Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


April 1/17 23:41 pm - B.C. Continues to Dominate Junior/U17/Para National Championships

Posted by Editoress on 04/1/17

Saturday, Day 2 of the 2017 Canadian Track Championships p/b Lexus for Junior, Under-17 and Para cyclists, saw titles awarded for men and women in four different events, for a total of 14 national titles.

Once again, British Columbia was the big winner, with seven titles, followed by five for Ontario.  In the Para competition, Alberta and Quebec were the winners.



Photo Galleries


Maggie Coles-Lyster (TaG Cycling) swept all three of the Junior Women titles, winning the Sprint, Elimination race and Points Race.  This brings Coles-Lyster's total to five gold and one silver medal in the six Junior events contested so far.  She is closely followed by fellow B.C rider Riley Pickrell (Tripleshot Cycling) in the Under-17 Men, who won two titles - Points Race and Sprint - to bring his total to five gold medals.  A third B.C. rider, Sarah van Dam (Tripleshot Cycling), also won two titles in the Points Race and the Elimination Race, in the Under-17 Women category, bringing her total to four national titles.

Ontario's Michael Foley (La Bicicletta Cycling) won two gold medals in the Junior Men's category, in the Points Race and Elimination Race, bringing his total to three for the national championships.  In other Ontario results, Je'land Sydney (Kallisto-FVC p/b Peloton Contracting) added the Junior Men's Sprint title, Madison Dempster (Midweek Cycling) took the Under-17 Women's Sprint title - her second of the Championships - and Dylan Bibic (Midweek Cycling) won the Under-17 Men's Elimination title.  Bibic, at only 13 years old, is one of the revelations of the Championships.

In Para competition, the Alberta tandem team of Carla Shibley and Erin Rutlan won the women's competition, while the Quebec team of Mathieu Croteau Daigle and Benoit Lussier took the Men's tandem title.

The Championships conclude on Sunday with national titles awarded in Team Pursuit, Team Sprint, Madison and Time Trials for Junior and Under-17 women and men, as well as Time Trials for the Para categories.



Photo Galleries


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.