet/Stans NoTubes
14 Jeremiah Bishop (USA) Sho-Air/Cannondale
15 Adam Morka (Can) WFP Coaching/Trek Bikes
16 Tristan Uhl (USA) 787 Racing
17 Alex Grant (USA) Sho-Air/Cannondale
18 Marc-Antoin Nadon (Can) Scott 3Rox Racing
19 Tom Sampson (USA) Independent
20 Mitch Bailey (Can) Trek Canada
21 Cameron Jette (Can) Scott-3Rox Racing
22 Joseph Maloney (USA) Ks Energy Services/Team Wisc
23 Keegan Swenson (USA) Cannondale Factory Team
24 Chris Baddick (USA) The Gear Movement/Epic Pro Cycling
25 Patrick Chartrand (Can) Rocky Mountain Factory Team
26 William Melone (USA) Riverside Racing
27 Cody Kaiser (USA) Muscle Milk/Specialized
28 Stephan Davoust (USA) San Juan Cycles/Steamworks/
29 Ryan Geiger (USA) Topix-FRM Factory Race Team
30 Ryan Woodall (USA) The Pros Closet/Stans NoTubes
31 Casey Williams (USA) Whole Athlete/Specialized
32 Rotem Ishay (USA) Team Jamis Bikes
33 Sepp Kuss (USA) BMC Project Dirt
34 Evan McNeely (Can) Norco Factory Team
35 Quinn Moberg (Can) Rocky Mountain Factory Team
36 Cole Oberman (USA) Rare Disease
37 Braden Kappius (USA) Team Clif Bar
38 Joel Titius (USA) Socal Endurance
39 Bryan Alders (USA) Marin Bikes Factory Team
40 Michael Hosey (USA) Marin Factory
41 Peter Glassford (Can) Trek Canada
42 Alex Wild (USA) Trail Head Racing
43 Christopher Hamlin (USA) Independent
44 TJ Woodruff (USA)
45 Jakub Valigura (USA) 92fifty' Cyclery
46 John Hauer (USA) Independent
47 Noah Tautfest (USA) Bicycle Express/Kona
48 Alexandre Vialle (Can) Espresso Sport
49 William Curtis (USA) Team Santa Cruz-X Fusion
50 Joseph Clemenzi (USA) Sports Garage Cycling
51 David Flaten (USA) Giant Factory North East Pro
52 Levi Kurlander (USA) Fort Lewis College
53 Dan Wolf (USA) Old Line Velo
54 Eliel Anttila (USA) UC Berkeley
55 Derek Hermon (USA) Independent
56 Pete Macleod (USA) Barfly
57 Trey Jarno (USA) Bear Valley Bikes
58 Evan Guthrie (Can) Norco Factory Team
DNF Kris Sneddon (Can) Kona
DNF Antoine Caron (Can) Specialized Racing Canada
DNF Colin Osborn (USA) Honey Stinger/Bontrager
DNF Barry Wicks (USA) Independent
DNF Mason Shea (USA) Independent
DNF Ernest Watenpaugh (USA) Independent
DNF Kalan Beisel (USA) Giant-Tuff Shed
DNF Sam Schultz (USA) Sho-Air/Cannondale
DNF Payson McElveen (USA) USA U23
DNF Spencer Paxson (USA) Kona
DNF Brodie Stringer (USA) Team Baghouse
DNF Ryan Trebon (USA) Sho-Air/Cannondale


Cat 1 Men
1 Felix Burke (Can)
2 Spencer Rathkamp (USA)
3 Grant Ellwood (USA)
4 Nic Jenkins (USA)
5 Brandon Hagy (USA)
6 Michael Mace (USA)
7 Luke Di Marzo (Can)
8 Anthony Tintelnot (USA)


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.