Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


February 2/15 11:39 am - Hardwood Celebrates 20 Years of National MTB Racing

Posted by Editoress on 02/2/15

The Summer of 2015 will be a special season for Hardwood Ski and Bike (aka Hardwood Hills) and Pulse Racing, as they celebrate the 20th Anniversary of hosting National mountain bike events. Hardwood held its first Canada Cup event in 1996, and has hosted a Canada Cup or Canadian Championships every year since.

Trek Store Toronto/Aurora/Barrie will also celebrate its 10th year supporting the Canada Cups and Canadian Championships.

The list of past winners (see table below) at Hardwood is quick history into the development of future Olympians and World Champions. A tour through past results makes for very interesting progression of riders, proving the national series as a great development tool.

2015 is also a special year as Ontario will host two back-to-back Canada Cup events with the Horseshoe Valley Canada Cup/Ontario Cup on June 7th, and the Trek Store Canada Cup/Ontario Cup on June 14th at Hardwood Ski and Bike. These are both UCI 2 level events, and expect to attract many riders from the Pan Am countries to preview the Pan Am course at Hardwood and gain some valuable UCI points. Organizers are also planning a full week of fun and social events between races.

For more info see
Horseshoe Valley Canada Cup/Ontario Cup, June 7th -
Trek Store Canada Cup/Ontario Cup, June 11-14 -


Canada Cup / CDN Champs at Hardwood - Past Champions

Year Elite Male Elite Female Jr Male Jr Female
1996 Roland Green Chrissy Redden Pascal Beauchemin Caroline Premont
1997 Ntls Andreas Hestler Alison Sydor Ryder Hesjedal Valerie Hope
1998 Geoff Kabush Trish Sinclair Ryder Hesjedal Marisol Bernier
1999 Seamus McGrath Chrissy Redden Ricky Federau Julie Sanders
2000 Ryder Hesjedal Chrissy Redden Jamie Douglas Erica Drew
2001 Seamus McGrath Chrissy Redden Martin Lazarski Martina Feldman
2002 Geoff Kabush Marie-Helene Premont Frederic Bussieres Olivia Gagne
2003 Seamus McGrath Karen DeWolfe Max Plaxton Emily Batty
2004 Andrew Watson Sue Trimble Rapheal Gagne Emily Batty
2005 Roland Green Catharine Pendrel Rapheal Gagne Emily Batty
2006 Ricky Federeau Marie-Helene Premont Francis Morin Emily Batty
2007 Derek Zandstra Wang Jingjing Jacob McClelland Alexandra Gelinas
2008 Derek Zandstra Mical Dyck Tyson Wagler Rebecca Beaumont
2009 Derek Zandstra Emily Batty Mitch Bailey Cayley Brooks
2010 Derek Zandstra Emily Batty Mitch Bailey Kristina Laforge
2011 Derek Zandstra Emily Batty Marc-Antoine Nadon Lauren Rosser
2012 Geoff Kabush Emily Batty Alexandre Vialle Frederique Trudel
2013 Ntls Derek Zandstra Emily Batty Peter Disera Rachel Pageau
2014 Ntls Geoff Kabush Catharine Pendrel Marc-Andre Fortier Soren Meeuwisse
2015 tba tba tba tba



Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.