Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


June 24/14 11:00 am - Quebec Announces Team for Road Nationals

Posted by Editoress on 06/24/14

The Quebec cycling federation - FQSC - has announced the list of riders who will represent the province at the upcoming National Road Championships.  The Elite, U23 and Para-cyclists will race this coming weekend in Lac-Megantic, Quebec, while the Junior and Masters racers will compete in St-Georges the following weekend.

Elizabeth Albert, Gabrielle Pilote, Ariane Bonhomme, Olivier Brisebois, Émile Jean Fredéric Cossette, Edward Dumas and Julien Won form the senior delegation from Quebec.

Athletes mentioned above were selected based on a selection process, which includes several evaluation criteria. This will be an excellent opportunity for learning and development. Obviously, many other Quebecers will be in action during the competition, with their trade teams.

"The role of the Quebec team is to support athletes to perform at their full potential. At the senior level, men and women, our role is to develop the next generation, so we focus on U-23," said Pascal Choquette, provincial road coach for Quebec.

The para team will consist of:

Nicole Clermont (C5)
Marie-Claude Molnar (C4)
Myriam Adam (H3)
Marie-Ève Croteau (T2)
Robert Labbé (H2)
Mark Beggs (H3)
Charles Moreau (H3)
Louis-Albert Corriveau-Jolin (T2)
Rico Morneau (H3)
Alexandre Carrier and Aroussen Laflamme (B)
Daniel Chalifour and Alexandre Cloutier (B)
Mathieu C. Daigle and Pierre Olivier Boily (B)

According to Pascal Choquette, Quebec will be racing to win in Para. "Our team consists of the best individuals in the country, in each category, and the athletes will get, no doubt, excellent results. They have, for the most part, already several international results."

Quebec's Junior team will come to St-George-de-Beauce, on July 2nd to 6th.

"If we play our cards right, athletes should know success in different events," said Choquette. "The Canadian Championships are also a test for them as a important selection for the programs of the national team."

Six men and four women will bear the fleur de lys of Quebec. Pier-André Côté, Laurent Gervais, Jean Francois Soucy, Dafné Theroux Izquierdo and Laurence Dumais won their spots by gaining the points necessary for selection, while John Simon D'Anjou, Samuel Périgny, Catherine Ouellette and Olivia Baril were chosen by the selection committee.

Félix Lapointe had obtained his place by points, but had to withdraw due to health problems. He will be replaced by Hubert Laferrière.


Courtesy FQSC


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.