Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


August 17/18 15:55 pm - Ladies Tour of Norway: Stage 1 results

Posted by Editoress on 08/17/18

Last years winner and three times World Champion Marianne Vos (Waowdeals Pro Cycling Team) won both the stage and took the overall lead in the Ladies Tour of Norway on the 1st stage after 127.7 km run between Rakkestad and Mysen. It was a close call for lone breakaway-rider Karol-Ann Canuel (Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam) who came close to holding off the chasers bearing down on her as she drew close to the line.

"Last year I didn’t make any good result here. I was to far behind into the uphill finish. But I learned something from that and now I was in a better position, even though it was very unsure if we should catch Karol-Ann", said Vos who just managed to edge out the Swedish champion Emilia Fahlin by a few centimeters.

A lot of wind and a lot of hills caused many splits in the peloton during the first part of the stage, but then 33 riders got a gap between Spydeberg and Askim and Canuel attacked before the final two laps and eventually a gap of over 1 minute.

Floortje Mackaij (Team Sunweb) tried to get up to her, but she couldn’t quite make it. Instead it was Mitchelton-Scott with Annemiek van Vleuten and Amanda Spratt who worked to reel in Canuel then set up Grace Elvin in the sprint.

But when the riders arrived at the uphill finish, Marianne Vos had placed herself in a perfect position. With the victory on the stage and after taking both of the intermediate sprints the reining champion has taken a grip on the race even with two stages left.

Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Canyon//SRAM Racing) has the KoM jersey, while Italian Chiara Consonni (Valcar PBM) takes the lead in the best young rider competition. Susanne Andersen (Hitec Products-Birk Sport) was the best Norwegian.



Stage 1: Rakkestad to Mysen,127.7 km
1 Marianne Vos (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling Team 3:18:03
2 Emilia Fahlin (Swe) Wiggle High5
3 Coryn Rivera (USA) Team Sunweb
4 Gracie Elvin (Aus) Mitchelton Scott Women
5 Chloe Hosking (Aus) Ale Cipollini
6 Malgorzata Jasinska (Pol) Movistar Team Women
7 Eva Buurman (Ned) Trek-Drops
8 Christine Majerus (Lux) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
9 Chiara Consonni (Ita) Valcar PBM
10 Aude Biannic (Fra) Movistar Team Women
11 Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Wiggle High5
12 Leah Kirchmann (Can) Team Sunweb
13 Rozanne Slik (Ned) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
14 Alison Jackson (Can) Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank
15 Eugenia Bujak (Slo) BTC City Ljubljana
16 Margarita Victoria Garcia (Esp) Movistar Team Women
17 Alexis Ryan (USA) Canyon//SRAM Racing
18 Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol) Canyon//SRAM Racing
19 Karol-Ann Canuel (Can) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
20 Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned) Mitchelton Scott Women
21 Jeanne Korevaar (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling Team
22 Elena Pirrone (Ita) Astana Women's Team
23 Soraya Paladin (Ita) Ale Cipollini
24 Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
25 Amanda Spratt (Aus) Mitchelton Scott Women
26 Moniek Tenniglo (Ned) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
27 Liane Lippert (Ger) Team Sunweb
28 Lucinda Brand (Ned) Team Sunweb
29 Floortje Mackaij (Ned) Team Sunweb all s.t.
30 Hanna Nilsson (Swe) BTC City Ljubljana 0:43
31 Maria Novolodskaya (Rus) Cogeas 0:47
32 Ane Santesteban (Esp) Ale Cipollini 1:35
33 Ruth Winder (USA) Team Sunweb 2:07
34 Amalie Dideriksen (Den) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam 2:24
35 Susanne Andersen (Nor) Hitec Products-Birk Sport
36 Christina Malling Siggaard (Den) Team Virtu Cycling
37 Danielle Rowe (GBr) Waowdeals Pro Cycling Team
38 Kelly Van Den Steen (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies
39 Lisa Klein (Ger) Canyon//SRAM Racing
40 Lotte Kopecky (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies
41 Abby-Mae Parkinson (GBr) Trek-Drops
42 Sofia Bertizzolo (Ita) Astana Women's Team
43 Stine Borgli (Nor) Norway
44 Lara Vieceli (Ita) Astana Women's Team
45 Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Ita) Valcar PBM
46 Karlijn Swinkels (Ned) Ale Cipollini
47 Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Canyon//SRAM Racing
48 Sara Penton (Swe) Team Virtu Cycling
49 Katia Ragusa (Ita) BePink
50 Sara Mustonen Lichan (Swe) Sweden
51 Christa Riffel (Ger) Canyon//SRAM Racing
52 Kathrin Hammes (Ger) Trek-Drops
53 Birgitte Ravndal (Nor) Norway
54 Anouska Koster (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling Team
55 Ingrid Drexel (Mex) Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank
56 Anastasiia Iakovenko (Rus) BTC City Ljubljana
57 Alicia Gonzalez (Esp) Movistar Team Women
58 Polona Batagelj (Slo) BTC City Ljubljana
59 Greta Richioud (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
60 Lourdes Oyarbide (Esp) Movistar Team Women
61 Silvia Persico (Ita) Valcar PBM
62 Kirsten Wild (Ned) Wiggle High5
63 Edwige Pitel (Fra) Cogeas
64 Riejanne Markus (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling Team
65 Urska Pintar (Slo) BTC City Ljubljana
66 Ilaria Sanguineti (Ita) Valcar PBM
67 Hannah Payton (GBr) Trek-Drops
68 Alexandra Manly (Aus) Mitchelton Scott Women
69 Katrine Aalerud (Nor) Team Virtu Cycling
70 Lauren Kitchen (Aus) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
71 Agua Marina Espinola (Par) Cogeas
72 Brodie Chapman (Aus) Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank
73 Trixi Worrack (Ger) Canyon//SRAM Racing
74 Dalia Muccioli (Ita) Valcar PBM
75 Vita Heine (Nor) Hitec Products-Birk Sport
76 Asja Paladin (Ita) Valcar PBM
77 Rachel Neylan (Aus) Movistar Team Women
78 Sara Olsson (Swe) Sweden
79 Ingrid Lorvik (Nor) Hitec Products-Birk Sport
80 Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) BePink
81 Anna Christian (GBr) Trek-Drops all s.t.
82 Skylar Schneider (USA) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam 2:44
83 Anna Trevisi (Ita) Ale Cipollini s.t.
84 Mieke Kröger (Ger) Team Virtu Cycling 6:34
85 Julie Van De Velde (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies 7:57
86 Nicole Steigenga (Ned) BePink
87 Alexandra Nessmar (Swe) Sweden
88 Maelle Grossetete (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
89 Louise Norman Hansen (Den) Team Virtu Cycling
90 Anabelle Dreville (Fra) Lotto Soudal Ladies
91 Julie Leth (Den) Wiggle High5
92 Ingrid Moe (Nor) Norway
93 Shannon Malseed (Aus) Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank
94 Silvia Valsecchi (Ita) BePink
95 Annette Edmondson (Aus) Wiggle High5
96 Roxane Knetemann (Ned) Ale Cipollini
97 Paulien Rooijakkers (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling Team all s.t.
98 Jessica Allen (Aus) Mitchelton Scott Women 8:04
99 Lucy Kennedy (Aus) Mitchelton Scott Women s.t.
100 Karina Kasenova (Rus) Cogeas 10:42
101 Grace Garner (GBr) Wiggle High5 13:02
102 Abigail Van Twisk (GBr) Trek-Drops
103 Thea Thorsen (Nor) Hitec Products-Birk Sport
104 Ingvild Gåskjenn (Nor) Hitec Products-Birk Sport
105 Anna Plichta (Pol) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam all s.t.
106 Hedda Wallstrom Johansen (Nor) Norway 16:02
107 Teniel Campbell (Tto) Cogeas
108 Francesca Pattaro (Ita) BePink
109 Martina Alzini (Ita) Astana Women's Team
110 Caroline Thorvik Olsen (Nor) Norway
111 Clara Lundmark (Swe) Sweden
112 Valentina Scandolara (Ita) Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank all s.t.
DNF Maaike Boogaard (Ned) BTC City Ljubljana
DNF Line Marie Gulliksen (Nor) Hitec Products-Birk Sport
DNF Emilie Moberg (Nor) Team Virtu Cycling
DNF Maria Vittoria Sperotto (Ita) BePink
DNF Elizaveta Oshurkova (Rus) Cogeas
DNF Karina Birkenes (Nor) Norway
DNF Matilda Frantzich (Swe) Sweden
DNF Frida Knutsson (Swe) Sweden
DNS Nicolle Bruderer Cofino (Gua) Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.