Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


May 30/18 16:10 pm - Masters Road Nationals in Victoria This Weekend

Posted by Editor on 05/30/18

The Robert W. Cameron Law Cycling Series p/b Jim Pattison Lexus and the 2018 Global Relay Canadian Masters Road Cycling Championships will take place in Victoria, BC, on June 1-3.

"Cycling has grown exponentially in North America and next weekend, we'll see local masters cyclists compete against the best in the country," says Robert W. Cameron Law Cycling Series p/b Jim Pattison Lexus title sponsor and veteran cyclist Robert Cameron. "The decision by Cycling Canada to crown our series as the national masters cycling championships for the next two years speaks to the success of this series and Victoria's enthusiasm for the sport."

Cycling Canada CEO and Secretary-General Pierre Lafontaine agrees. "This is a remarkable opportunity to showcase Canada's top masters cyclists and what better place to do it than on Canada's spectacular west coast."

"British Columbians of all ages and abilities take advantage of our province's cycling infrastructure and the first-class events," says Cycling BC Executive Director, Erin Waugh. "The races in Victoria and Metchosin are milestones on the cycling race calendar."

"Outside of the time trial, which required a longer course, the masters competitors will be on the same roads that have hosted our cycling series for many years," says Race Director Jon Watkin. "For our visitors across Canada, there is so much here to offer including the Oak Bay Tea Party, the inner harbour landmarks and the incredible Metchosin rural beauty - all which are steps away from the weekend's activities."

"This series has been a springboard for world-class riders," adds Watkin. "It's just fortuitous fate that many of our B.C. masters cyclists like Mick Bryson, Eugene Hahn, Nick Rowe, and Paul Taylor are still fierce competitors and are returning to where it all began."

The action starts Friday at 4 pm at Clover Point, where the EnergyLab Dallas Road Time Trial returns to the waterfront along Dallas Road to Beach Drive for a two-lap 21-kilometre race against the clock. The time trial features para-cyclists, Canadian Masters Championship, Junior, Elite and other soloists racing at breakneck speeds of up to 60 km/hr. along Victoria's scenic oceanfront.

Saturday's action remains rooted in Metchosin where again, the Motus Design Cycling Classic will put cyclists to the test on Metchosin's gruelling hills. At stake is the Global Relay Canadian Masters Road Cycling Championship title. The action starts at 7:30 a.m. at Hans Helgesen Elementary School in Metchosin - the final masters race is expected to end around 2 p.m.

And Sunday, in addition to the day-long racing Russ Hay's Grand Prix and Global Relay Canadian Masters Criterium Cycling Championships events, the Legislature-loop course will also feature the Broad Street Cycle Fixed Gear Criterium where cyclists ride with only one gear and no brakes.

As well, the kid-popular, crowd-favourite, Tim Hortons Timbit Challenge - a non-competitive ride for kids aged 3 - 10 - will kick off at 12:30 p.m.

The 2018 Robert W. Cameron Law Cycling Series include:

• EnergyLab Dallas Road Time Trial, Friday, June 1 (4 pm to 9 p.m.) Dallas Road / Beach Drive
• Motus Design Cycling Classic/ Global Relay Canadian Masters Road Cycling Championship, Saturday, June 2 (starting at 7:30 a.m. to about approximately 2 p.m.) at Liberty Road in Metchosin
• Russ Hay's Grand Prix / Global Relay Canadian Masters Criterium Cycling Championship - Sunday, June 3 (starting at 8 a.m. with Masters championships, youth and category races through the day; the women's elite race at 3:45 p.m. and the men's elite, starting at 4:45 pm)
• Tim Hortons Timbits Challenge - June 3, (starting at 12:30 p.m. at the Legislature Buildings, free event for kids aged 3- 10)
• Broad Street Cycle Fixed Gear Criterium - June 3, fixed gear race starting at 6.p.m.

Visit the website at


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.