Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


April 3/16 11:02 am - Coles-Lyster dominates at Junior Track Nationals with Four Titles in Two Days

Posted by Editoress on 04/3/16

Records continued to fall on Day 2 of the Canadian National Junior Track Championships, at the Mattamy National Cycling Centre in Milton, Ontario.  Men and Women in the Under-17 and Under-19 (Junior) categories competed across three different events, with a total of 12 national titles awarded on Saturday.

The day began with the Individual Pursuit competition, which is especially critical for the Junior men and women, since it will be a major factor in determining selection for the world championship team.

The Under-17 women's title was taken by Sarah Van Dam, racing for the Victoria-based Tripleshot team, with a time of 2:35.810 .  Kassandra Kriarakis (Kallisto FCV) won the silver medal and Julia Gibson (Ottawa Bicycle Club) the bronze.

In the Under-17 men's competition, all three medallists broke the previous national record.  Riley Pickrell (Tripleshot) took the gold medal with a time of 2:21.056, followed by Justin Correa (Kallisto FCV) and Sydney Flageogle-Bray (NCCH p/b Dec Express).

In the Junior women's competition Maggie Coles-Lyster (TaG Cycling), a first year Junior rider, won with a time of 2:29.788, just over a second ahead of Erin Attwell (Tripleshot).  Laurie Jussaume (Equipe du Quebec) won the bronze medal.  All three medallists beat the world championships qualifying time of 2:32.720.

In the Junior men's Individual Pursuit, Felix Pelletier (Equipe du Quebec) was the champion with a time of 3:27.680, beating John Willcox (Cycling BC / TaG), while Cameron Fitzmaurice (Cycling BC / TaG) won the bronze medal.  All three medallists successfully beat the world championships qualifying standard of 3:30.790.

In the second session of the day, attention turned to the Sprint competition and the Points Race.  Kaitlyn Rauwerda (NCCH p/b Dec Express) took the Under-17 women's title in the Points Race with a gutsy solo attack and held off the field for the win.  Her team mate, Sydney Flageole-Bray, made a similar bold move in the Under-17 men's race, to lap the field and take the gold medal.

The Junior women's Points Race saw Maggie Coles-Lyster take her second title of the day and third of the championships with a dominating performance that including winning three of six intermediate sprints.  The Junior men's competition started out as a battle between eventual winner Cameron Fitzmaurice and Jordan Jones (NCCH p/b Dec Express), until Jones was forced to retire after a crash that took down six riders in the last third of the race.  Jones tried to continue after getting his bike repaired, but eventually dropped out.

The day concluded with the Sprint competitions.  Sarah Van Dam won the Under-17 women's title in two straight rides over Kassandra Kriarakis, as did Riley Pickrell over Joel Domingue (Equipe du Quebec) in the Under-17 men.  In the Junior women, Maggie Coles-Lyster picked up an incredible fourth national title (third of the day), ahead of Erin Attwell.  Stefan Ritter (Team Alberta) repeated as the Junior men's champion, in two straight rides over Nick Wammes (Kallisto FCV).  In Junior women's qualifying, the top four riders all broke the national record in the 200 metre time trial, led by Coles-Lyster.

The Junior Track Championships conclude on Sunday, with the Time Trial events, the Scratch Races, the Keirin and the the Elimination.




Day 1


Related Photo Galleries

Junior Track Nationals April 1/16 - April 3/16, Milton Velodrome

Team Pursuit
Team Sprint
Juior Men IP
Junior Women IP
U17 Women IP
U17 Men IP
Junior Men Sprint
Junior Women Sprint
U17 Men Sprint
U17 Women Sprint
Junior Men Points
Junior Women Points
U17 Men Points
U17 Women Points
Junior Men Kilo
Junior Women 500TT
U17 Men 500TT
U17 Women 500TT
Junior Men Scratch Race
Junior Women Scratch Race
U17 Men Scratch Race
U17 Women Scratch Race
Junior Men Keirin
Junior Women Keirin

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.