Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


October 14/17 20:24 pm - Grand Prix of Gloucester: Day 1 results

Posted by Editoress on 10/14/17

New England and cyclocross have provided bicycle races that entertain and mean something for the past 18 years. The CRAFT Sportswear Gran Prix of Gloucester presented by Ipswich Ale Brewing did not disappoint for year 19, beginning Saturday with the first to two days of UCI Category 2 races. It was the opening weekend of competition for the Vittoria Northeast Cyclocross Series presented by Clif Bar and Cycle-Smart. Gloucester, as well a continuation for USA Cycling's Professional Cyclocross Calendar (ProCX).

In the Elite Women's race, Emma White (Cannondale/ would establish an early lead with Ellen Noble (Aspire Racing) and Canadian Christel Ferrier Bruneau (SAS-Macogep). The group of three would exchange the lead several times. With two laps to go, White would attack, with Noble the only rider to respond.

While Noble would put in several digs heading into the final lap, it would be White who pulled away in the final half lap at historic Sttage Fort Park for her second ProCX win of the season. Noble would finish 16 seconds back in second, and Ferrier Bruneau would finish 34 seconds back in third.

"There were three of us battling pretty hard throughout the race," said White, who finished second to Noble at this event last year. "We knew had to play it smart halfway through the race when we were all feeling pretty good. Ellen (Noble) put in a pretty big attack, dropped the third rider with us. So then it was just two of us. We were both feeling pretty strong, it was clear. Going into one to go, she put in a really big dig that got me, I was feeling it for sure. Really just had to be smooth through the corners. As soon as I caught up, I saw her breathing pretty heavily, so I left."

On the Elite Men's side, Emma's brother Curtis (Cannondale/ led the charge with a fast start, forcing a small group to form early on. White would later succomb to a flat tire, leaving the battle for the podium to be contested with Massachusetts teammates Jeremy Powers and Spencer Petrov of Aspire Racing against Tobin Ortenblad (Santa Cruz/Donkey Label Racing). Ortenblad would outkick the Aspire Racing duo in the final turns to win his fourth ProCX event this year. Petrov would finish four seconds back in second and Powers would cross the line nine seconds down for third. This was the third second-place finish for 10-year-old Petrov in a ProCX Elite Men's race this year.

"I still cannot believe how the season is unfolding. I've always wanted a win at the legendary Gloucester," said Ortenblad, who is the men's point leader for ProCX. "Patience was a big part of it. You're out there with two of the fastest guys and they're also on the same team so they definitely are working against you. Initially I went out a little hard, and then I saw that it was going to be a team thing at the end and really just tried to be patient."


Results from the first day of the  Grand Prix of Gloucester held at Stage Fort Park, in Gloucester, MA

Elite Women, 6 laps
1 Emma White (USA) Cannondale pb 0:44:37
2 Ellen Noble (USA) Aspire Racing at 0:16
3 Christel Ferrier Bruneau (Can) SAS-Macogep 0:34
4 Crystal Anthony (USA) Maxxis Shimano Pro Cyclocross 1:22
5 Julie Wright (USA) Team Averica 2:18
6 Regina Legge (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective 2:43
7 Allison Arensman (USA) J.A. King pb BR'C 3:10
8 Beth Ann Orton (USA) Team S&M CX 3:17
9 Laura Winberry (USA) Independent 3:20
11 Lynne Bessette (Can) 100B7.comFELT 3:53
12 Erin Faccone (USA) Team Averica 4:08
13 Natalie Tapias (USA) JAM NCC 4:20
14 Taylor Kuyk-White (USA) Philadelphia Bike Expo 4:25
15 Jauron Vetter (USA) Mad Alchemy | Zanconato 4:26
16 Leslie Lupien (USA) Team Averica 5:00
17 Katie Carlson (USA) Ladies First pb Milton Caterpil 5:05
18 Sophie Russenberger (USA) DaH+?NGER 5:25
19 Andrea Cox (USA) Riverside Racing 5:52
20 Christin Reuter (USA) Mad Alchemy | Zanconato 6:01
21 Alix Norris (USA) Cowbell Racing pb World Bicycle 6:36
22 Magdeleine Vallieres (Can) Club Cycliste de Sherbrooke 6:45
23 Kayla Brannen (USA) Cowbell Racing pb World Bicycle 7:02
24 Paige Williams (USA) Fuji Cross Crew 7:04
25 Natalie Forsythe (USA) Riverside Racing 7:14
26 Kathleen Wanat (USA) Bikes+Life 7:22
27 Alex Carlson (USA) Cycle-Smart 7:26
28 Meghan Owens (USA) UVM Cycling 7:35
29 Emily Molden (USA) Nantucket Velo 8:04
30 Elizabeth Lukowski (USA) Mad Alchemy | Zanconato 9:20
31 Jenny Wojewoda (USA) -2 Laps
32 Lydia Hausle (USA) Team Averica -2 Laps
33 Sara Melikian (USA) -2 Laps
DNF Melissa Seib (USA) UVM Cycling
Elite Men, 9 laps
1 Tobin Ortenblad (USA) Santa Cruz Donkey Label Racing 1:04:04
2 Spencer Petrov (USA) Aspire Racing at 0:04
3 Jeremy Powers (USA) Aspire Racing 0:09
4 Curtis White (USA) Cannondale pb Cyclocrossworld 0:32
5 Anthony Clark (USA) Squid Squad 0:37
6 Jack Kisseberth (USA) JAM NCC 0:47
7 Cooper Willsey (USA) Cannondale pb cyclocrossworld.c 1:42
8 Justin Lindine (USA) Apex NBX Hyperthreads 1:49
9 Scott Smith (USA) JAM NCC 2:48
10 Andy Scott (USA) Riverside Racing 3:02
11 Peter Goguen (USA) Race C.F. 3:58
13 Cameron Beard (USA) Cannondale Cyclocrosworld.comDe 4:43
14 Dylan Mcnicholas (USA) POLARTEC 4:45
15 Nicholas Lando (USA) Elite Pro Factory 4:47
16 Jules Goguely (USA) Apex NBX Hyperthreads 5:07
17 Michael Owens (USA) Hands-On Cycling pb Guerciotti 5:23
18 Brendan Mccormack (USA) ApexNBXHyperthreads 5:52
19 Kale Wenczel (USA) JAM NCC 6:01
20 Clyde Logue (USA) Colonial Bicycle Co 6:08
21 Marc-Andre Daigle (Can) Garneau Easton 6:16
22 Zachary Curtis (USA) BMB Racing 6:20
23 Patrick Collins (USA) Minuteman Road Club 6:23
24 Andrew Borden (USA) X-Men s.t.
25 Christopher Rabadi (USA) Unattached 6:25
26 Chris Niesen (USA) JAM NCC 6:49
27 Scott Myers (USA) Independent 7:03
28 Ben Powers (USA) Riverside Racing 7:05
29 Bryan Horsley (USA) Sea Sports Cyclery & Outdoor s.t.
30 Matthew Owens (USA) UVM Cycling 7:46
31 Andrew Loaiza (USA) Cyclepath PDX -1 Lap
32 Gregg Griffo (USA) Park Ave Bike pb Borah Teamwear -1 Lap
33 Bradford Smith (USA) The Drifters -1 Lap
34 Trent Blackburn (USA) JAM NCC -1 Lap
35 Gennaro Ameno (USA) GREEN LINE VELO driven by Zipca -1 Lap
36 Colin Reuter (USA) -1 Lap
37 Tim Willis (USA) JAM NCC -2 Laps
38 Bjorn Selander (USA) Independent -2 Laps
39 Christian Sundquist (USA) Independent -2 Laps
40 Wilson Stevens (USA) Local Openers pb Tenspeed Hero -2 Laps
41 Edouard Tougas (Can) Independent -2 Laps
42 Daniel Fitzgibbons (USA) GREEN LINE VELO driven by Zipca -2 Laps
43 Matthew Tyler (USA) Laughing Dog Bicycles -2 Laps
44 Eneas Freyre (USA) TTEndurance -2 Laps
45 Benjamin Coleman (USA) BMB Racing -2 Laps
46 Matt Perreault (USA) Colonial Bicycle Company -2 Laps
47 Evan McNeely (Can) Ride with Rendall -2 Laps
48 Cesar Gallego (USA) KING KOG SUN AND AIR -3 Laps
49 Doug Thorp (USA) Colonial Bicycle Company -3 Laps
50 Christopher Merola (USA) Laughing Dog -3 Laps
51 Theodore Willard (USA) Team Spark -3 Laps
52 Jean-Philippe Thibault-Roberge (Can) Trek Cyclocross Collective -4 Laps
DNF Benjamin Ryan (USA) New England Devo pb Cadence Wea
DNF Adam Myerson (USA) Cycle-Smart
DNF Nathaniel Morse (USA) CCB - Velotooler
DNF Ian Clarke (USA) UVM Cycling
DNF Alexander Chrystall (USA) New England Devo pb Cadence Wea
DNF Gregory Colby (USA) B2C2JRA Cycles



Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.