Canadian Cyclist


September 24/06 7:34 am - Escape Velocity Grand Prix of Cyclocross

Posted by Editoress on 09/24/06

Escape Velocity Grand Prix of Cyclocross Sunday September 24th, Vancouver, BC
Report Courtesy Tobin Copley

Rob Britton storms the Escape Velocity Grand Prix of Cyclocross
EV pleased with turn-out for European-style cyclocross in the heart of Vancouver


With over 120 racers, dozens of volunteers and spectators, Escape Velocity is pleased with our club's first effort at hosting a Cyclocross race in Vancouver," said Gordon Ross, President Team Escape Velocity. "Our club members look forward to hosting the 2nd Grand Prix of Cyclocross in 2007.

The rider turn-out was great, and everyone thought the course was fantastic. EV is certain to see this event grow in coming years," said Sandy Harrison, Cycling BC Commissaire (event official).

The 2006 Grand Prix of Cyclocross hosted by Escape Velocity is part of the 2006 Giant Bicycles BC Cross Cup. The club's decision to enter the foray of cyclocross races is based on the club's commitment to give back to the BC's cycling community. With the addition of this race to the club's race event calendar, EV now hosts races from March through September each year.

Escape Velocity would like to acknowledge West Point Grey Academy and the Vancouver Board of Parks and Recreation for their support by providing such an ideal location for the event.

Founded in August 1989, Team Escape Velocity is a Vancouver, BC based cycling club committed to promoting and developing the sport of cycling in Canada. With over 120 members ranging from novice Category 5 riders to Canadian National Team members and North American champions, we pride ourselves in our community involvement, race organization, youth development, and leadership activities.

For more information on EV go to

Women's A
1st: Kelly Jones (Sugoi)
2nd: Lisa Ludwig (Oak Bay Cycles)
3rd: Sarah Stewart (Wedgewood)

Women's C:
1st: Melanie Vaughan (WCMBC
2nd: Sarah McMillan (Independent)
3rd: Sara Porter (Independent)

Men's A
1st: Rob Britton (Gigabike - Lazyboy)
2nd: Andrew Kyle (Independent)
3rd: Stefan Widmer (Sugoi / Giant)

Men's B
1st: Andrew Brown (Delvay Taylors)
2nd: Steven Murray (SORCA)
3rd: Nels Guloien (Sugoi / Giant)

Men's C
1st: Oliver Whalley (Krank Dirtware)
2nd: David Markham (Independent)
3rd: Sebastian Sleep (On the Edge)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.