Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


August 10/17 17:21 pm - Colorado Classic: Stage 1 Women's results

Posted by Editoress on 08/10/17

Poidevin Takes QoM Lead at Colorado

Amongst the sandstone formations within iconic Garden of the Gods Park, Stage 1 opened the Colorado Classic. Rally Cycling's Sara Poidevin put rival climbers on notice in the women's race by claiming the Queen of the Mountains jersey, and Emma White sprinted to a stellar third place finish. In torrential rain, Colin Joyce finished eighth in the sprint as Rob Britton and Sepp Kuss finished safely in the peloton.

Poidevin kicked off the day by grabbing maximum points in the Queen of the Mountains competition. She won both categorized climbs on the 61.7-kilometre route, taking the red climber's jersey at the end of the day. In the sprint for the line, U.S. U-23 Road Race Champion White debuted her new stars and stripes kit spectacularly, powering down the finishing straight to cross the line third, just behind Jennifer Valente (Sho-Air Twenty20) and Skylar Schneider (Iscorp Powered By Progress). Sara Bergen crossed the line ninth to give Rally Cycling two riders in the top ten.

"The plan for the day was to get to the finish and lead me out for the sprint," said White. "The leadout was perfect, and I just got swarmed by other teams. I ended up in third. I am happy with it, but it would have been nice to get the win. It's great that Sara (Poidevin) got the Queen of the Mountain's jersey. The QOM was not our primary objective as Sara is focused on the general classification. However, she was feeling great today and went for it. She is our girl for tomorrow."

With the objective of delivering White to the line, the women of Rally Cycling controlled the race and prevented any rider from gaining a meaningful advantage. The peloton was all together as the first Queen of the Mountains approached, and Poidevin launched off the front to take maximum points. A lap later, the entirety of Rally Cycling was called on to deliver Poidevin to the top of the mountain. With rivals looking to steal Poidevin's QOM lead, Bergen, Amy Benner, Allison Beveridge, and Kelly Catlin led the charge up the ascent with Poidevin in tow, helping her grab maximum points again. The quartet would again take to the front in the race's closing kilometres, giving White a near-perfect leadout and the team another podium.

In the men's race, Evan Huffman infiltrated the day's five-man breakaway and built a 3:15 gap on the peloton. As storms rolled in and the rain started to fall, the peloton began to close in on the breakaway. As torrential rain and wind pounded the riders, the gap plummeted and with 35 kilometres remaining the break was reabsorbed. As the peloton charged through the wet, slick streets of downtown Colorado Springs, the team moved Joyce and Shane Kline to the front for the sprint finale.

"We sent Huffman up the road and thought if the field gave them a sizeable lead then Evan could take a stab at the stage win," said Performance Manager Jonas Carney. "Unfortunately the break was too small, and the peloton kept it close. The rain didn't play much of a factor, other than making it a little sketchy coming into town. In the finale, we had Shane and Colin together but we didn't nail the lead out. We ended up top-ten when we were shooting for the win. Our general classification guys are in good position and tomorrow is going to be decisive for the overall."

Rally press release



Results from the first stage in Colorado

Stage 1: Colorado Springs circuit, 61.7 km
1 Jenn Valente (Sho-Air Twenty20) 1:33:00
2 Skylar Schneider (Iscorp Powered By Progress)
3 Emma White (Rally)
4 Heather Fischer (Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank)
5 Rebecca Wiasak (Fearless Femme)
6 Lauren Hall (Unitedhealthcare)
7 Samantha Schneider (Iscorp Powered By Progress)
8 Kendelle Hodges (Colavita/Bianchi)
9 Sara Bergen (Rally)
10 Jessica Mundy (Colavita/Bianchi)
11 Lily Williams (Fearless Femme)
12 Ruth Winder (Unitedhealthcare)
13 Katie Antonneau (Cylance)
14 Sara Poidevin (Rally)
15 Sofia Arreola (Sho-Air Twenty20)
16 Mikayla Harvey (Team Illuminate)
17 Beth Ann Orton (Amy D. Foundation)
18 Heidi Franz (Amy D. Foundation)
19 Flavia Oliveira (Fearless Femme)
20 Janelle Cole (Unitedhealthcare)
21 Caroline Mani (Palmares)
22 Jennifer Tetrick (Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank)
23 Megan Jastrab (Amy D. Foundation)
24 Nicolle Bruderer (Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank)
25 Emma Grant (Colavita/Bianchi)
26 Scotti Lechuga (Hagens Berman - Supermint)
27 Ariadna Gutierrez (Conade - Visit Mexico - Special)
28 Jessica Cerra (Hagens Berman - Supermint)
29 Alexandra Millard (Team Illuminate)
30 Tayler Wiles (Unitedhealthcare)
31 Katie Compton (Iscorp Powered By Progress)
32 Julie Emmerman (Visit Dallas Dna)
33 Allie Dragoo (Sho-Air Twenty20)
34 Leah Thomas (Sho-Air Twenty20)
35 Jen Luebke (Visit Dallas Dna)
36 Katie Hall (Unitedhealthcare)
37 Whitney Allison (Colavita/Bianchi)
38 Emily Newsom (Fearless Femme)
39 Abigail Mickey (Colavita/Bianchi)
40 Lucy Bechtel (Fearless Femme)
41 Stefanie Sydlik (Visit Dallas Dna)
42 Kelly Catlin (Rally)
43 Kat Salthouse (Amy D. Foundation)
44 Kathryn Buss (Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank)
45 Kristina Vrouwenvelder (Alps Cycles Womens Racing)
46 Veronica Leal (Conade - Visit Mexico - Special)
47 Josie Talbot (Iscorp Powered By Progress)
48 Alison Tetrick (Cylance)
49 Lynne Anderson (Alps Cycles Womens Racing)
50 Steph Roorda (Sho-Air Twenty20) all s.t.
51 Allison Beveridge (Rally) 0:10
52 Rushlee Buchanan (Unitedhealthcare) 0:14
53 Rachel Langdon (Iscorp Powered By Progress) s.t.
54 Rachel Plessing (Alps Cycles Womens Racing) 5:12
55 Jillian Bearden (Palmares) s.t.
56 Mandy Heintz (Visit Dallas Dna) 5:14
57 Astrid Gassner (Colavita/Bianchi)
58 Brianna Walle (Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank) both s.t.
59 Kathryn Donovan (Visit Dallas Dna) 7:14
60 Erica Clevenger (Visit Dallas Dna)
61 Grace Anderson (Team Illuminate)
62 Erika Varela (Conade - Visit Mexico - Special)
63 Shayna Powles (Sho-Air Twenty20) 7:26
64 Charlotte Backus (Amy D. Foundation)
65 Amy Benner (Rally)
66 Tracey Jacobs (Alps Cycles Womens Racing)
67 Cory Popovich (Alps Cycles Womens Racing)
68 Gwen Inglis (Palmares)
69 Jenna Stauffer (Palmares)
70 Julyn Aguila (Conade - Visit Mexico - Special)
71 Ana Hernandez (Conade - Visit Mexico - Special)
72 Hannah Shell (Iscorp Powered By Progress) 9:00
73 Emily Jordan (Palmares) 9:15
OTL Georgia Catterick (Team Illuminate)
OTL Kristie Arend (Alps Cycles Womens Racing)
OTL Michelle Henry (Palmares)
DNF Flora Yan (Fearless Femme)
DNF Antonieta Gaxiola (Conade - Visit Mexico - Special)
DNF Dani Morshead (Amy D. Foundation)
DNF Joelle Numainville (Cylance)


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.