Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


July 8/22 20:37 pm - First Time Winners at Lenzerheide XCC

Posted by Editoress on 07/8/22

Round 5 of the Mountain Bike World Cup in Lenzerheide, Switzerland, opened on Friday with the Short Track (XCC). Two first time winners for this new standalone World Cup series took the top spot on the podium, with Jenny Rissveds (Team 31 Ibis) winning the women's race, while Filippo Colombo (BMC MTB) took the men's.

Rissveds broke away from the lead group of contenders halfway through the ten lap race, extending her lead to 12 seconds by the start of the last lap. The chase group was led by Alessandra Keller (Thömus Maxon), ahead of Jolanda Neff (Trek Factory Racing XC), Pauline Ferrand Prevot (BMC MTB Racin and Loana Lecomte (Canyon CLICTV). Keller made a massive effort on the last lap, but it wasn't quite enough to catch Rissveds, with Neff taking third. The only Canadian in the race, national XCC champion Sandra Walter (Liv Collective), finished 32nd. In the overall standings for both the XCC and the XCO, Rebecca McConnell (Primaflora Mondraker Genuins) continues to lead the standings with Keller in second, but Rissveds jumps from eighth to third (as well as third in the XCO).

The men's race came down to a similar group of five - Colombo, Mathias Flüeckiger (Thömus Maxon), Alan Hatherly (Cannondale Factory Racing), Nino Schurter (Scott-SRAM MTB Racing Team) and Luca Braidot (Santa Cruz FSA MTB Pro Team). After Braidot was dropped the other four battled it out for the win. Colombo, recently crowned Swiss XCC champion, led for almost the entire last lap and Flueckiger could not come around him. Hatherly, winner of Round 1, took third. The only Canadian in the race, Leandre Bouchard (Foresco Holding Proco RL), was 34th. Flueckiger moves in to the overall lead of the XCC series, ahead of Hatherly. There is no change to the XCO standings, with Schurter still the leader.


Results from XCC races at Lenzerheide, Switzerland

Women, 9 laps
1 Jenny Rissveds (Swe) Team 31 Ibis Cycles 0:20:30
2 Alessandra Keller (Sui) Thömus Maxon at 0:01
3 Jolanda Neff (Sui) Trek Factory Racing XC 0:02
4 Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) BMC MTB Racing 0:03
5 Loana Lecomte (Fra) Canyon CLICTV 0:11
6 Anne Terpstra (Ned) Ghost Factory Racing 0:24
7 Kate Courtney (USA) Scott-SRAM MTB Racing Team 0:26
8 Martina Berta (Ita) Santa Cruz FSA MTB Pro Team 0:26
9 Sina Frei (Sui) Specialized Factory Racing 0:28
10 Greta Seiwald (Ita) Santa Cruz FSA MTB Pro Team 0:33
11 Rebecca McConnell (Aus) Primaflor Mondraker Genuins 0:34
12 Mona Mitterwallner (Aut) Cannondale Factory Racing 0:34
13 Anne Tauber (Ned) CST Postnl Bafang MTB Racing Team 0:37
14 Haley Batten (USA) Specialized Factory Racing 0:42
15 Linda Indergand (Sui) LIV Factory Racing 0:45
16 Nicole Koller (Sui) Ghost Factory Racing 0:47
17 Laura Stigger (Aut) Specialized Factory Racing 0:53
18 Léna Gerault (Fra) Ktm Vittoria Team 0:55
19 Gwendalyn Gibson (USA) Norco Factory Team 0:55
20 Jitka Cábelická (Cze) Gapp System - Kolofix Mtb Racing Team 1:06
21 Ramona Forchini (Sui) Jb Brunex Superior Factory Racing 1:09
22 Malene Degn (Den) KMC - Orbea 1:10
23 Leonie Daubermann (Ger) Ktm Factory Mtb Team 1:15
24 Caroline Bohé (Den) Ghost Factory Racing 1:20
25 Daniela Campuzano Chavez Peon (Mex) 1:30
26 Linn Gustafzzon (Swe) Team 31 Ibis Cycles 1:30
27 Giorgia Marchet (Ita) Trinx Factory Team -1 Lap
28 Nadine Rieder (Ger) Ghost Factory Racing -1 Lap
29 Eva Lechner (Ita) Trinx Factory Team -1 Lap
30 Lotte Koopmans (Ned) CST Postnl Bafang MTB Racing Team -1 Lap
31 Isla Short (GBr) -2 Laps
32 Sandra Walter (Can) LIV Collective -2 Laps
33 Lia Schrievers (Ger) -2 Laps
34 Nina Benz (Ger) Lexware Mountainbike Team -2 Laps
35 Candice Lill (RSA) -2 Laps
36 Tereza Tvaruzková (Cze) Expres CZ - Tufo Team Kolín -2 Laps
37 Raiza Goulao Henrique (Bra) -3 Laps
38 Emeline Detilleux (Bel) Rockrider Racing Team -3 Laps
39 Rocio Del Alba Garcia Martinez (Esp) BH Templo Cafés UCC -4 Laps
40 Jana Czeczinkarová (Cze) -5 Laps
Men, 10 laps
1 Filippo Colombo (Sui) BMC MTB Racing 0:19:50
2 Mathias Flückiger (Sui) Thömus Maxon at 0:00
3 Alan Hatherly (RSA) Cannondale Factory Racing 0:00
4 Nino Schurter (Sui) Scott-SRAM MTB Racing Team 0:01
5 Luca Braidot (Ita) Santa Cruz FSA MTB Pro Team 0:05
6 Titouan Carod (Fra) BMC MTB Racing 0:13
7 Luca Schwarzbauer (Ger) Canyon CLICTV 0:14
8 Vlad Dascalu (Rou) Trek Factory Racing XC 0:17
9 Samuel Gaze (NZl) Alpecin - Fenix 0:25
10 David Valero Serrano (Esp) BH Templo Cafés UCC 0:27
11 Anton Cooper (NZl) Trek Factory Racing XC 0:27
12 Gerhard Kerschbaumer (Ita) Specialized Factory Racing 0:27
13 Joel Roth (Sui) Bixs Performance Racing 0:28
14 Jens Schuermans (Bel) Scott Creuse Oxygene Gueret 0:28
15 Sebastian Fini Carstensen (Den) KMC - Orbea 0:32
16 Thomas Litscher (Sui) Kross Orlen Cycling Team 0:33
17 Nadir Colledani (Ita) Mmr Factory Racing Team 0:34
18 Lars Forster (Sui) Scott-SRAM MTB Racing Team 0:34
19 Ben Oliver (NZl) 0:37
20 Daniele Braidot (Ita) CS Carabinieri - Cicli Olympia Vittoria 0:37
21 Pierre De Froidmont (Bel) KMC - Orbea 0:38
22 Jofre Cullell Estape (Esp) Primaflor Mondraker Genuins 0:38
23 Henrique Avancini (Bra) Cannondale Factory Racing 0:40
24 Maxime Marotte (Fra) Santa Cruz FSA MTB Pro Team 0:43
25 Vital Albin (Sui) Thömus Maxon 0:45
26 Martins Blums (Lat) CST Postnl Bafang MTB Racing Team 0:48
27 Bartlomiej Wawak (Pol) Kross Orlen Cycling Team 0:53
28 Erik Hægstad (Nor) KMC - Orbea 0:56
29 Reto Indergand (Sui) Giant Factory Off - Road Team 1:00
30 Christopher Blevins (USA) Specialized Factory Racing 1:07
31 Jose Gerardo Ulloa Arevalo (Mex) Massi-Beaumes De Venise 1:17
32 Maximilian Foidl (Aut) Ktm Factory Mtb Team 1:17
33 Joshua Dubau (Fra) Rockrider Racing Team 1:28
34 Leandre Bouchard (Can) Foresco Holding Proco Rl Pro Team 2:02
35 Maximilian Brandl (Ger) Lexware Mountainbike Team -1 Lap
36 Tomer Zaltsman (Isr) Jb Brunex Superior Factory Racing -4 laps
37 Andri Frischknecht (Sui) Scott-SRAM MTB Racing Team -5 laps
DNF Jordan Sarrou (Fra) Specialized Factory Racing  
DNF Jose Gabriel Marques De Almeida (Bra)  
DNS Gioele Bertolini (Ita) Trinx Factory Team


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.