Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


April 19/17 20:25 pm - Tour of the Gila: Women stage 1 results UPDATED

Posted by Editoress on 04/19/17

Katie Hall (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling) narrowly won the first stage of the 31st edition of the Tour of the Gila after launching a last minute solo flyer just five km from the finish.

Hall barely clung to her slim 10-second advantage while behind her, teammate Ruth Winder and Sara Bergen (Rally Cycling) charged to the line finishing second and third, respectively. Tayler Wiles (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling) took fourth and Krista Doebel-Hickok (Cylance Pro Cycling) rounded out the top five.

“We had a really good game plan today,” Hall said after the stage. “We had three riders at the front making the pace hard and fast before the climb. My job was to attack and see if I could hold it to the end. I knew there were three other fast sprinters behind me, like Ruth Winder. I felt lucky I could hold it to the line.”

Wind factored heavily in the 109.9km race from Silver City to Whitewater Mesa, creating a relatively quiet race for the 63 starters. A consistent headwind for the majority of the route discouraged teams from forcing an early breakaway.

“I thought the race was going to be a little more aggressive than it was,” Hall said. “It was hard with the downhill headwind, no one wanted to do anything, but it was okay for us.”

As expected, a modified route that excluded the famous Mogollon climb meant the time bonus opportunities were hotly contested. The first sprint came 30 km into the race and was won by Lauren Stephens (TIBCO). Second went to Lizzie Williams (Supermint) and Brianne Walle (TIBCO) claimed third. The three riders added 3,2 and 1 second to their GC time. Almost 30 kilometres later, Jamie Gilgen (Rise Racing) collected the 3-second bonus, followed by Winder and Stephens who scooped up 2 and 1 second collectively. The intermediate sprints also offered sprint points. Hall sits first in that classification followed by Winder who will wear the green jersey Thursday.

On the approach to the base of Mogollon, UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling turned up the heat and brought four of their riders to the front to push the pace. From there, Hall saw her moment and attacked towards the top of a long drag before the road plateaued onto Whitewater Mesa. Gaining 15 seconds was all Hall needed to take the win ahead of her teammate, Winder.
Tour of the Gila report

Stage one of the Tour of the Gila saw the return of Allison Beveridge to road racing for the first time in two years after a difficult post-Olympics surgery. Beveridge had an immediate impact on the peloton, positioning the team well before the crucial moments of the race and assisting Amy Benner, Caitlin Laroche and Emma White in marshaling Bergen to the front during the closing kilometres. The women of Rally Cycling will remain on the hunt for stage wins and to propel Bergen onto the top step of the final podium.

“I am incredibly proud of the result today and so very proud of the teamwork that put me on the podium,” said Bergen. “Personally I am pleased with how I am feeling at altitude, especially that I had some sprint power after that finishing climb. I am feeling strong and excited for tomorrow's stage.”
Rally Cycling


Results from the first stage in New Mexico

Stage 1: Silver City to Whitewater Mesa, 109.9km
1 Katharine Hall (Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team) 3:16:08
2 Ruth Winder (Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team)
3 Sara Bergen (Rally Cycling)
4 Tayler Wiles (Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team)
5 Lauren Stephens (Team TIBCO - Silcon Valley Bank)
6 Krista Doebel-Hickok (Cylance Pro Cycling)
7 Joelle Numainville (Cylance Pro Cycling)
8 Leah Thomas (Sho - Air Twenty20)
9 Lindsay Bayer (Hagens Berman / Supermint)
10 Julie Emmerman (Amy D Foundation)
11 Scotti Lechuga (Hagens Berman / Supermint)
12 Emma Grant (Colavita/Bianchi USA)
13 Megan Alderete (Hagens Berman / Supermint)
14 Kathryn Buss (Team TIBCO - Silcon Valley Bank)
15 Stefanie Sydlik (Amy D Foundation)
16 Erica Clevenger (Visit Dallas DNA)
17 Alison Tetrick (Cylance Pro Cycling)
18 Kathryn Donovan (Visit Dallas DNA) all s.t.
19 Melinda McCutcheon (Visit Dallas DNA) 0:07
20 Elizabeth Williams (Hagens Berman / Supermint) 0:30
21 Brianna Walle (Team TIBCO - Silcon Valley Bank)
22 Abigail Mickey (Colavita/Bianchi USA)
23 Lex Albrecht (Team TIBCO - Silcon Valley Bank)
24 Lindsay Myers (Team TIBCO - Silcon Valley Bank)
25 Claudia Veron Balderas (Conade-Visit Mexico-Specialized)
26 Marcela Elizabeth Prieto Moreno (Conade-Visit Mexico-Specialized)
27 Marie-Soliel Blais (Landis/Trek Team) all s.t.
28 Gillian Ellsay (Colavita/Bianchi USA) 0:44
29 Breanne Nalder (Visit Dallas DNA)
30 Miriam Brouwer (Rise Racing)
31 Emma White (Rally Cycling) all s.t.
32 Kaitlin Antonneau (Cylance Pro Cycling) 0:48
33 Margot Clyne (Amy D Foundation) 0:51
34 Diana Carolina Peuela Martinez (Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team) 0:54
35 Tarah Cole (Landis/Trek Team)
36 Emily Jordan (Landis/Trek Team)
37 Karlee Gendron (Rise Racing) 1:02
38 Andrea Thomas (Amy D Foundation) 1:57
39 Caitlin Laroche (Rally Cycling)
40 Lori Nedescu (Rise Racing)
41 Beth Ann Orton (Hagens Berman / Supermint)
42 Shayna Powless (Sho - Air Twenty20)
43 Kat Salthouse (Landis/Trek Team)
44 Nicolle Bruderer (Team TIBCO - Silcon Valley Bank)
45 Jamie Gilgen (Rise Racing) all s.t.
46 Sofia Arreola Navarro (Sho - Air Twenty20) 2:21
47 Julyn Renee Aguila Hernandez (Conade-Visit Mexico-Specialized)
48 Ariadna Gutierrez Arzaluz (Conade-Visit Mexico-Specialized)
49 Liza Rachetto (Hagens Berman / Supermint) all s.t.
50 Sally Aston (Landis/Trek Team) 3:10
51 Maureen Mcauliffe (Landis/Trek Team) s.t.
52 Holly Breck (Sho - Air Twenty20) 3:12
53 Erica Zaveta (Cylance Pro Cycling) 3:19
54 Illi Gardner (Amy D Foundation) 4:09
55 Lauretta Hanson (Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team) 4:58
56 Lauren Hall (Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team)
57 Amber Pierce (Colavita/Bianchi USA) both s.t.
58 Amy Benner (Rally Cycling) 5:31
59 Allison Beveridge (Rally Cycling)
60 Aliya Traficante (Amy D Foundation) both s.t.
61 Kendelle Hodges (Colavita/Bianchi USA) 6:39
62 Maria Antonieta Gaxiola Gonzalez (Conade-Visit Mexico-Specialized) 7:27
63 Astrid Gassner (Colavita/Bianchi USA) 8:52


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.