Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


April 4/16 8:53 am - Junior Track Championships Conclude with More Records Falling

Posted by Editoress on 04/4/16

The Canadian Junior Track National Championships concluded on Sunday at the Mattamy Cycling Centre in Milton, Ontario, with titles awarded in three final events.  National champions donned maple leaf jerseys in four categories - Under-17 Women and Men, and Under-19 (Junior) Women and Men.

The final day of competition opened with the Time Trial events; 500 metres for all categories except Junior Men, who raced 1000 metres.  Sarah Van Dam of the Tripleshot team added another title to her collection in the Under-17 women, with a time of 38.232 seconds.  Julia Gibson (Ottawa Bicycle Club) took silver and Kassandra Kriarakis (Kallisto FCV) the bronze.

Riley Pickrell (Tripleshot), another multiple title winner, took the Under-17 Men's title, setting a new Canadian record of 33.694 seconds.  Justin Correa (Kallisto FCV) won the silver medal and Joel Domingue (Equipe du Quebec) the bronze.

In the Junior Women's event, Erin Attwell (Tripleshot) took her first title of the championship, beating rival Maggie Coles-Lyster (Tag Cycling) with a Canadian record time of 37.034 seconds.  Lauriane Genest (Equipe du Quebec) took the bronze medal.

In the Junior Men's 1000 metre competition, Sprint champion Stefan Ritter (Team Alberta) set a blazing fast time of 1:04.168 to win the gold medal.  Cameron Fitzmaurice (Cycling BC / TaG) took silver and Adam Lefebvre (Kallisto FCV) bronze.

After a brief break to catch their breath, riders were immediately back on the track for the Scratch Races.  Sarah Van Dam was again the winner for the Under-17 women, while Dawson MacDonald (NCCH p/b Dec Express) took the Under-17 men's title with a well timed breakaway attack.  Maggie Coles-Lyster won her fifth title of these championships in the Junior Women's race, while Cameron Fitzmaurice took the Junior men's championship.

The final event of the Championships was the Keirin, held only for the Junior women and men.  Coles-Lyster took an incredible sixth title for the women, beating out Amelia Bell (NCCH p/b Dec Express) and Devaney Collier (Team Alberta).  In the Men's race, to no one's surprise, Stefan Ritter powered away from the other five riders to easily win his third title, a clean sweep of the individual Sprint events.  Adam Lefebvre (Kallisto FCV) was second and John Willcox (Cycling BC / TaG) third.




Day 1

Day 2


Related Photo Galleries

Junior Track Nationals April 1/16 - April 3/16, Milton Velodrome

Team Pursuit
Team Sprint
Juior Men IP
Junior Women IP
U17 Women IP
U17 Men IP
Junior Men Sprint
Junior Women Sprint
U17 Men Sprint
U17 Women Sprint
Junior Men Points
Junior Women Points
U17 Men Points
U17 Women Points
Junior Men Kilo
Junior Women 500TT
U17 Men 500TT
U17 Women 500TT
Junior Men Scratch Race
Junior Women Scratch Race
U17 Men Scratch Race
U17 Women Scratch Race
Junior Men Keirin
Junior Women Keirin

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.