Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


March 26/17 21:33 pm - 2017 Enduro World Series: Race 1

Posted by Editoress on 03/26/17

The 2017 Enduro World Series got off to a wild start with the Giant Toa Enduro in New Zealand – but even the craziest of conditions wasn’t enough to slow down winners Cecile Ravanel and Wyn Masters.

Heavy rain early in the day rendered Crankworx Rotorua’s opening event into one of the most savage EWS races to date, with all seven stages transforming from hero dirt during practice into something altogether more brutal come race day. The pro men’s field left the stage last and bore the brunt of the changing conditions.

However the Kiwi men seemed completely unfazed  – taking every step on the podium. Wyn Masters (GT Factory Racing) finished nearly four seconds up on second placed Matt Walker, with Wyn’s brother Eddie Masters in third.

Speaking after the race he said: “There were some stages today that I’ve never seen that tough and it was just a struggle – the ruts swallowed the bike and the rider. I had a few crashes but I managed to hold it together and somehow I took the win and lived up to my name.”

In the women’s race Cecile Ravanel (Commencal Vallnord Enduro Team) looked unstoppable – she may live in the south of France but she seemed perfectly at home in the mud. She won six stages, with only Katy Winton (Trek Factory Racing) standing between her and total stage domination – with Winton taking her first EWS stage win. Ines Thoma (Canyon Factory Enduro Team) put in a consistent ride to take home second on the day and Anita Gehrig (Ibis Cycles Enduro Race Team) did the same to take a well deserved third.

Cecile said: “I was a little bit nervous this morning because of the rain, I live in the south east of France and there are never these conditions – if it rains I don’t ride! I enjoyed it though and I’m happy.”

Report EWS


Full results


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.