Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


March 31/14 19:42 pm - Paris-Ancaster Offers VIP Experience to Raise Milton Track Funds

Posted by Editoress on 03/31/14

The organizers of the 21st annual Paris to Ancaster Bicycle Race (P2A) - which takes place on Sunday, April 27th - are pleased to announce the return of the VIP experience and this year's line-up of stars.

Inspired by the Paris -Roubaix Race in France, P2A is known for its difficult route that takes riders in unpredictable spring weather over some of the roughest farm lanes, trails and gravel roads in southern Ontario. With two race options, the tougher 70km Paris to Ancaster race and the 40 km St. George to Ancaster race, P2A appeals to all levels of cyclists from pros to recreational riders. For each route, the organizers get permission from landowners for the bikes to pass through their properties.

Back by popular demand is the VIP experience presented by Neworld Cycle. Last year, as part of the 20th anniversary, organizers introduced the VIP experience, where entrants had the opportunity to race in an elite wave with past cycling Olympians and current pros plus other great "VIP" perks. This year's VIP experience offers the same entrance into the elite wave, a meet and greet with this year's line-up of stars, pre and post-race soigneur services, a musette full of swag, race medal, valet bike wash, reserved parking, shuttle service to the start line, pre-race mechanical services if required, and valet breakdown service. Entrants can choose to race in the elite wave in either the 70km or 40km race, with a portion of the entry fee being donated to the Milton Pan Am Velodrome Fund.

P2A organizers are pleased to announce the line-up of Olympians and Pros that will be part of the VIP experience this year. While the list continues to grow, returning "stars" from last year include Olympian Curt Harnett; Olympian Gord Singleton; 2013 winner Justine Lindine; three time winner from 2010 to 2012, Mike Garrigan; second place finisher for the past two years, Aaron Schooler; and female winner the past two consecutive years, Mandy Dreyer. This year's new stars include Belgian pro Ellen van Loy, ranked 6th in the UCI and World Cup rankings; 2008 Olympian Leigh Hobson; Belgium-based American pro Christina Vardaros; Canadian pro Peter Glassford; 2014 USA National Cyclocross Champion and 2009 P2A winner Jeremy Powers; plus the Rapha-Focus team.

"As we enter the 21st year, we are thrilled to be able to continue to grow the event," says John Thorpe, P2A co-chair. "We have an amazing group of pros and Olympians joining us to make this year's VIP experience even better. To race alongside all the names listed above is a once in a lifetime opportunity for any cyclist."

Last year, as a result of the VIP experience, over $21,000 was donated to the Milton Velodrome.  For more information, to register or make a donation, visit


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.