Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


May 8/14 13:00 pm - Tour of California Announces Women's Rosters

Posted by Editoress on 05/8/14

The 2014 Amgen Tour of California is once again proud to host the top women in cycling at its annual event. In 2014, for the first time, the women will be racing for two days, including an opening day circuit race followed by a second day time trial. Both competitions will be presented by SRAM.  Canada will be well represented, both on trade teams and by Team Canada.

Following the start of the men's race on May 11th, women from the top professional, national and composite teams will face off on the 1.25-mile circuit course around the State Capitol building in Sacramento. Capped at 115 riders, the massive field will include some of the sport's best. Many of the women racing are repeat Olympians, World and National titleholders, and have resumes including victories at top road races around the world.

The field is filled with former and current National Champions including:

• Team Specialized-lululemon's Evelyn Stevens, who also is defending champion of last year's time trial; and Carmen Small, current National Time Trial Champion, as well as a podium finisher at the 2012 National Road Race Championships;
• UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team's Alison Powers, who has held multiple national titles; and Mara Abbott, two-time National Road Race Champion and two-time winner of the Giro d'Italia Femminile (2010 and 2013);
• FCS|Zngine p/b Mr. Restore's Amber Neben, who has held multiple national and world titles in road racing and time trial;
• DNA Cycling p/b K4's Tina Pic, one of the winningest women of overall race finishes and championship titles in the U.S.;
• SPY GIANT RIDE p/b MRI's Robin Farina, 2011 National Road Race Champion.

Other current National Champions competing in the circuit race will include China's National Champion Ni Man Song, riding for China Chongming-Giant-Champion System Pro Cycling, and New Zealand's two-time National Road Race Champion Rushlee Buchanan, riding for UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team. Also featured will be TWENTY16 Pro Cycling p/b Breakaway from Cancer's Greta Neimanas, the first U.S. paracyclist to be signed to a professional team.

"We are committed to advancing women's cycling in the U.S. and providing a powerful platform, and there is no better way to do that than showcasing so many talented athletes in two different yet equally exciting race days," said Kristin Bachochin, executive director of the race and senior vice president of AEG Sports. "We are thrilled fans will have the opportunity to cheer on some of the most decorated women cyclists in the sport at the 2014 Amgen Tour of California."

The invitation-only time trial May 12th in Folsom will use the same fast and flat 12.6-mile course the men will race later in the day. The 20 cyclists announced last month will include powerhouse competitors in the sport and riders representing the top three finishing teams in the circuit race:

Evelyn Stevens, Team Specialized-lululemon
Carmen Small, Team Specialized-lululemon
Jasmin Glaesser, Team TIBCO
Anika Todd, Team TIBCO
Laura Brown, Colavita/Fine Cooking Women’s Pro Cycling Team
Annie Ewart, Optum Pro Cycling presented by Kelly Benefit Strategies

Brianna Walle, Optum Pro Cycling presented by Kelly Benefit Strategies
Amber Gaffney, TWENTY16 Pro Cycling presented by Breakaway from Cancer
Alison Tetrick, TWENTY16 Pro Cycling presented by Breakaway from Cancer
Gillian Carleton, Vanderkitten Racing
Amber Neben, FCS|Zngine presented by Mr. Restore
Hong Yu Liang, China Chongming-Giant-Champion System Pro Cycling
Greta Neimanas, U.S. Paracycling Team
Robin Farina, SPY GIANT RIDE Elite Cycling Team
Alison Powers, UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team
Mara Abbott, UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team
Kathryn Bertine, Saint Kitts and Nevis National Team

The final three spots will go to the top three finishers of the May 11th circuit race.


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.