Canadian Cyclist


March 5/06 11:50 am - Parisien 4th in France, B.C. Results

Posted by Editor on 03/5/06

Prix de Lillers - Lillers, France

1 Markus Eichler (Ger) Team Regiostrom Senges 4:07:52
2 Anthony Jaunet (Fra) CC Nogent sur Oise at 0:13
3 Mederic Clain (Fra) V.C. Roubaix s.t.
4 François Parisien (Can) Team TIAA CREF 0:17
5 Romain Feilleu (Fra) CC Nogent sur Oise 0:24

dEVo/Escape Velocity Sisu Spring Road Race Series opener.
Courtesy Jeremy Storie

The start of the road season opened today in BC with the first of five weekends of racing in the dEVo/Escape Velocity Sisu Spring Road Race Series. Under cool and cloudy skies and later a very light rain a new season opener record of 243 riders contested the traditional 6.2 km flat opening course. The C group saw nearly 100 competitors in their group with Jeremy Srothers taking the win followed by Ryan Cousineau (Escape Velocity), Stephan Ball, Brad Bisset (Coastal) and Paul Falcon (Coastal). It became evident very early on that in this category there are many riders who will be forced to move up to maintain the role and integrity of the C group as a development category for new and novice riders. The opening laps saw the C group post lap times very close to the B's and A's causing the novice riders to be shed very early from the group. It was the fastest race in the history of the C group.

In the B race it was a fast and steady pace throughout the 13 lap, 80 km race ending in a large group sprint. Taking top honours went to Ron Klopher followed closely by Anselmo Rossiello (Coastal) and Viktor Brudov with Brian Griffin and Mike Boehm rounding out the top five. The A race saw a few breaks come and go with the most significant being a solo break of 2 laps, gaining up to 50 seconds by BiciSport rider Jamie Sparling. Sparling was eventually brought back by a chase of 8 riders who when catching Sparling formed the winning move. Sparling then attacked again with about 2 laps remaining and stayed away solo with Western Washington University rider Nicolas Clayville taking the sprint for second and Jason Flukinger (Bayside), Carl Jacobson (Masi-Adobe) and Peter Kerklaan rounding out the top five. Apologies for incorrect name spelling and missing/unknown team or club.

Blizzard Bike Club - Fort St. John, BC
Courtesy Pat Ferris

Robin Ballie won the first road race of the 2006 season, Sunday. He won the cold shortened 20 km Cecil Lake event with a time of 45:02 minutes. Irvin Tang was second at 45:35 and Pat Ferris third with 45:45.

Eight riders came out under -10 but sunny conditions. Robin Baillie rode away after the neutral with Irvin Tang chasing. Pat Ferris won the sprint for third with Richard Wood, Gary Hilderman and Bob Andrews close behind. Barb 'the Bullet' Polehoykie came in 7th at 48:58 and Dean Lowry 8th at 49:20.

Coming up: Next Sunday is the Baldonnel Roubaix race, first event of the tough 'Roubaix' Cup series. The winner of the three-race series wins the Roubaix Cup.

This series takes advantage of the cold weather, snowy roads and rough gravel roads.

Robin Baillie is the outstanding favourite to take the series. Pat Ferris and Bob Andrews will hope he falters.

Last year, Pat Ferris was the surprise repeat winner of the Baldonnel Roubaix, Sunday, with a record time, over a record turnout of eighteen riders and under record dry conditions. Pat's time was 1:29:03 hours for the 44 km rough surface course. Stephen Ferris was closing fast at 1:30:09 for second.

What a difference a year makes. The 2005 edition was warm and dry as compared to 2004's 4 inches of snow and winter.

The weather often decides the series. The 'Frozen John Roubaix' is the second event and 'Beatton Park Roubaix' is the final stage.

Race time for the Baldonnel Roubaix is 2 pm at the Baldonnel School.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.