Canadian Cyclist


November 19/06 10:23 am - CCA AGM

Posted by Editor on 11/19/06


The CCA AGM has just finished:

Financial Statements

The full report can be found in the Annual Report (download here), but some highlights:

Fiscal Year 05/06 saw the Canadian Cycling Association break the 3 million dollar revenue mark for the first time in our 124 year history, breaking the barrier and boosting our accumulated surplus to $134,088 based on revenues of $3,070,593 and expenses of $3,013,279.

Revenues increased by $424,582, or 16.1% over fiscal year 04/05. This was largely attributed to an increase in funding from Sport Canada’s Canadian Sport Review Panel (CSRP) and the success of a couple of private sector initiatives, namely the signing of Tim Hortons to a new three year agreement and the EPCOR Evening of Champions Gala.

With an increase in revenue, there was also growth in related spending of $281,811, or 10.4%. All of this additional spending was redirected towards the High Performance and Domestic Sectors, with expenses in Finance & Administration/Marketing actually dropping overall by $28,926, or 2.9% from the previous year. The breakdown was:

Finance & Administration/Marketing - $576,463 (19%)
Domestic Programs - $586,962 (19%)
Insurance - $414,266 (14%)
High Performance - $1,435,588 (48%)


Three Board of Director positions were up for election this year. There are no contests for the positions, so all three were acclaimed for two year positions:

Andrew Feenstra (Nova Scotia) returns.
John Tolkamp (British Columbia) returns.
Bill Kinash (Saskatchewan) joins the Board*.

* Bill Kinash was on the Board in the Past-President (non-voting) position; he now joins the Board as a full voting member in a Director-at-Large position.

Program Committee Chairs (2 years)

Chair High Performance - Louis Barbeau

Chair Events Committee - Henry Perjil

Note: both are returning Chairs

Committee Members

High Performance Committee Development Team Program - Luc Arseneau

Athlete & Coach Development Mountain Bike - Richard Fletcher

Athlete & Coach Development BMX - Sue Morrow

Events Committee Road & Track - Francis Rancourt

Officials Committee Road & Track - Louise Lalonde

Officials Committee BMX - Loyal Ma

2007 National Championships

Road Nationals - Granby, Quebec

Mountain Bike Nationals (XC & DH) - Mount Washington, BC

Track Nationals - Dieppe, Nova Scotia (Elite); Bromont, Quebec (Junior/Masters)

Cyclo-cross Nationals - Nanaimo, BC

BMX Nationals - Bromont, Quebec


At the CCA Banquet last night a number of awards were handed out (some photos to follow):

Event/Organizer of the Year

Road - Tour de l'Abitibi, Quebec

Mountain Bike - Mondial du Velo, Bromont

Track - Atlantic Cycling Centre, Dieppe

BMX - Abbotsford BMX Club, BC

Cyclo-cross - Aurora UCI 'Cross, Ontario

Official of the Year - Pierre Gagne

Torchy Peden Award (recognition of Province/Territory) - Bicycle Newfoundland

Russ Coupland Award (best Junior) - Karol Anne Canuel, Quebec

President's Trophy (best overall athlete) - Stephane Cote & Pierre Olivier Boily

Builder of the Year - Luc Arseneau

20 Year Service - Louise Lalonde, Quebec

Retiring Athletes - Gord Fraser & Lori-Ann Muenzer

UCI World Championship Silver Medallist - Elite Women Cruiser at the 2006 BMX World Championships in Sao Paulo, Brazil - Samantha Cools

Paralympic Cycling Worlds Silver Medallist - Tandem Road Race in Aigle, Switzerland - Stéphane Cote & Pierre-Olivier Boily

UCI World Championship Silver Medallist - Women's Scratch Race at the 200t Track World Championships in Bordeaux, France - Gina Grain

UCI World Championship Bronze Medallist - Women's Mountain Bike XC at the 2006 MTB World Championships in Rotorua, NZL - Marie-Hélène Prémont

UCI World Championship Bronze Medallist - Espoir Men's XC at the 2006 MTB World Championships in Rotorua, NZL - Max Plaxton

UCI World Championship Bronze Medallist - Junior Women's Downhill at the 2006 MTB World Championships in Rotorua, NZL - Micayla Gatto

By-Law Amendments

Article 13 - Establish that a Director of the CCA cannot also act as a delegate for a member association (eg, province/territory). Carried

Article 15 - Three amendments that clarify eligible voting members and to establish a deadline for nominations for elected positions. Carried

Article 18 - Three amendments:

- Clarifying statement that a candidate for President must have been a Director of the CCA for at least one year of the past five leading up to the election. Defeated

- Clarifies wording. Carried

- A member of the CCA Board cannot also be a Director of a member association. Defeated

2007 AGM

Proposed and accepted that the AGM will take place in Alberta next year, with an intent to hold the 2008 AGM in Quebec City (2008 cannot be ratified until the next AGM). There was also discussion about moving the AGM later (NOT Grey Cup weekend) - potentially to the old time of the end of November/beginning of December).


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.