Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


August 9/19 16:15 pm - Ferrand Prevot Wins Lenzerheide Short Track

Posted by Editoress on 08/9/19

One week after winning her first cross-country World Cup since 2015, Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Canyon Factory) showed that it was not a fluke by winning Round 6 of the Short Track in Lenzerheide, Switzerland; her first win in the new discipline.  Emily Batty (Trek Factory) was the top Canadian, finishing in 15th place.



Photo Gallery

Held on a tight, twisty circuit at 1500 metres of altitude, the race saw a group of ten riders still in contention with three laps to go in the 20 minute race.  Ferrand Prevot had sat in the middle of the group, rejoining the leaders after crashing on the first lap.  She began to to accelerate the pace, and the only riders able to go with her in the final lap were World Cup leader Jolanda Neff (Trek Factory) and Swedish champion Jenny Rissveds.  Ferrand Prevot got the inside line on the sweeping curve into the finish, crossing the line half a bike length ahead of Neff.




Photo Gallery


"It was incredible to win because I crashed on the first lap and was back in 12th position," said Ferrand Prevot.  "I came back, but it was so hard.  I knew that I could not give up so I went full gas.  For the sprint, since I won [the XCO World Cup] last week against Jolanda, I had some confidence, and I just gave it everything."

Besides Batty, there were three other Canadians in the race - Catharine Pendrel (Clif Pro) was 19th, Sandra Walter (Team Canada) 22nd and Haley Smith (Norco Factory) 37th.

With her second place, Neff padded her lead in the overall rankings ahead of former leader Kate Courtney (Scott-SRAM), while Ferrand Prevot moved up one spot to third overall.  Smith remains the top Canadian overall, in tenth place.  Pendrel drops one spot to 11th, while Batty moves up a spot to 23rd and Walter gains three spots, to 30th.


Women, 9 laps
1 Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) Canyon Factory Downhill Team 0:21:38
2 Jolanda Neff (Sui) Trek Factory Racing XC at s.t.
3 Jenny Rissveds (Swe) 0:01
4 Anne Tauber (Ned) CST Sandd Bafang MTB Racing Team 0:02
5 Chloe Woodruff (USA) Team Usa 0:09
6 Rebecca Ellen Mcconnell (Aus) Primaflor Mondraker Rotor 0:10
7 Anne Terpstra (Ned) Ghost Factory Racing 0:11
8 Alessandra Keller (Sui) Thömus RN Swiss Bike Team 0:12
9 Kate Courtney (USA) Scott-SRAM MTB Racing 0:26
10 Lea Davison (USA) Team Usa 0:28
11 Jitka Cabelicka (Cze) Gapp System-Cabtech MTB Racing 0:31
12 Candice Lill (RSA) Brujula Bike Racing Team 0:32
13 Annika Langvad (Den) Specialized Racing 0:35
14 Sina Frei* (Sui) Ghost Factory Racing 0:36
15 Emily Batty (Can) Trek Factory Racing XC 0:36
16 Annie Last (GBr) KMC-Ekoi-Orbea 0:38
17 Tanja Zakelj (Slo) Unior / Devinci Factory Racing 0:39
18 Chiara Teocchi (Ita) Bianchi Countervail 0:49
19 Catharine Pendrel (Can) Clif Pro 0:49
20 Eva Lechner (Ita) 0:55
21 Elisabeth Brandau (Ger) 0:59
22 Sandra Walter (Can) Team Canada 1:06
23 Linda Indergand (Sui) Superior XC Team 1:11
24 Julie Bresset (Fra) BMC Mountainbike Racing Team 1:20
25 Kathrin Stirnemann (Sui) Thömus RN Swiss Bike Team 1:25
26 Paula Gorycka (Pol) Strüby-Bixs Team 1:37
27 Githa Michiels (Bel) Primaflor Mondraker Rotor 1:41
28 Lotte Koopmans (Ned) 1:53
29 Rocio Del Alba Garcia Martinez* (Esp) Bh Templo Cafés Ucc 1:54
30 Irina Kalentyeva (Rus) Moebel Maerki MTB Pro Team 1:54
31 Cherie Redecker (RSA) -2 laps
32 Aleksandra Podgorska (Pol) Volkswagen Samochody Uzytkowe MTB Team -2 laps
33 Jovana Crnogorac (Srb) Bike Way Racing Team -2 laps
34 Adelheid Morath (Ger) -2 laps
35 Sabrina Enaux (Fra) -2 laps
36 Elisabeth Osl (Aut) JB Brunex Felt Factory Team -2 laps
37 Haley Smith (Can) Norco Factory Team -3 laps
38 Mariske Strauss (RSA) -3 laps
DNF Isla Short (GBr)
DNF Sophie Von Berswordt (Ned) JB Brunex Felt Factory Team



Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.