Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


July 19/19 11:41 am - Cycling Canada Announces Team for BMX World Championships

Posted by Editoress on 07/19/19

Cycling Canada is pleased to announce the athletes who have been selected to represent Canada at the BMX World Championships in Zolder, Belgium, on July 23-27, with a total of nine riders representing Canada in the Elite and Junior classes.
Drew Mechielsen and Daina Tuchscherer, who are currently ranked among the top-25 in the world, will be looking for strong finishes in the Elite women’s category after taking gold and silver last weekend at the Canadian BMX Championships. They will be joined by Canadian champion James Palmer and Gaby Malenfant in the Elite men’s field. Tory Nyhaug, Alex Tougas and Ryan Tougas were all selected to the team, but had to decline due to injuries.


Drew Michielson (155) Daina Tuchschere (49)

James Palmer


Gaby Malenfant


James Hedgcock


Curtis Krey

Adam Muys, National BMX Coach, said "I’m looking forward to good performances from our athletes; we have been working on several skills and tactics over the last few months to help us achieve our performance goals. The team trained on this track earlier this spring and are familiar with the facilities, which will be an asset."
The team will be joined by a number of additional Challenge class athletes.


2019 BMX World Championship Team – Elite and Junior
Elite Men
Gaby Malenfant – Drummondville, QC
James Palmer – North Vancouver, BC
Elite Women
Daina Tuchscherer – Calgary, AB
Drew Mechielsen – Langley, BC
Junior Men
Curtis Krey – Etobicoke, ON
James Hedgcock – Ancaster, ON
Junior Women
Lauren Webber – Ottawa, ON
Molly Simpson – Red Deer, AB
Violet Cejavlo – Langley, BC
NextGen Athletes competing in Challenge World Championships:
Cole Zufelt – Trenton, ON
Edouard Proulx – Saint-Valérien, QC
Teigan Pascual – Squamish, BC


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.