Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


August 16/18 15:12 pm - Canada Sends Team of 29 Riders to Baie Comeau Para World Cup

Posted by Editoress on 08/16/18

After a strong showing at the UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships, where Canada won seven medals, including four gold, Cycling Canada will conclude the para-cycling road season on home soil in Baie Comeau, Quebec, for the third and final round of the Road World Cup.  Canada will send a team of 30 riders across all categories, including the three newly titled world champions.

"We are very excited to race on home soil in Baie Comeau!," said Sebastien Travers, national para coach at Cycling Canada  "Coming back from a strong Road World Championships, we look forward to performing at home.  This World Cup is also an amazing opportunity for NextGen and Devo athletes to be exposed to their first international events.  Since 2010, the people of Baie Comeau have always been invested in this event and we can't wait to go back."

The team will be led world champions Shelley Gautier of Toronto, double gold medalist at the world championships in Women's T1; Tristen Chernove of Cranbrook, BC, gold and silver medalist in Men's C2; and Michael Sametz of Calgary, gold medalist in Men's C3.

Athletes will compete in time trial events on Thursday and Friday, followed by the road races on Saturday and Sunday.

Myriam Adam - H3 [Saguenay, QC]
Annie Bouchard - Tandem [Baie-St-Paul, QC]
Evelyne Gagnon - Tandem Pilot [Montreal, QC]
Nicole Clermont - C5 [St Denis de Brompton]
Marie-Eve Croteau - T2 [Quebec City, QC]
Holly Dapp - H2 [Fort Erie, ON]
Kara Douville - H4 [Calgary, AB]
Shelley Gautier - T1 [Toronto, ON]
Marie-Claude Molnar - C4 [St Hubert, QC]
Carla Shibley - Tandem [Calgary, AB]
Erin Ruttan - Tandem Pilot [Calgary, AB]
Robbi Weldon - Tandem [Ottawa, ON]
Anais Courteille - Tandem Pilot [Gatineau, QC]

Daniel Chalifour - Tandem [Mont-Laurier, QC]
Jean Michel Lachance - Tandem Pilot [Quebec City, QC]
Tristen Chernove - C2 [Cranbrook, BC]
Mathieu Croteau Daigle - Tandem [Sherbrooke, QC]
Benoit Lussier - Tandem Pilot [Montreal, QC]
Joey Desjardins - H3 [Hawksbury, ON]
Patrick Desnoyers - H5 [Blainville, QC]
Alex Hyndman - H3 [Morpeth, ON]
Matthew Kinnie - H2 [Riverview, NB]
Charles Moreau - H3 [Victoriaville, QC]
Eric Page - H2 [Gatineau, QC]
Michael Sametz - C3 [Calgary, AB]
Mike Shetler - T2 [Kirkland, QC]
Lowell Taylor - Tandem [Lethbridge, AB]
Andrew Davidson - Tandem Pilot [Calgary, AB]
Ross Wilson - C1 [Sherwood Park, AB]


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.