Canadian Cyclist


February 24/08 8:02 am - Grain 9th at Women's Road World Cup #1

Posted by Editoress on 02/24/08

Geelong - Women's World Cup #1 Australia
Report by Gennie Sheer, Communications Director, Cycling Australia

American Katheryn Mattis (Webcor Builders) outsprinted Australia's Emma Rickards (Cervelo Lifeforce) to claim victory in Geelong in the opening round of the 2008 UCI Women's Road Cycling World Cup series.

"It's unbelievable, it was a spectacular day," said Mattis who now leads the World Cup series. "The spectators were awesome and the course was really hard and my team raced great."

Eighty five riders started the 120 kilometre event raced over eight laps of a picturesque 14.9km circuit out and back from Waterfront Geelong and the pace was high from the gun with 12 riders breaking away early.

But Team High Road powered the chase on the front of the peloton and the 12 leaders were reeled in on the fourth lap.

Cervelo Lifeforce riders then launched a series of attacks with Rickards finally breaking clear followed close behind by Mattis. The pair steadily increased their lead with the margin blowing out to almost seven minutes by the sixth lap. A late charge by team High Road narrowed the margin but it was too little too late. With one kilometre to go, and still holding a lead of over two minutes, Mattis and Rickards engaged in a series of stalling tactics with neither wanting to take the lead. Two hundred metres from home Mattis launched the sprint and Rickards couldn't match it giving the 33 year old American the biggest win of her career.

"I could have never guessed it would be the two of us out there together, but it's just great," said Mattis. "With about a kilometre to go, it became a cat and mouse game and I am not known as a sprinter but I sort of unleashed my inner sprinter I guess."

For Rickards, it was a case of so close and yet so far.

"I have some mixed emotions because when you go so close, of course you want to be in that jersey, but to finish second in a World Cup is just amazing," said the 24 year old Victorian. "I felt confident that I could finish off with a good sprint, but it wasn't quite to be.

"But for a World Cup and one in my own country I am ecstatic that I am on the podium, it's the best result for me ever," Rickards added.

German star Ina Tuetenberg (Team High Road) once again showed her class by sprinting home in third at the head of the main peloton one minute and eight seconds behind the leaders.

However she lamented a missed opportunity and was disappointed by the lack of assistance given to her and her High Road team mates during the chase.

"We did everything we could, the girls were falling off the bike at the end of the race, so you couldn't ask for more, but maybe we miscalculated and should have gone a little bit earlier," said Teutenberg.

The next World Cup round will be raced in Italy on 24 March.

1. Katheryn Mattis (USA) Webcor Builders Cycling Team3:04:46
2. Emma Rickards (Aus) Cervelo Lifeforce Pro Cycling Teamat s.t.
3 Ina Teutenberg (Ger) Team High Road1:08
4. Rochelle Gilmore (Aus) Menikini Selle Italia
5. Regina Schleicher (Ger) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung
6. Suzanne De Goede (Ned) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung
7. Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Australian National Team
8. Charlotte Becker (Ger) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung
9. Gina Grain (Can) Webcor Builders Cycling Team
10. Sarah Düster (Ger) Cervelo-Lifeforce Pro Cycling Team
11. Miho Oki (Jpn) Menikini Selle Italia
12. Peta Mullens (Aus) Australian National Team
13 Carly Hibberd (Aus) MB Cycles Womens Cycling Team
14. Priska Doppmann (Sui) Cervelo-Lifeforce Pro Cycling Team
15. Vicki Whitelaw (Aus) Landlink ACTAS Cycling Team
16. Lang Meng (Chn) Giant Pro Cycling
17. Carissa Wilkes (NZl) BikeNZ
18. Carlee Taylor (Aus) QAS
19. Tina Mayolo Pic (USA) Vrienden Van Het Platteland
20. Yong Li Liu (Chn) Giant Pro Cycling
21. Leonie Burford (Aus) NSWIS - CBD - Degani
22. Lauren Franges (USA) US National Team
23 Catherine Cheatley (NZl) BikeNZ
24. Lorian Graham (Aus) Vrienden Van Het Platteland
25. Jemma O'Brien (Aus) NSWIS - CBD - Degani
26. Edita Pucinskaite (Ltu) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung
27. Trixi Worrack (Ger) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung
28. Katie Mactier (Aus) VIS
29. Serena Sheridan (NZl) BikeNZ
30. Alex Wrubleski (Can) Webcor Builders Cycling Team
31. Ruth Corset (Aus) QAS
32. Fei Wang (Chn) Giant Pro Cycling
33 Toni Bradshaw (NZl) BikeNZ
34. Amanda Spratt (Aus) Australian National Team
35. Carla Ryan (Aus) Australian National Team
36. Emma Mackie (Aus) Lotto-Belisol Ladies Team
37. Kristin Armstrong Savola (USA) Cervelo-Lifeforce Pro Cycling Team
38. Oenone Wood (Aus) Team High Road
39. Alison Powers (USA) US National Team
40. Erinne Willock (Can) Webcor Builders Cycling Team
41. Min Gao (Chn) Giant Pro Cycling
42. Natalie Bates (Aus) Menikini Selle Italia
43 Christiane Soeder (Aut) Cervelo-Lifeforce Pro Cycling Team
44. Christina Ruiter (USA) US National Team
45. Christine Thorburn (USA) Webcor Builders Cycling Teamall s.t.
46. Belinda Goss (Aus) VIS2:51
47. Sara Carrigan (Aus) Lotto-Belisol Ladies Team
48. Carmen Mcnellis (USA) US National Team
49. Helen Kelly (Aus) VIS
50. Alex Rhodes (Aus) Team High Road Womenall s.t.
51. Jaccolien Wallaard (Ned) Vrienden Van Het Platteland5:34
52. Marina Duvnjak (NZl) BikeNZ
53 Linda Villumsen Serup (Den) Team High Roadboth s.t.
54. Chantal Beltman (Ned) Team High Road7:26
55. Kathryn Watt (Aus) Lotto-Belisol Ladies Team7:39
OTL Deborah Fagg (Aus) MB Cycles Womens Cycling Team
OTL Olivia Gollan (Aus) Menikini Selle Italia
DNS Susanne Ljungskog (Swe) Menikini Selle Italia
DNF Judith Arndt (Ger) Team High Road
DNF Eva Lutz (Ger) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung
DNF Marina Riomoli (Ita) Menikini Selle Italia
DNF Nikki Egyed (Aus) Vrienden Van Het Platteland
DNF Xiao Mei Huang (Chn) Giant Pro Cycling
DNF Li Chen (Chn) Giant Pro Cycling
DNF Amy Dombroski (USA) Webcor Builders Cycling Team
DNF Kim Schoonbaert (Bel) Lotto-Belisol Ladies Team
DNF Jocelyn Loane (Aus) Australian National Team
DNF Bridie O'Donnell (Aus) Australian National Team
DNF Katharine Carroll (USA) US National Team
DNF Brei Gudsell (NZl) BikeNZ
DNF Lisa Friend (Aus) NSWIS - CBD - Degani
DNF Kate Finegan (Aus) NSWIS - CBD - Degani
DNF Sue Forsyth (Aus) NSWIS - CBD - Degani
DNF Louise Kerr (Aus) QAS
DNF Tahlia Paskin (Aus) QAS
DNF Rachel Neylan (Aus) QAS
DNF Nicole Whitburn (Aus) VIS
DNF Katherine O'Shea (Aus) VIS
DNF Jessica Berry (Aus) VIS
DNF Jenny Macpherson (Aus) Landlink ACTAS Cycling Team
DNF Josephine Tomic (Aus) Landlink ACTAS Cycling Team
DNF Liz Young (Aus) MB Cycles Womens Cycling Team
DNF Hayley Wright (Aus) MB Cycles Womens Cycling Team
DNF Patricia Palmer (Aus) MB Cycles Womens Cycling Team
DNF Sheree Mckenzie (Aus) MB Cycles Womens Cycling Team


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.