Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


July 5/22 12:33 pm - 24 National Masters Road Titles Awarded in Victoriaville

Posted by Editor on 07/5/22

Canadian Road titles in three events across eight categories (four each for women and men) were awarded at the 2022 Canadian Masters Road Championships, which were held on July 1-4 in Victoriaville, Quebec. Over 300 participants aged 35-65+ from across the country competed in the Time Trial, Road Race and Criterium, with individuals also taking part in the seventh edition of the Appalachian Classic on Sunday.

The Championships kicked off on Friday with the Time Trial, where riders tackled a 23.7-kilometre loop on the outskirts of Victoriaville. The following day, athletes competed in the Road Race over distances ranging from 85 to 132 kilometres on a hilly and punchy course, with harsh winds making the competition even more challenging. The weekend concluded on Monday with the Criterium event in the heart of the city, each category racing on the same 1.38-kilometre urban circuit for 40 minutes plus five laps.

Several familiar faces landed on the top step of the podium throughout the weekend, including 2016 Elite Canadian Road Champion Bruno Langlois, 65+ Canadian Esports Champion Anna Tykoliz, Canadian Track medallist Steve McKee, as well as 2021 Time Trial Champions Nancy Gillan and Paolina Allan.

"I was here last year and I won the race so I knew the course, but this year was definitely harder," commented Langlois. "It was the perfect course for me, even with some gravel that brings an extra challenge with equipment; choosing the right tires, the right lane. My legs were pretty good, I fed well and was able to attack with 30 kilometres to go; I'm not a sprinter so I knew I needed to win solo. The organization was great, and I really hope all the championships will be as challenging as this one."

The event was part of the Gran Fondo World Series (GFWS) and gave Masters athletes a chance to qualify for the UCI Gran Fondo World Championships in both the Time Trial and Road Race events.

Time Trial  *Full results below
Masters A: 1. Louis Bussières 2. Cory Jay 3. Israël Gagné
Masters B: 1. Mark Sherboneau 2. Robin Pichette 3. Serghei Maximenco
Masters C: 1. Virgil Popescu 2. Lorenzo Caterini 3. Henry Tambor
Masters D: 1. Alain Goulet 2. Joel Katz 3. Robert Anderson
Masters E: 1. Nancy Gillan
Masters F: 1. Paolina Allan 2. Caroline Longchamp 3. Lorie Cochrane
Masters G: 1. Nathalie Champagne 2. Diane Bomans 3. Karen Paterson
Masters H: 1. Anna Tykoliz

Road Race
Masters A: 1. Bruno Langlois 2. Cory Jay 3. Jeff Muise
Masters B: 1. Dominic Chalifoux 2. Bruce Bird 3. Eric Loiselle
Masters C: 1. Pascal Herve 2. Uli Mayer 3. Miguel Sanchez
Masters D: 1. Robert Anderson 2. Eric Magnoux 3. Alain Goulet
Masters E: 1. Marie-Hélène Carrier 2. Paule Levasseur 3. Nancy Gillan
Masters F: 1. Caroline Longchamp 2. Caroline Montminy 3. Paolina Allan
Masters G: 1. Nathalie Champagne 2. Dawn Heinemeyer 3. Karen Paterson
Masters H: 1. Anna Tykoliz

Masters A: 1. Jeremie Fontanaud 2. Jeff Schiller 3. Jean-Philippe Venne
Masters B: 1. Steve McKee 2. François Doyon 3. Hughes Joannis
Masters C: 1. Uli Mayer 2. Stéphane Le Beau 3. Daniel Therer
Masters D: 1. Glenn Schneider 2. Cornelius Groeneveld 3. Mark Herbst
Masters F: 1. Leslie Horn 2. Josée Rossignol 3. Amy White
Masters G: 1. Dawn Heinemeyer 2. Shelly Christensen
Masters H: 1. Anna Tykoliz


Full results


Road Races




Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.