Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


August 17/18 21:40 pm - Canada Wins 5 Medals on Day 2 of Para Road World Cup

Posted by Editoress on 08/17/18

Canada won five medals on Friday at Round 3 of the UCI Para-cycling Road World Cup in Baie Comeau, Quebec, adding to the two medals they won on Thursday.  Canada is now fourth in the medal standings, with three gold, one silver and three bronze medals.

World champion Michael Sametz of Calgary won his men's C3 time trial to give Canada its third gold medal.  In other medal performances, Tristen Chernove of Cranbrook, BC, won silver in the C2 men's time trial, while bronze medals went to Ross Wilson of Edmonton in the men's C1, Marie-Claude Molnar of St-Hubert, Quebec, in women's C4, and the men's tandem team of Daniel Chalifour (Mont-Laurier, Quebec, and his pilot Jean Michel Lachance of Quebec City.

"It was a good race for us, although we had a bit of stress at the start with a mechanical problem," said Lachance.  "It was a technical course, but we climbed pretty well and had a smooth ride."

"Our motivation was at the top with the home crowd cheering for us," said Chalifour.  "The last year has been very tough for me, after my crash in Italy and the two surgeries I had to my hips.  So to finish third here is very, very nice."

In other Canadian results, Nicole Clermont of St Denis de Brompton, Quebec, was fifth in C5 women, and in women's tandem, Robbi Weldon (Ottawa) and Anais Courteille (Gatineau, Quebec) were fourth, the Calgary team of Carla Shibley and Erin Ruttan fifth, and Annie Bouchard (Baie-St-Paul, QC) and Evelyne Gagnon (Montreal) sixth, after two flats.  In men's tandem, Matthieu Croteau Daigle (Sherbrooke, QC) and Benoit Lussier (Montreal) were 11th, and Lowell Taylor (Lethbridge, AB) and Andrew Davidson (Calgary) were 13th after a flat.


Baie Comeau Para World Cup Day 2 results


Two Medals for Canada on Opening Day of Baie Comeau Para World Cup


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.