Canadian Cyclist


August 30/08 10:53 am - Track Nationals Day 3 report and results

Posted by Editoress on 08/30/08

Canadian National Track Championships Day 3 August 29th, Burnaby, BC

Report courtesy CSN

Tara Whitten of Edmonton upset Olympic team member Gina Grain of Burnaby to win the gold medal in the women's Points Race on Friday at the Tim Hortons Track Nationals cycling competition at the Burnaby Velodrome.

It was Whitten's first career national track title in the Points Race and third Canadian crown overall. The 28-year-old is a former national team member in cross country skiing but is now devoting herself full time to track cycling. She won a close battle Friday over Grain, who placed ninth in the event at this month's Olympic Games, and third place finisher Stephanie Roorda of Victoria.

"It was a really fun race and really close," said Whitten, who started track cycling in 2005 and committed herself full time to the sport last year. "My focus has been primarily in the pursuit but I'm starting to do better and better in the Points Race. I've really improved my tactical ability in this event and I'm learning more and more."

In the men's Madison, Olympic team members Svein Tuft of Langley, B.C., and Zach Bell of Watson Lake, Yukon won the gold medal. Mark MacDonald of Calgary and Cody Campbell of Surrey, B.C., were second and the Ontario pair of David Byer and Daniele Defranceschi third.

Monique Sullivan of Calgary earned her second victory in two days by taking the women's 500-meter race, with Quebec's Karine Cote second and Whitten third.

In the men's Team Pursuit competition, Team Ontario took the gold with Joseph Veloce, William Lampe and Francois Chabot while Team Alberta was second with Jeff Bakal, Dylan Menard and Mike Patton.

In Junior women's competition, Laurie-Anne Dupont-Renaud of Montreal collected her second and third gold medals of competition. She took the women's Points Race with Krista Ruby of Inglewood, Ont., second and Shanie Bergeron of Chateauguay, Que., third. In the 500-metre, she finished ahead of Florence Laplante-Lamarche of Ottawa and Ruby.

Allison Beveridge of Calgary won the Junior women's Omnium with Alberta riders Anastasia Stadnik and Gina Kisell second and third respectively.

The Junior men's Team Pursuit crown went to B.C., with Jacob Schwingboth, Scott Mulder and Curtis Jung while Ontario was second with Trevor Dickenson, Ryan Aitcheson and Allan Leparskas.

Kevin Thorpe of North Vancouver took the Junior men's Kilo with David Boily of Quebec City second and Mulder third.

Junior Men Team Sprint
1 Team BC (Jacob Schwingboth/Scott Mulder/Curtis Jung)42.337
2 Team Ontario (Trevor Dickenson/Ryan Aitcheson/Allan Leparskas)43.162
3 Team Quebec (David Boily/Guillaume Charest/Frédéric Poisson)REL
1 Team BC (Jacob Schwingboth/Scott Mulder/Curtis Jung)41.786
2 Team Ontario (Trevor Dickenson/Ryan Aitcheson/Allan Leparskas)42.437
Senior Men Team Sprint
1 Team Alberta (Jeff Bakal/Dylan Menard/Mike Patton)41.156
2 Team Ontario Composite (Joseph Veloce/William Lampe/Francois Chabot)41.731
3 Team Jet Fuel (Cameron MacKinnon/Mike McCorkell/Rene Regimbald)REL
1 Team Ontario Composite (Joseph Veloce/William Lampe/Francois Chabot)40.571
2 Team Alberta (Jeff Bakal/Dylan Menard/Mike Patton)40.661

Junior Women 500m ITT
1 Laurie-Anne Dupont-Renaud (QC) Quebec39.856
2 Florence Laplante Lamarche (ON) Ontario41.801
3 Krista Ruby (ON) Ontario41.886
4 Shanie Bergeron (QC) Quebec42.051
5 Sarah Mckenzie-Picot (ON) Ontario42.677
6 Stephanie Bester (ON) Ontario43.791
7 Virginie Gauthier (QC) Quebec43.959
8 Emily Mckenzie-Picot (ON) Ontario45.236
Senior Women 500m ITT
1 Monique Sullivan (AB) PCL37.358
2 Karine Côté (QC) Quebec38.160
3 Tara Whitten (AB) Velocity38.856
4 Joanna Wiersma (ON) 39.007
5 Lisa Perlmutter (ON) Ontario39.372
6 Amy Biskaborn (ON) Ontario40.250
7 Gillian Carleton (BC) Organic Athlete40.280
8 Dina Ridha (ON) Ontario40.539
9 Amy Armstrong (ON) Ontario42.346
10 Sophie Beraud (ON) Ontario42.984
Junior Men Kilo
1 Kevin Thorpe (BC) Cycling BC1:10.913
2 David Boily (QC) Quebec1:11.478
3 Scott Mulder (BC) Cycling BC1:11.612
4 Guillaume Charest (QC) Quebec1:11.712
5 Ryan Aitcheson (ON) Ontario1:11.725
6 Jacob Schwingboth (BC) Cycling BC1:12.025
7 Adrian Huemmer (MB) Mazur Coaching1:12.051
8 Allan Leparskas (ON) Ontario1:12.379
9 Jason Manning (BC) Cycling BC1:12.958
10 Evan Flater (BC) Cycling BC1:13.605
11 Antoine Duchesne (QC) Quebec1:14.349
12 Frédéric Poisson (QC) Quebec1:14.783
13 Eric Mulder (BC) Steed Cycle1:15.209
14 Trevor Dickenson (ON) Ontario1:16.325
15 John Carden (ON) Ontario1:16.699
16 Ben Cowburn (BC) Cycling BC1:17.135
17 Stephen Andrichuk (AB) Cyclo Meisters1:17.587
18 Brad Knapik (AB) Alberta1:21.019
DNS Boris Martin
Junior Women Points
1 Laurie-Anne Dupont-Renaud (QC) Quebec64 (+2 laps)
2 Krista Ruby (ON) Ontario41 (+1 lap)
3 Shanie Bergeron (QC) Quebec33
4 Virginie Gauthier (QC) Quebec9
5 Florence Laplante Lamarche (ON) Ontario6
6 Stephanie Bester (ON) Ontario3
7 Sarah Mckenzie-Picot (ON) Ontario1
8 Emily Mckenzie-Picot (ON) Ontario-20 (-1 lap)
Senior Women Points
1 Tara Whitten (AB) Velocity50 (+1 lap)
2 Gina Grain (BC) Webcor47 (+1 lap)
3 Stephanie Roorda (BC) Giant Whisler34 (+1 lap)
4 Lisa Perlmutter (ON) Ontario14
5 Jenny Trew (BC) Vanderkitten7
6 Laura Brown (BC) Giant Whisler6
7 Heather Logan (ON) Ontario5
8 Rachel Canning (BC) Devo2
9 Mandy Poitras (BC) Escape Velocity0
10 Amy Biskaborn (ON) Ontario-20 (-1 lap)
DNF Amy Armstrong (ON) Ontario-40 (-2 laps)
DNF Sophie Beraud (ON) Ontario-35 (-2 laps)
DNF Sarah Laliberte (BC) Campione-40 (-2 laps)
DNF Dina Ridha (ON) Ontario0
1 Canada Olympic (Zach Bell/Svein Tuft)35
2 Symmetrics (Mark Macdonald/Cody Campbell)-77 (-5 laps)
3 Ontario (David Byer/Daniele Defranceschi)-88 (-6 laps)
4 Escape Velocity (Michael Rothengatter/Scott Laliberte)-124 (-7 laps)
5 Quebec (Jean-Michel Lachance/Maxime Vives)-156 (-8 laps)
DNF Kona Adobe (Jonathan Gormick/John-Christophe Reid)-100 (-5 laps)
DNF Fcv Bicisport (Nick Jendzjowsky/Scott Lundy)-100 (-5 laps)
DNF Coach Chris (Stephen Meyer/Vince De Jong)-180 (-9 laps)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.